Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
79 Reviews
1234.164565
Write A Review
August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

I'm continually encouraged by the work the institute is doing to help patients with neuro-immune diseases. The institute is committed to finding answers. I'm proud to regularly donate to the institute.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I think that the WPI and its founders/employees are trying their very best in a very difficult field. I am glad that they are persevering despite the theft of their documents and continue to do research regardless of people's misunderstandings.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

more

April 24, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

Visited the WPI a year ago, but picked up on a few red flags: inquired about Dr. Peterson's office, but there wasn't one. They failed to mention he was in no way benefiting from the institute. And, took our donations. Also; there were no beds anywhere to be found, while Mrs. Whittemore's office had spared no expense! For the Whittemore's to even be associated with the Seeno family speaks volumes... Crooks!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

more

April 24, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

The WPI have grossly mislead the ME community. They offered us hope in the form of research being done by Dr. Judy Mikovits. The patient community donated funding in the hope of receiving some treatment, donations many could ill afford but did it in the hope of a better future. We also spent precious energy voting for charitable donations for them.How we were taken in. We are left with no hope of treatment after the firing of Dr. Mikovits. The WPI are unwilling to return our donations which we now believe did not even reach the research lab. To say they have damaged the ME community is putting it mildly and in my own opinion the raise in ME suicides during this time I would cite WPI as one of the causes. Shame on them using their sick daughter to sucker money into an already very wealthy family. How can this fall under a non profit organisation when they were selling invalidated test for PROFIT?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 24, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

April 24, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

The WPI has damaged ME Research attempts and many in the ME community have gone dramatically downhill healthwise in the past few months because of the WPI's ineptitude, callous treatment of patients and overall self serving attitude. I was a devoted donar and campaigner for all that I thought the WPI was until they showed their true colours sacking, dragging through the courts and jailing their only real hope of finding what ME really is. I will never support WPI again...it has done so much damage without even realising what they were doing. They are oblivious to this day, continuing to send out thank you cards to people who have openly voiced their dissatisfaction with the WPI. They are not to be trusted!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 22, 2012
16 people found this review helpful

more

April 22, 2012
16 people found this review helpful

The WPI entered the world scientific stage in October 2009 with the discovery of a retrovirus, then known as XMRV in patients with ME/CFS. The discovery gave hope to millions suffering from neuro-immune diseases. The controversies that followed attest to the fact that truth is stranger than fiction. No one could have dreamed up what has happened. After encouraging family and friends to donate to WPI as I had, I now refuse to donate. The WPI has broken its trust with patients and I cannot see that trust ever being restored. We should have taken not when Dr. Dan Peterson left WPI shortly after the publication. He knew things the rest of us did not.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2011
20 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2011
20 people found this review helpful

Since the firing of Dr. Mikovits the Whittemore Peterson Institute no longer has a retrovirologist on staff. Other remaining staff members are not qualified to carry out the research.

Since the firing of Dr. Mikovits the Whittemore Peterson Institute has neglected to answer numerous
questions to the satisfaction of patients, donors, supporters, and the general public. The closing of the Whittemore Peterson Institute's facebook page has served to further severely restrict patient inquiry and two way communication. This lack of transparency is disrespectful and unacceptable.

I have changed from an ardent supporter to no longer supporting the wpi.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Turn over NIH grants to Dr. Mikovits. Refund vipdx / unevx test fees. Return individual donations. Turn over Chase and Vivint contest winnings to Dr. Mikovits' research.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The Whittemore Peterson Institute carries out research into Neuro-immune disease and will soon open a clinic to serve patients. People with neuro-immune diseases such as myalgic encephalomyelitis ("CFS"), fibromyalgia, atypical MS and autism have long been ignored or poorly served by medical and research institutions.

I have an MS from Cornell University and an MA from the University of East Anglia in the UK. Contracting ME while working in East Africa in 2007, my career was brought to a sudden halt. I now have hope for recovery thanks to the work of the WPI. Like many other patients, I support them with a small monthly donation. However much larger contributions are needed if research is to continue, and for the clinic to serve the approximately one million + patients in the US with neuro-immune disease.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The WPI provides on-going support and information to patients via their website and their presence on Facebook. They give us all hope.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would request that large funding bodies, including the government, provide funding for research into neuro-immune disease.

April 11, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 11, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The WPI is the best institute wordwide to research and advocate for patients with ME/CFS.

Their dedication and honesty should set an example for others in the field.

I support their work 100%.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the way doctors treat me and my disease, the media

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure they get government grant money!

February 27, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 27, 2011

WPI is an excellent institution. It is performing cutting edge research into neuro-immune diseases and will be opening clinical faciilities later this year.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The attention and further research by other organizations into XMRV that have resulted by the groundbreaking research performed by the WPI.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See that WPI could hire more researchers and clinicians through additional funding of this worthwhile institution.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers