Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.846155
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
February 23, 2012

more

February 23, 2012

When we found White Plains, our daughter was in crisis in her current school. We were desperate to find a place that would not only accept her for who she was, but also encourage her strengths. The staff at White Plains has done that and more! We have delighted in watching her go from an angry and frustrated child to a happy and blossoming little girl. Thank you WPCC!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 18, 2012

more

February 18, 2012

My son has attended White Plains Childrens' Center since he was a 1 year old. He is now four and a half. Having my son at White Plains has been a great experience for many reasons. The staff is caring and interact with all the students at the center, not just the ones in their classroom . My son has learned many skills to prepare him for kindergarten and beyond. There are children of differing abilities at the center and every child is given support to help them become more independent. I am in education and in the past have had the opportunity to visit many daycares and preschools in Wake County. White Plains is unique in its ability to care for and nuture all children.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 17, 2012

more

February 17, 2012

White Plains Children's Center has provided my son with a nurturing environment where he can get personalized attention, and not get lost in the mix like at some preschools. We visited quite a few places before finding WPCC, and we were very happy to find an environment where our physically delayed son could enjoy a safe day of school, while getting the therapies he needs. We have been very happy with the center, and really like the inclusive setting so that all the children are made to feel special!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 16, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
February 16, 2012

My son has been a student at White Plains Children's Center for 3 1/2 years. He was diagnosed with autism at the age of 2, and the staff, therapists, and teachers at White Plains have helped me find solutions to help him communicate, interact socially with his peers, and advance academically. He has good friends at the school who are typically developing children, and they model for him the kinds of communicative behaviors we want him to develop. He will start in a mainstreamed kindergarten classroom in the fall, something I never thought would be possible when he was first diagnosed. White Plains has been a godsend for our family. It's an affordable childcare option, and the curriculum is outstanding for both typically developing children and developmentally delayed children. We will send our daughter, a typically developing child, there when she is old enough to attend. As an educator myself, I cannot recommend this school highly enough.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 7, 2012

more

February 7, 2012

I have served on the Board of Directors for White Plains Children's Center for just over a year and am honored to be a part of this organization. I have witnessed dedication and caring beyond imagination from both board members and staff. This is my first experience with serving on a board, and it has been a great one!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 6, 2012

more

February 6, 2012

I have served on the WPCC Board over the last 10 years. I have observed first hand the dedication of the staff to the children and families and their commitment to helping children reach their full potential. Our teachers are excellent and have education in child development and early childhood education.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2011

more

November 10, 2011

My son has been attending White Plains since 2009 and loves going to school. The entire staff knows him as they do all of the students. He is enrolled as a "typically developing" child but he did have speech issues and was not talking at two years old. He has made great strides with his speech and to hear him today you would never know he had a problem. There are so many opportunities for children to learn, grow, socialize and play at White Plains. My child will be more than prepared for kindergarten as a result of the hard work and dedication of the staff. I feel blessed to have had the opportunity for my child to attend White Plains.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 8, 2011

more

November 8, 2011

My son started attending WPCC last summer and it has really turned into more of a 2nd family for him then just a school. Everyone knows and cares about him and he knows and cares about all of the kids, teachers, and staff too! Every day he just loves going to school and seeing his friends and teachers. As a parent, I love knowing that he is so happy during the day while I have to work. It really makes working so much easier. I feel like WPCC is a great place for him to grow socially, emotionally, and educationally. My son takes pride in the art he brings home, sings us songs from his class, and loves to share his ideas about what they learned in school with us. We are so happy to have found such a great place for our son!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

how well my son has adjusted to going to a full time preschool and how it is helping him to experience an inclusive learning environment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more parents pitch in to help our school an even better place!

November 7, 2011

more

November 7, 2011

I LOVE the inclusion of typical and special needs children for my sons class, but his teachers are the Best part of White Plains!
He has Down Syndrome and is developing wonderfully with the attention he receives at White Plains. The teachers are genuine and greet him with a hug each morning!
Last year he was sick and in the hospital for two weeks around Halloween. Two of his teachers took time out of their weekend to coming check on him and brought him a special basket with pictures his friends had drawn for him. It is a wonderful environment for typical children also, they learn how all children are unique! My family and I have worked on the playground and helped with the yard sale fundraiser. There are so many little things that would be wonderful to update at his school that would help my son and all of the children at White Plains with more donations and grants! My son also has vision issues and a simple line of paint showing transition points is invaluable for him! The new playground structure has allowed my son the freedom to use these without the assistance of a teacher and he is riding a tricycle! I'm so glad I've found such wonderful, caring teachers and would highly recommend White Plains Children Center!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The wonderful strides my son makes with the assistance of his teachers and therapists at White Plains!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage people to donate for the upgrades that would make this school even better!

November 2, 2011

more

November 2, 2011

Having tried, terribly unsuccessfully, a traditional pre-school environment for our son, WPCC was recommended to us. The inclusive environment is so obviously right for, both, the typically developing children and our "special" guys. I honestly (hand -on-heart) could not be happier with the fantastic abilities of the teaching staff, nor with their endless interest and enthusiasm to learn more about how to continue to improve the potential of our son. The on-site therapists are a constant resource and sounding board.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

coming to the understanding and belief, through the advice and encouragement of the staff, that my special needs son has the potential to grow out of the labels automatically associated with his particular disability.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

support the efforts to develop the facilities and resources to bring them in-line with the superior levels of service, care, educational guidance and enrichment offered by the staff.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

Recommended by a former early intervention coordinator

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

sit in the nap room to enable teachers to attend a staff meeting (monthly), or help teachers laminate materials, or cut/paste materials for use in the classroom, or sanitize toys at the end of the school day. Volunteer