Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.529415
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

WWP is unfortunately a rare group doing the work that mainstream organizations shy away from. Their style is open, honest, brave and just. If you hike, backpack, bird, hunt or fish western lands or care about the watersheds you should be thanking this unique and fine organization for their tireless work at bringing the renegade livestock industry to abide by laws and regulations on the books. The industry has always had their way by way of threats and intimidation. WWP doesn't buy the threats. They meticulously document the damage, go to court and win.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not recommend any changes to Western Watersheds methods of operation. I would STRONGLY recommend other organizations use them as a role model.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 5, 2014

more

August 5, 2014

One of the best enviro-organisations in the US. Saving habitat and without all the flim flam of coffee mugs. cuddly toys, t-shirts etc etc. If you want to use your hard earned wages for some real philanthropic good, then donating to the Western Watersheds Project is a fine place to start.

Smart people who are out there getting the job done.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do harm.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

WWP takes on the fight other environmental groups tend to shy away from - for good reason. The work they are doing and exposing have direct impacts on those of us who reside in the Rocky Mountain West.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put out a really great t-shirt promoting their cause... LOL.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

Western Watersheds is at the forefront of fighting to save arid western public lands and the watersheds they depend upon. From ground level volunteers to attorneys fighting in court to board members serving & directing, WWP is made up of visionary & dedicated people. They take on the legal battles necessary to preserve our public lands against large, well-funded and entrenched groups concerned mainly with making a buck to the detriment of these fragile landscapes. If I could rate them higher, I would.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fund it very generously.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 14, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 14, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Although the livestock industry likes to portray Western Watersheds as anti-rancher, I think they are one of the few that propose a way to resolve issues over public lands grazing. I like their proposed (and introduced) legislation in Congress that would allow payment to retire a grazing lease if a rancher wants to sell it and a non-profit wants to buy it and retire the lease for the benefit of wildlife, watershed, etc.

Despite this difficulty, WWP has gotten grazing leases in harmful locations closed, wildlife and water protected.

Currently there is no way to retire a federal grazing lease except for bad performance or other illegalities by a permittee and subsequent permittees. So at the present, retirement requires a tactic of pressing the agency to strictly enforce the laws and regulations. They are loath to do this, so WWP has to go to court on behalf of the public. It would be terrible if urban law enforcement had to use this method!

Anyway, cheers for WWP. They are braver than other organizations that deal with our public lands.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 13, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

Western Watersheds is an organization sine qua non dedicated to preservation in the manner conceived by John Muir and Aldo Leopold. It does not surprise me that there are people who completely miss the boat about this organization. (Just reading some of the negative comments at this site make me laugh).

MYTHS

1. Public lands grazing provides the majority of feed for cattle and sheep ranchers in the United States.
2. Public lands grazing is needed to control wildfires, the spread of invasive species, and ecosystem health.
3. Ranchers provide a stable economic base to rural economies.
4. Western Watersheds Project dislikes ranchers and has no real reason to oppose all public lands grazing.

*The last one is the biggest myth.*

I encourage everyone to educate themselves on the issues.

www.publiclandsranching.org


The American West at Risk: Science, Myths, and Politics of Land Abuse and Recovery. (Oxford University Press) http://www.theamericanwestatrisk.com/

"Take a course in good water and air; and in the eternal youth of Nature so you may renew your own. Go quietly, alone; no harm will befall you." John Muir



Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Extend it to more states

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 13, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Western Watersheds Project is an extremely effective organization working to challenge outdated land management practices in the west through legal and political action. I recently became involved with WWP through visual monitoring of the impact of livestock on public land in sensitive grizzly bear habitat in Idaho and Wyoming. As a photographer and videographer, it has been appalling to document the damage and land degradation from grazing by cattle and domestic sheep. Top predators are a key part of a healthy, functioning ecosystem. For them to thrive, cattle and domestic sheep need to be removed from our public lands. WWP is working to help make this happen.


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more funding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 13, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I'm a former BLM biologist who has seen first hand the multiple ways that livestock production has damaged and degraded public lands. The abuses go on in spite of efforts of many employees who know, as I did, how livestock was compromising public values like water quality, soils, wildlife habitat, and even recreational opportunities (camping among cow pies is not an experience most people enjoy).

That is why I so admire the tenacity and exceptional knowledge of WWP staff. There are few organizations in the West willing to challenge the livestock juggernaut. WWP is the most dedicated, and most effective organization I know speaking up for our public lands ecological health and integrity. That is why I recently joined the board.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would try to hire more people--but of course that takes money. It's amazing how much is accomplished with a limited staff.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 13, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Western Watersheds Project is the single most effective organization in the country to challenge outdated land management practices and to stand up for the preservation of native biodiversity and for fiscal and scientific responsibility in the agencies that manage our public lands. In over 40 years of guiding, working and recreating on western public lands I have seen massive decline in landscape health virtually everywhere. WWP and its partner organizations are to be commended for holding land managers' feet to the fire and getting on the ground results!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire more scientists and communications staff.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 13, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

13 years ago I retired in Salt Lake City and started hiking often around southern Utah. I couldn't believe the number of cows everywhere. I started to look into it and over time came to believe that public land grazing is the single most damaging activity to the environment in the Intermountain West. And that taxpayers have to subsidize the ranchers to deplete the land this way was obviously nuts. I started a publishing company to try to help create awareness through the power of pen and story because I thought most environmental organizations were not able to get much done without greater public awareness. Except for Western Watersheds. They keep getting results. I am a big fan.

Mark Bailey
Torrey House Press

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers