Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.96975
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
May 20, 2013

more

May 20, 2013

What I like most about WhyHunger is the dedication i see in every member of their team. I volunteered to raise money for WhyHunger last year by running the marathon and creating a fund-raiser website. As technology advisors, we are impressed at how focused their technology investments are. Everything they do is focused on, how can we reach more people, more grass-roots hunger organizations, more policy people to ensure the effectiveness of their message and their efforts. One of our employees also volunteered for WhyHunger this year, during the Hungerthon. At all of these events, in every email, every meeting, every interaction with WhyHunger, we witness their dedication to the mission first hand. Four of my team members are contributing this year to another fundraising event (a golf outing, and I don't even golf!). I am quite willing look foolish, and much more, to help their mission. You could not choose a better place to donate, volunteer, give meaningfully, than WhyHunger. Count me and my team as lifetime advocates and fans!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013

WhyHunger asks the important question, why is there hunger and poverty in a wealthy nation? And then they inspire others to ask the same question and step forward with long term, sustainable solutions. Through their vast network and resources, WhyHunger helps small non-profits grow and maintain their community gardens.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013

I've had the pleasure of working with the team at WhyHunger for the past few years, and have found their compassion for the community and commitment to the cause to be both inspiring and impactful. Bill, Noreen, and the team have a clear vision for the organization and exhibit the on-going dedication needed to pursue and execute that vision. Although my role has been small -- I've held up signs outside of TV studios during Hungerthon, and helped their communications team optimize their online efforts -- it has been truly rewarding. Every small gesture, donation, or effort of support is a treated as a step forward in the war against hunger and poverty in our world. Thank you WhyHunger for providing a platform to serve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 2, 2013

more

May 2, 2013

One of the things that's always impressed me about WhyHunger is their dedication to do more than just apply a band-aid to the world's hunger and poverty issues. Instead, they've created an incredible support network to grassroots organizations around the globe that educates them on the latest developments in sustainable solutions, location of resources and most effective practices. They empower each of these organizations' leaders to them to change the lives and habits of people within their immediate communities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 2, 2013

more

May 2, 2013

WhyHunger is a great organization that fights hunger on a immediate and long-term basis. The National Hunger Hotline provides hungry people with direct sources of food everyday. WhyHunger's work with grassroot organizations ensures that people have healthy and nutritious food sources now and in the future. It is a nonprofit that strives to make a difference in the lives of millions of people worldwide when many of them have gone unnoticed by mainstream media and general public. WhyHunger shines a bright light on one of the most common problems that people worldwide face and for that, they are a leader in the fight against hunger.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 1, 2013

more

May 1, 2013

WORLD HUNGER IS AN ORGANIZATION THAT STANDS BEHIND ITS MOTTO AND HELP PEOPLE WHO WOULD NOT OTHERWIISE RECEIVE SUCH HELP. THEY HAVE BEEN HELPING PEOPLE FOR A LONG TIME.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 30, 2013

more

April 30, 2013

What I admire about the mission of WhyHunger is they're not only helping at the grassroots, but helping at the highest levels, attacking the policy and legislative issues of hunger and poverty, exposing the politics. What I admire about the people of WhyHunger is they are devoted to serving the needy, not their own egos. This is an organization that will not waste your time. I couldn't be more proud to have been working with them, pro bono, for seven years.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 30, 2013

more

April 30, 2013

WhyHunger has flourished by sticking to their late founders message - "When in doubt, DO SOMETHING." WhyHunger not only spreads awareness of hunger in America, it enlightens individuals and organizations to do their part to alleviate hunger through healthy, eco-friendly, and economically sound practices. I had the pleasure of interning at WhyHunger in 2011 and have never been surrounded by more compassionate and forward-thinking individuals. They address every aspect of combating hunger and make connections that truly change lives. I grew so much in the short time I spent with WhyHunger and firmly believe that WhyHunger empowers individuals to get their hands dirty and 'Do Something.'

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 28, 2013

more

April 28, 2013

WHY has been helping people for over 3 decades. Their goal isn't to feed people, but to help people learn to feed themselves. Their grassroots efforts to educate the public about hunger, the causes, and the sustaining potential solutions are critical in today's world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 26, 2013

more

April 26, 2013

Why Hunger has been instrumental in formulating and guiding organzational efforts in the Mississippi Delta to develop and sustain practices for increasing access to fresh, healthy food. Brooke Smith has particularly invested a lot of time and energy in our state working with community-based organizations and leaders to strengthen their capacity to continue the work after Why Hunger brought all the stakeholders together initially.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

WhyHunger is always seeking volunteers to assist with its programmatic and fundraising efforts! Specifically, we need volunteers to:

Answer calls to our National Hunger Hotline. If you are able to give 8 or more hours a week for an extended period of time, please give us a call!

Assist with our Hungerthon campaign. Tasks range from taking pledges to mailing auction prizes. If you are available to help in November, let us know!

Help out with our Artists Against Hunger & Poverty program. You may be asked to collect money from concert-goers, distribute information about the program, help out with administrative tasks and perhaps interact with our artist members! Volunteer