Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.973685
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I'm honored to serve as a volunteer for this organization for over 15 years, The organization has changed to stay relevant, but the overall goal remains the same. You could not find a more dedicated staff, which is a major reason why over 90% of their donations go to the need and not administrative costs.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I first got involved with WhyHunger as a member in 1997 after I performed on a few fundraising concerts and was immediately taken with the mission and the people involved. Over these past 17 years I have felt proud on so many occasions when I see the work WhyHunger has done and the partners we have been involved with on so many food and poverty related issues. I cannot not say enough good things about WhyHunger.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see more donations so we could help fund more projects and try to close the gap between food equality here in the States.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I have been a Volunteer and contributor to WhyHunger for many years. I have watched as the organization has evolved and changed but never lost focus of the primary goal. I am proud to volunteer and to contribute to this stellar organization.

Mitch W.
October 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
December 22, 2009

My direct involvement with World Hunger Year began about 16 years ago, when I began volunteering with the annual Hungerthon. I was impressed with the organization's commitment to investing in organiza... more

October 28, 2014

I have volunteered with WhyHunger for over 20 years because WhyHunger is one of the most committed, dedicated and positive staff I've ever known. I especially admire WhyHunger's philosophy of re-investing in the people it helps. WhyHunger helps with the immediate needs of the poor and hungry, while working to get people out of the trappings of poverty. WhyHunger supports grassroots organizations, like soup kitchens with work skills programs, that enable people to become self-reliant. The WhyHunger staff are energetic, creative people who are always expanding our reach to innovative solutions to poverty and hunger.
December 22, 2009

My direct involvement with World Hunger Year began about 16 years ago, when I began volunteering with the annual Hungerthon. I was impressed with the organization's commitment to investing in organizations that addressed the immediate needs of hunger and who also had programs, like work programs, to help people get out of the trappings of poverty....The volunteers and staff of World Hunger Year have an amazingly energetic enthusiasm for their work. I am proud and happy to be a small part of that energy.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

tirelessly committed to solving the problems of World Hunger while being forever cheerful and kind in all the work they do.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I have been involved with WHYHunger for almost thirty years. A magnificent organization with the most dedicated staff.. they are always looking for new ways to support the promotion of self reliance.
Sad that we still have hunger... grateful that WhyHunger is here to address these complex
issues.
May 20, 2013

more

May 20, 2013

What I like most about WhyHunger is the dedication i see in every member of their team. I volunteered to raise money for WhyHunger last year by running the marathon and creating a fund-raiser website. As technology advisors, we are impressed at how focused their technology investments are. Everything they do is focused on, how can we reach more people, more grass-roots hunger organizations, more policy people to ensure the effectiveness of their message and their efforts. One of our employees also volunteered for WhyHunger this year, during the Hungerthon. At all of these events, in every email, every meeting, every interaction with WhyHunger, we witness their dedication to the mission first hand. Four of my team members are contributing this year to another fundraising event (a golf outing, and I don't even golf!). I am quite willing look foolish, and much more, to help their mission. You could not choose a better place to donate, volunteer, give meaningfully, than WhyHunger. Count me and my team as lifetime advocates and fans!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013

WhyHunger asks the important question, why is there hunger and poverty in a wealthy nation? And then they inspire others to ask the same question and step forward with long term, sustainable solutions. Through their vast network and resources, WhyHunger helps small non-profits grow and maintain their community gardens.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013

I've had the pleasure of working with the team at WhyHunger for the past few years, and have found their compassion for the community and commitment to the cause to be both inspiring and impactful. Bill, Noreen, and the team have a clear vision for the organization and exhibit the on-going dedication needed to pursue and execute that vision. Although my role has been small -- I've held up signs outside of TV studios during Hungerthon, and helped their communications team optimize their online efforts -- it has been truly rewarding. Every small gesture, donation, or effort of support is a treated as a step forward in the war against hunger and poverty in our world. Thank you WhyHunger for providing a platform to serve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 2, 2013

more

May 2, 2013

One of the things that's always impressed me about WhyHunger is their dedication to do more than just apply a band-aid to the world's hunger and poverty issues. Instead, they've created an incredible support network to grassroots organizations around the globe that educates them on the latest developments in sustainable solutions, location of resources and most effective practices. They empower each of these organizations' leaders to them to change the lives and habits of people within their immediate communities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 2, 2013

more

May 2, 2013

WhyHunger is a great organization that fights hunger on a immediate and long-term basis. The National Hunger Hotline provides hungry people with direct sources of food everyday. WhyHunger's work with grassroot organizations ensures that people have healthy and nutritious food sources now and in the future. It is a nonprofit that strives to make a difference in the lives of millions of people worldwide when many of them have gone unnoticed by mainstream media and general public. WhyHunger shines a bright light on one of the most common problems that people worldwide face and for that, they are a leader in the fight against hunger.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

WhyHunger is always seeking volunteers to assist with its programmatic and fundraising efforts! Specifically, we need volunteers to:

Answer calls to our National Hunger Hotline. If you are able to give 8 or more hours a week for an extended period of time, please give us a call!

Assist with our Hungerthon campaign. Tasks range from taking pledges to mailing auction prizes. If you are available to help in November, let us know!

Help out with our Artists Against Hunger & Poverty program. You may be asked to collect money from concert-goers, distribute information about the program, help out with administrative tasks and perhaps interact with our artist members! Volunteer