Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.928575
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

While driving on the interstate, a big sign appeared advertising a Multi=Cultural Indian Pow-Wow Event. This beautiful sign was so colorful and attractive that it caused investigation. Wow! What a surprise. Admission was free. What a wonderful way to give back to families and the public. Not a dull moment was ever encountered. Programming was very educational and entertaining for all ages. It was fantastic for children. The colors of all the costumes were beautiful and them music was great. What a tremendous way for Des Moines, Iowa to capitalize on tourism. This event is a real winner for Des Moines, surrounding areas, and all of Iowa; in fact for all of U.S.A. Everyone should help to keep this event going and growing! How? The word of mouth is very powerful! OH! What a wonderful day and evening. Thank you. We will be back next year.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been performing at the White Eagle Pow Wow weekend for the last 4 or 5 years. I really believe in the mission of the organization of healing through the expression of our cultural heritages. The atmosphere of the weekend is about sharing and feeds my creative soul. My family and I hope to share our talents and heritages with the Pow Wow family for years to come. We enjoy traveling from out of state to bring our North Sea cultural heritage to the people of Iowa and getting in touch with our American Indian heritage while we are there. Being able to perform at the Pow Wow helps motivate my family to learn and improve in the performance of the music and dance of our ancestors. I feel the Pow Wow has the potential to foster cultural growth throughout the region.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am a dance faculty at Iowa State University. My blended special needs group with non challeged dancers were performing next to a native American Village where Ralph and his crew were inspiring youth as well as anyone who gathered at the Iowa State Fair. He heard me speaking about inclusion of all peoples and the power of dance to transform. He asked if I would bring dancers to his event later in August. We have attended the PowWow I believe for a decade. I am grateful for the work the Ralph has done in the public schools as well as other outdoor venues that we have performed at again in tandom. His "tribe" of gathered volunteers are kind, respectful, and welcoming to all performers. The group never fails to embrace the world. Even when we are rained out it is considered a blessing and as always the fun continues all in good humor. Modeling one of the greatest assets for the individual coping with difficulty with humor. I am honored to be a small contributor to such a worthy goal as this group encompasses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This Pow wow is very special to me thats way I donate and volunteer my time to this. I been doing this for 11 years now and still coming back for more years to come .Ralph and Carol are like my Family and my Best FRIENDS. THEY CARE ABOUT EVERYONE .We still would love to have more volunteers. THANK YOU

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a board member for the White Eagle pow wow for five years, serving as treasurer for the past two. to experience this three day event always proves to be exciting and refreshing! Seeing old friends and meeting new every summer makes me feel that all of the volenteer hours spent throughout the year are well spent. The ever changeing line up of performers always leaves me satisfied the costumes and dance styles are colorful and exciting. The message of hope and understanding that the White Eagle Multi cultureal pow wow sends out is truly fantastic!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a member of the White Eagle Multicultural Pow Wow for 11 years.Some friends of ours introduced us to Ralph and Carol. We were food vendors. Being a food vendor limited us to being able to participate in the event itself,but we did get to watch a lot of the performers.It was heartfelt watching all the cultures come together, to become one, and seeing all the warmth and love that was generated in the sacred ground. It is such a spectacular spiritual event that no one should miss.The Pow Wow is a part of my Life, and I am so Thankful to be a part of it.This Pow Wow has built many bonding relationships for me.. I have tried to help out as much as I can as a volunteer,vendor,donor, and whatever else is needed.If you have never been to The White Eagle Multicultural Pow Wow make the last weekend of August 2013 at Hawkeye Antique Acres your place to be.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have had the honor of performing at the White Eagle Multicultural Pow Wow for the past 3 yrs. It's wonderful being part of an event that truly embraces all cultures and what they represent. In those years, I have learned SO MUCH and each year I cherish and look forward to learning more, as well as sharing my art form of Bellydance. Another widely misunderstood form. This past August, it had been raining during the day, and by the time my troupe's performance time came around, it was questionable if we were going to be able to perform. With the amazing love and guidance of the Pow Wow's organizers, we wanted to perform anyway. We danced on the ground instead of the stage to make sure no one slipped, and we felt so free performing that way. Even the mud created from the rain couldn't deter us. We were there to share in this wonderful experience of learning and sharing, and would never miss it for anything. I look forward to performing in 2013!!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The White Eagle Multicultural Pow Wow is a tremendous asset to the State of Iowa and our Nation. Their mission to making the word a better place to live is apparent throughout the weekend of this annual event with the harmonic blending of the races The experience is educational, informative and entertaining--an inspiring event being to those who attend a new perspective for living in todays world

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

MY WIFE & I HAVE HELPED OUT AT THE LAST TWO EVENTS. LOTS OF GREAT THINGS GOING ON ALL THE TIME. DANCERS FROM MANY CULTURES, DOING WHAAT THEY DO BEST. PLENTY OF PARKING AT THE GROUNDS FOR THE AUG. EVENT. RAIN SLOWED THE CROWD ON SAT. THE SHOW WHNT ON. RECOMEND THIS TO EVERYONE.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

my husband and i won a free night in a tipi! it was wonderful and everyone there was very kind, welcoming and excepting. we enjoyed ourselfs alot dispite the rain! they still had activitys and vendors were open. the vendors were kind and the prices werent outragous! this was my second pow wow with the white eagle organization. i highly recomend going! there is something for everyone! please go you wont regret it!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers