Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
79 Reviews
1234.164565
Write A Review
July 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Whittemore Peterson Institute is dedicated to finding answers for people with diseases that for most of their lives, were told do not exist. My sister has had ME/CFS for over 20 years, and the WPI remains one of the only places she can turn to for answers and real hope for the future. Thank you WPI for the work you are doing on behalf of my sister, and all the patients looking for answers!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

April 27, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

What a huge disappointment Mr. & Mrs. Whittemore have been on the whole ME (CFS) community. I feel bad for everyone who has invested in them. Hope is still out there, just no longer at the WPI.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

April 24, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

This ME/CFS institute gave us all false hope! Believe the Whittemore Peterson Institute knew their XMRV findings were wrong, hence why Dr. Knoxx & Dr. Peterson left. Yet, they continued to take from the "hopeful"; until they were caught in Ottawa. That's when Mrs. Whittemore fired Dr. Mitovits. Very hard to believe she didn't know what was going on. After-all; her husband declared he was broke a year prior. Greed at it's best.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 24, 2012
13 people found this review helpful

more

April 24, 2012
13 people found this review helpful

All I have to say is I hope Harvey Whittemore goes to prison, and his wife Annette is forced to live in a trailer for taking so much from this entire community. Although; they seem to believe they've done them a favor!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

more

April 24, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

Visited the WPI a year ago, but picked up on a few red flags: inquired about Dr. Peterson's office, but there wasn't one. They failed to mention he was in no way benefiting from the institute. And, took our donations. Also; there were no beds anywhere to be found, while Mrs. Whittemore's office had spared no expense! For the Whittemore's to even be associated with the Seeno family speaks volumes... Crooks!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

more

April 24, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

The WPI have grossly mislead the ME community. They offered us hope in the form of research being done by Dr. Judy Mikovits. The patient community donated funding in the hope of receiving some treatment, donations many could ill afford but did it in the hope of a better future. We also spent precious energy voting for charitable donations for them.How we were taken in. We are left with no hope of treatment after the firing of Dr. Mikovits. The WPI are unwilling to return our donations which we now believe did not even reach the research lab. To say they have damaged the ME community is putting it mildly and in my own opinion the raise in ME suicides during this time I would cite WPI as one of the causes. Shame on them using their sick daughter to sucker money into an already very wealthy family. How can this fall under a non profit organisation when they were selling invalidated test for PROFIT?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 24, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

April 24, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

The WPI has damaged ME Research attempts and many in the ME community have gone dramatically downhill healthwise in the past few months because of the WPI's ineptitude, callous treatment of patients and overall self serving attitude. I was a devoted donar and campaigner for all that I thought the WPI was until they showed their true colours sacking, dragging through the courts and jailing their only real hope of finding what ME really is. I will never support WPI again...it has done so much damage without even realising what they were doing. They are oblivious to this day, continuing to send out thank you cards to people who have openly voiced their dissatisfaction with the WPI. They are not to be trusted!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 23, 2012
14 people found this review helpful

more

April 23, 2012
14 people found this review helpful

This "charity" is run by a socialite whose husband was one of the most powerful political lobbyists in Nevada. Now Harvey Whittemore's house of cards is falling, and it is taking his wife and her Institute along with it. Before anyone gives a dime to this charity, he should google "Harvey Whittemore" and "Annette Whittemore" and read the results. Even if they wanted to do meaningful medical research, they would not be able to accomplish that since they fired their only competent research scientist in Sept. 2011.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2012
16 people found this review helpful

more

April 22, 2012
16 people found this review helpful

The WPI entered the world scientific stage in October 2009 with the discovery of a retrovirus, then known as XMRV in patients with ME/CFS. The discovery gave hope to millions suffering from neuro-immune diseases. The controversies that followed attest to the fact that truth is stranger than fiction. No one could have dreamed up what has happened. After encouraging family and friends to donate to WPI as I had, I now refuse to donate. The WPI has broken its trust with patients and I cannot see that trust ever being restored. We should have taken not when Dr. Dan Peterson left WPI shortly after the publication. He knew things the rest of us did not.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 21, 2012
26 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2011

The situation at the Whittemore Peterson Institute has changed. They have unfairly fired the researcher who was making huge strides toward development of effective treatment for M.E. and it appears t... more

April 21, 2012
26 people found this review helpful

I wrote a glowing review of WPI several months ago, but that was before they fired the only real scientist at their Institute. When they did this, they demolished all hope of any real research coming out of this little Institute. Now it appears their main interest is in making money for the Founder, whose husband is now under investigation by the FBI and who is being sued by his former partners for embezzling millions of dollars. These people havedestroyed any semblance of respectability for themselves or their institute. I certainly want nothing to do with these people ever again, and I will tell everyone I know to stay away from them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2011
12 people found this review helpful

The situation at the Whittemore Peterson Institute has changed. They have unfairly fired the researcher who was making huge strides toward development of effective treatment for M.E. and it appears they have lost their way entirely. Now they are indicating that they will try to keep the NIH research grants which had been awarded to them because of this star researcher, Dr. Judy Mikovits, and they have no one qualified to continue the research. If they keep the grants, they will effectively end this promising research.

It certainly appears that WPI is now more interested in setting up their clinic and their commercial lab to make money than they are in continuing the research which had the promise of effective treatment for people such as me.

This is a huge disappointment. I no longer feel that WPI is worthy of support.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have been tremendously disappointed by their actions indicating greed rather than caring for patients.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give the NIH grants and all the research records and materials to Dr Judy Mikovits.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers