Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.928575
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
November 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am delighted to add my review and recommendation for Iowa's own unique White Eagle Multicultural Pow Wow. Twelve years ago, I became one of the original volunteers and charter members working with the Moisa family to build this event for the State of Iowa. Since then the organization of volunteers has been growing and multiplying annually to support and uphold this powerfully important event.This event has for its purpose the education and appreciation between people of all races and cultural backgrounds. It has as its essence to bring down walls of misunderstanding and bias between those groups. The effort begins for this Pow Wow event with Native American cultural influences, but then extends to the many races and ethnic backgrounds that share living spaces on our Earth home. The language used to guide the decisions of those building this event and directing its activities, has continually been to provide for "the mending of the Sacred Hoop of Life." This mending of life includes the appreciation and caring for all of the two-leggeds, four-leggeds, swimming and flying creatures of our planet home. The three day event in the month of August every year is and always has been free to the public. The funds needed for creating and producing this event have come from many local businesses, in-kind donations, fund raisers, plus individual donations. At no time has any volunteer , committee member, or charter member been offered or received a salary. The hundreds of volunteers arrive with time and energy and hearts ready to continue the vision that began in the mind and heart of Ralph Moisa III. This young man, the son of the Moisa family, who at the age of 19, gave his life to attempt to rescue a Red Tailed Hawk from some city power lines. He had already dedicated his life to the development of better understanding between all races and creatures. Countless and tireless hours have been spent setting up this venue/event each year and orchestrating the many multicultural events for three days, and teaching those who attend, about ways to feel connected to each other and to the Universe, which in turn has provided so much for all of us. This event, being unique to Iowa and also to the whole of the United States, has drawn visitors and participants from all over Iowa, around the Midwestern States, across the U.S., and also from Canada. It has continued to grow and expand each year, which speaks to the ever-present need within all realms of life to reach out to learn and understand one another to a greater and greater degree. This event lessens our feelings of isolation and promotes knowledge that we are one people, in one Universe, who ultimately all belong together in sharing our world. We have drawn up to 12,000 visitors and volunteers annually from various Native American Nations, and countless attendees from many countries and continents, All of this growth has been happening due to endless house of work and time donated from hundreds of volunteers working wit the Moisa family and the Multicultural Pow Wow Committees. I am proud to realize that this unique event was dreamed of, and then ultimately born, in our State of Iowa, a state uniquely named for the Nation of the Ioway Native Americans who cared for our lands hundreds of years prior to our statehood. I am proud to know the Moisa family and the family of dedicated volunteers who believe in this outstanding event and who work annually to forward the dreams o the young man, Ralph Moisa III. This caring and forward thinking young man was given the Native American name "White Eagle" from his Nation at the occasion of his funeral service. His life's dream has now become, and will continue to become the dream of multitudes of families and volunteres because of our annual event called the "White Eagle Multicultural Pow Wow".

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The White eagle multi cultural pow wow has been part of my life since 2000 .Celebrating the mending of the sacred hoop which is the realization that everything is connected. Not only we as peoples of different races, but all of the things around us as well . when the wheel is broken we destroy the plant life that gives us the oxygyne that we need to survive. when we destroy natural habitat we lose the creatures that are also a needed part of our survival. each has an important part in the survival of the others. The first time I attended the pow wow was by invatation of a friend. my plan was to enjoy the entertainment and just be a part of the crowd. after a while I noticed that many of the trash containers were much in need of attention. At once a feeling came over me that it was some how up to me to handle this situation, Which I did for the remainder of the weekend. during this time I came into contact with some of the most remarkable people I had ever met. all seemed very greatful of the task i had adopted we talked as though we had some how known each other for years. I did this for several years until the same friend invited me to one of the white eagle board meetings. I accepted the invatation and was taken on in the merchandising comittee and have served ever since. I can't imagine a year going by missing the pow wow though it is much work all through out the year the event always leaves me feeling some how iv'e done a small part in mending the sacred hoop.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The White Eagle Annual 7th Generation Multicultural Pow-Wow is an honorable organization that is doing much to “advance understanding among races and cultures.” It is a gathering initiated by Ralph and Carol Moisa in loving memory of their son, White Eagle—Ralph III, who died while attempting to free a Red Tail Hawk from some power lines, and who also took-to-heart the Native belief that each race has a role and a responsibility in mending the Sacred Hoop.

As a Caucasian American aware of our U. S. history and the government’s role in breaking numerous treaties made with America’s Native Peoples, it is a privilege and it feels a whole lot like grace to be invited to participate in the mending of the Sacred Hoop. I believe each of us carries within us the unfinished work of our ancestors’ past. Through the White Eagle Annual 7th Generation Multi-cultural Pow-Wow, each of us is blessed with the gift and the opportunity to participate in the dance that heals our community’s today and celebrates in our children’s, children’s tomorrow. You can be a living part of tomorrow’s history; come to honor one another’s culture in celebration, come help to mend the Sacred Hoop.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The White Eagle Multicultural Pow Wow is an awe inspiring experience with a continuous program from Friday evening through Sunday afternoon performed in colorful regalia by Midwest’s four races: Red, Yellow, Black and White. The pow wow is hosted by Native American's whose dreams are to mend the sacred hoop of life with a better understanding of all cultures through drumming, music, dance and story. The grand entry led by the honor guard, entertainers, and hosts of Indians from several nations is truly an emotional, heart rendering experience. Very educational, informative and entertaining fun filled three days of camaraderie amongst the volunteers, entertainers, photographers, and participants of all races. The White Eagle Multicultural Pow Wow was a dream of Ralph Moisa, III, a.k.a. ‘White Eagle'. Sadly Ralphie lost his life in 1995 during an heroic attempt to rescue a red tailed hawk trapped on a high voltage power line. Amongt Raphie’s possessions were notes detailing his visions of a multicultural pow wow to bring families of all races together, to bring down the walls of misunderstanding, to share a little of all heritages, and to make the United States a better place to live. In 2000, Ralphie’s parents established this one of a kind pow wow in his honor and memory. The Pow Wow is admission free. Donations are graciously accepted. Grounds parking is charged. This is an annual event held on the forth full weekend in August at Hawkeye Antique Acres, rural Waukee, Iowa just off Interstate 80, , Exit 117, 6 miles West of the West Des Moines Junction of I-35/I-80. I recommend this enchanting weekend to persons of all ages 3 to 103, a truly unforgettable experience. The ethnic foods and crafts were much appreciated and enjoyed by all. Camping with electricity is available on the grounds, or you can spend a night in a tipi (teepee) at the 'White Eagle' Bed and Breakfast on either Friday or Saturday night during the pow wow weekend--experience the life of an early American Indian. Donations and Volunteers are in high demand. Give from the heart to assure that this wonderful event may continue for many years to come. Visit www.whiteeaglepow-wow.org's photo galleries to enjoy the array of entertainers ranging from Darcy and Her Wolves, S.O.A.R. Hawk Talk (the 2011 release of a rehabilitated red tailed hawk), Japanese Drummers, Aloha Dancers, Aztec Dancers, Lerwig Family Band, Isiserettes Drill Team, Los Ninos del Tepeyac dancers, etc. I encourage everyone to schedule a visit to this wonderful pow wow like no other, not just in Iowa, but across the United States and Canada. Truly an enriching experience—never to be forgotten. A great family tradition filled with memories galore..

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

reflections that the Friday Evening and Sunday crowds were among the largest if not the largest of the past twelve annual pow wows. The results of the promotions on Saturday will never be known as it rained steadily from early morning throughout the evening making the day a near wash! My research the promotional needs gave me a wonderful insight into the true purpose and results of the working together of the varied cultures for a united purpose was very rewarding.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure each committee was better organized and knew exactly when and how each duty was to be performed. There would be no last minute details to tend to that may delay any of the scheduled events. Volunteers need to be increased drastically.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

My main frustration was the lack of response to questions sent through e-mails or unanswered phone calls.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It was a very enriching and rewarding experience. My efforts were greatly appreciated by the entire volunteer committee members.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

The experience required many hours throughout the year to help get the word out to the public--the opportunity that this one of a kind pow wow had to offer. At times it was over-whelming. Addtional volunteers to divide some of the required effort would be appreciated.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers