Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
79 Reviews
1234.164565
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

I'm continually encouraged by the work the institute is doing to help patients with neuro-immune diseases. The institute is committed to finding answers. I'm proud to regularly donate to the institute.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

In 2011 my son and I were notified that we had been awarded a full Scholarship/Sponsorship to travel to. be seen evaluated tested and treated by WPI and their staff including Dr. Fredericks. All costs were covered and we only made the long trip up there because we had been chosen and awarded this from WPI and we were very ill and it presented a ray of hope for recovery of some life quality to my son and me. We made the long exhausting trip with my parents paying for all the fuel lodging and food. They have not yet been reimbursed for their costs. We were not received well by the staff at the WPI clinic and thus went directly to Annette Whittemore office. She personally assured us we would be treated with the utmost courtesy from then on. that we would receive our promised Sponsorship and all that it entailed and had been promised to us. She said to have ALL bills sent to her directly.We returned home and were discouraged to find that they were not going to fulfill the treatment for us. We were made more ill by the stress of the long trip.Then began receiving bills for blood draws we never gave permission for. These totaled over 4600.00 EACH. We forwarded to Annette as we thought the WPI Clinic had just made an error. These bills stated 4600.00 in costs for blood drawn from my son and from me and were marked " OTHER" and no explanation was ever given as to why and what they drew this amount of blood from us for. What they did to us was unethical and we just want them to do what they promised in awarding us the full Sponsorships.I am holding them to their promised Sponsorship and ask that they be held accountable to uphold as well what they awarded us in full.I worked hard for my good credit rating and am hoping WPI and Annette Whittemore will do the right thing and restore this to me.Thank you for your help in resolving this for us. WPI and Annette Whittemore need to honor the full Sponsorhips they awarded to my son and me and restore my good credit rating to me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Whittemore-Peterson Institute provides hope for patients with ME through hard work of research. I am thankful for the Whittemore and their research team led by Dr Lombardi because their hard work to build the institute from ground zero is paying off.

Recently Dr Lombardi published a
paper in collaboration with other scientists from around the world. This cutting edge work provides new clues for patho-physiology and ethiology of our illmess. i am sure more work is under way and I am looking forward to the next publication.

i am convinced that the work of WPI will make a difference for all patients. Thank you and keep upthe good work!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Odd, isn't it that the Whittemores backed the research until their own daughter had recovered, then they decided not to reveal what cured her and switched to pushing supplements instead of research. Obviously, their real interest was in their own daughter's health, not in helping others who suffer from neuroimmune disorders.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I became involved with the Whittemore Peterson Institute for selfish reasons. My wife suffers from Fibromyalgia and has done so for over 30 years.
Having seen the devastating effects of this disease close up I was excited when WPI came into existence.
Through the passion of Annette
Whittemore's efforts to help her daughter I have hope that in the not to distant future there will be treatments and perhaps even a cure for this debilitating disease.
I have never been around a more passionate group than the staff at WPI. They will make it happen for all of us.
Sam Shad

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 21, 2012

These are the same people who owned VIP Dx which sold useless XMRV blood tests to people with Myalgic Encephalomyelitis (M.E.) for hundreds of dollars--AFTER they knew the tests were worthless. Now t... more

April 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This Whittemore Peterson Institute gave people suffering from Myalgic Encephalomyelitis (M.E.), sometimes erroneously called "Chronic Fatigue Syndrome" hope for effective treatment when they published their research paper on XMRV retrovirus being implicated in M.E. However that hope was dashed when Mrs. Whittemore summarily fired the dedicated researcher who had made the research possible, Dr. Judy Mikovits. This was worsened when the Whittemores filed criminal charges against Mikovits for theft of her own notebooks. (That charge was later dismissed.) The saga continued when Harvey Whittemore, Annette's husband, was criminally charged for making illegal political campaign contributions to Sen. Harry Reid, among others. This federal criminal charge is still pending against Mr. Whittemore. Does anyone need to know more to understand that this is not a reputable charity?

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 21, 2012
18 people found this review helpful

These are the same people who owned VIP Dx which sold useless XMRV blood tests to people with Myalgic Encephalomyelitis (M.E.) for hundreds of dollars--AFTER they knew the tests were worthless. Now they say they are doing research and treatment for people with "neuroimmune disease," but I don't believe it. They are the same money-grubbing people who sold the worthless tests. So far they have done nothing to help the people they say they are serving. And now they have their relatives posting good reviews on this website. Unbelievable!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It's a shame that personal comments by overly emotional individuals are allowed on Guidestar, jeopardizing the rating of an institute that is only trying to help the ME community. WPI's goal has always been to help severly ill people by solving the mysteries surrounding ME. WPI has helped legitimize a seriously debilitating disease and I believe they will continue to make a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I think that the WPI and its founders/employees are trying their very best in a very difficult field. I am glad that they are persevering despite the theft of their documents and continue to do research regardless of people's misunderstandings.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have personally volunteered for WPI and I am confident that they are making a difference. It is sad that there are such harsh and bitter reviews. Just remember that most people review to complain rather than to say something positive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

July 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a proud volunteeer and supporter of the Whittemore Peterson Institute. From the day-to-day work to the annual fundraiser event "I Hope You Dance", I have seen how many lives this organzitation positively touches and gives hope to so many people that didn't have answers before.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers