Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 16, 2013

more

August 16, 2013

Westside Food Bank is among the best of the best, when it comes to the task of getting critical resources to those in great need in our community. Dollar for dollar, pound for pound, hour for hour, when you invest your resources, your volunteerism, and your faith into this Food Bank, know that you are absolutely maximizing the effect of your intention.

For the past four years, I have worked in the field of non-profit food banks and have had the pleasure of working directly with the amazing staff and leadership of WSFB, and I can assure you, this is one of the finest non-profits in Los Angeles.

To draw a sports analogy, Westside Food Bank is an ALL-STAR team of dedicated, talented, devoted, and gifted difference makers, who leverage every available resource for the maximum impact in our community here in Los Angeles. This Foodbank is brilliantly managed, is incredibly efficient, and truly reflects the spirit of everything a Food Bank can be, and should be.

It was a privilege and an honor to work with this team, in the service of our community; and time and time again, I was absolutely blown away by what this compact efficient team of dedicated professionals was able to create, enhance, develop, and deliver in the most critical times.

Don't hesitate, if your intention is creating the maximum impact in the lives of those who are most vulnerable in our community, in our economy, in our society; I can assure you, every dollar or hour you provide, will be utilized to it's fullest possible potential.

The need that exists today, is as great as the peak of the recession. While the banks and financial sector have recovered greatly; the effects of the sequester, as well as giant cuts in TEFAP and other government support systems for those that are food insecure; have kept the need at an all-time high, today right now, for working class families under the poverty line, for seniors on fixed incomes with rising health care costs, for children who depend on the nutritious food WSFB provides to build the healthy bodies, and the peace of mind necessary to focus in the classroom, and grow into healthy self sufficient adults.

Whatever you are able to give to WSFB, they will multiply it's effect through talent, skill, know how, love and dedication. Don't hesitate to make a difference in this way.



More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

more


1 previous review
December 12, 2009

I love this organization. I love their efficiency and optimism. My whole family supports the Food Bank in one way or another, and my teenager chose the Food Bank for his Boy Scout Eagle Scout project... more

November 30, 2012

My family has volunteered at the Westside Food Bank for many years. We have also worked at the social service agencies that receive donations from the Food Bank, so we see first hand the great benefit that the Food Bank provides for people in need. The folks at the Westside Food Bank are true heroes. They are relentless in their desire to get nutritious food to anyone in need of food assistance. This agency is well run, ethical to a fault, and I give them five stars across the board!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 12, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

I love this organization. I love their efficiency and optimism. My whole family supports the Food Bank in one way or another, and my teenager chose the Food Bank for his Boy Scout Eagle Scout project, and his school Community Service project.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

...seeing the food they collect being distributed to local social service agencies with whom I am involved.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

...the simple joy of knowing I can help feed someone who is hungry, and I can teach my children the value and joy of this work.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

...amazing! Cheerful and tenacious.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

...provide 50 million meals to hungry people! WOW!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I've supported and worked with the Food Bank almost since its inception 30 years ago. It has become a vital component of our communities hunger relief and poveryty alleviation programs and there may be no other opportunity to positively touch as many people's lives in our community. The Food Bank's food is distributed through 70 social service agencies to over 100,000 people each year, half of whom are children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I have never worked with a non-profit that takes more care in making sure that every dollar goes to the right place. The energy, passion and results of the WFB are amazing. The team is lean and extremely hard working and the difference made is evident, every day.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I have been actively involved with the WSFB for over 10 years. I am always amazed how much they do with the funds that they have. The staff is so very dedicated. Administrative costs are kept low. Long hours of work is the norm. And the result is that more food is distributed to the hungry of our community for each dollar contributed. And then there are the volunteers. Food sorts are amazing events with people from the community of all ages sorting the food so that it can be distributed to the local social service agencies. WSFB is a cornerstone of the community which it serves.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I've volunteered with the food bank in the past and got to see firsthand the dedication and hard work their small group puts into this community food bank. They do so much with so little! They stretch every dollar, and work to provide nutritious foods, like fresh fruit and veggies, to those that need it most.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I went to the SOVA Pantry in West L.A. for the first time and I was very touched by the compassion of the volunteers who were there acting as social workers. There were so many people in the waiting area, women, men, and children who were all hungry...it just broke my heart to see so many people who needed food to feed their families. I needed food too but my heart went out to all of them.

If you go there for the first time be sure to get there early and make sure you fill out a form while you are waiting in line to be seen. You must wait outside the door in line but there is a seating area for everyone so you don't have to stand up for very long. It is a bit of a wait the first time so just be prepared to spend some time there filling out paperwork, waiting to see your social worker, and getting your food. Bring all the necessary paperwork so you can be guaranteed you will get your card to bring with you next time you go.

They also have someone there on certain days of the month that can help you fill out your paperwork for food stamps.

I highly recommend the SOVA Pantry.

Blessings to you and your family.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They will give you enough food to last you about 6 days if it is for yourself. I don't know how much food you get if you have a family but I would think it would be more than if you are a single person. There is much variety in the food they give you. I even got cottage cheese, lettuce, carrots, potatoes, fruit and a selection of bagels or bread. You can tell them what foods you can or cannot eat if you have dietary restrictions. I am single and I got 2 bags of groceries. I was so grateful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would offer some foods for people who are lactose intolerant.

January 2, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 2, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with many nonprofit organizations. Westside Food Bank is entirely focused on making their mission statement real. They work with a skeleton crew who each wear many hats. They have an excellent relationship with the community they serve. Their financials are squeeky clean. They do not make self-serving purchases. The money goes for the purpose intended. They work very hard at involving the community in food drives rather than relying on dwindling government sources. They make an incredible effort at providing the community with as much quality food as possible.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

There absolute integrity. Each person there works to the best of their considerable abilities. No one places a limit on how much time it takes to get the job done. They are truly selfless in working very hard to benefit their clients.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

the highest quality people. I have been volunteering there for years. I have never seen anyone there ever take an easy day. They are always at their best in finding ways to bring food in and distribute it to people who need help.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

make sure that no one in their service area ever goes hungry.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Organize a food drive
Come to our warehouse to sort food.
Participate in our annual fall Hunger Walk
Adults 21 & over can volunteer at the annual December Santa Monica Pub Crawl