Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
1234.755
Write A Review
October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My son is a mentor to a little boy who had problems making friends in school because he just moved to our town. He was also absent from school quite a bit. My son told me that since he has been visiting his buddy at school over lunch, the boy now has a couple of friends and the teacher said he never misses school on the day when his mentor is coming to see him. They like to play football with my son and he said he feels he is making a difference because his buddy seems happier and he's not getting into so much trouble during recess. The principal told him that just by being himself, my son is a good role model for the little boy, who does not have a positive male role model in his life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing! It is efficient and has a great reputation in the community as a quality mentoring service. Thank you!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been working for BFMP for the past 14months and after 10+ years in the non-profit sector I am impressed with the quality of program BFMP Provides. It is wonderful to have the largest mentoring organization in ND located in Dickinson ND

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

the incredibly strong relationship and reputation within the community

February 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Presently administers matches between about 200 kids and their mentors. Approaches the growing problem of 'at risk' children in a very efficient, comprehensive manner. Has a very good 'brand' within the community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My daughter was a mentor 15 years ago. She still has some contact 15 years later. It does make a positive difference - both for the child and for the mentor. I saw the positive effect on my daughter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Figure out how to make the funding for it stable and predictable - so that more focus could be on the program itself.

November 23, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 23, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

Best Friends has a geat reputation in Dickinson. The program benefits both the mentor and the child they are working with. There's a lot of logic to the idea of establishing another adult connection early on - much more cost effective to do it sooner than later. I've only heard good things about Best Friends.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My daughter was a mentor. I saw the positive difference it made. 15 years later, there is still some contact.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to increase funding, and the number of matches that are made every year.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assemble file folders, call the references listed potential mentors (as part of our screening process), package for mailing old cell phones we collect as a fundraiser, help at a special fundraising event.