Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.384625
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
December 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Although the livestock industry likes to portray Western Watersheds as anti-rancher, I think they are one of the few that propose a way to resolve issues over public lands grazing. I like their proposed (and introduced) legislation in Congress that would allow payment to retire a grazing lease if a rancher wants to sell it and a non-profit wants to buy it and retire the lease for the benefit of wildlife, watershed, etc.

Despite this difficulty, WWP has gotten grazing leases in harmful locations closed, wildlife and water protected.

Currently there is no way to retire a federal grazing lease except for bad performance or other illegalities by a permittee and subsequent permittees. So at the present, retirement requires a tactic of pressing the agency to strictly enforce the laws and regulations. They are loath to do this, so WWP has to go to court on behalf of the public. It would be terrible if urban law enforcement had to use this method!

Anyway, cheers for WWP. They are braver than other organizations that deal with our public lands.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 13, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

Western Watersheds is an organization sine qua non dedicated to preservation in the manner conceived by John Muir and Aldo Leopold. It does not surprise me that there are people who completely miss the boat about this organization. (Just reading some of the negative comments at this site make me laugh).

MYTHS

1. Public lands grazing provides the majority of feed for cattle and sheep ranchers in the United States.
2. Public lands grazing is needed to control wildfires, the spread of invasive species, and ecosystem health.
3. Ranchers provide a stable economic base to rural economies.
4. Western Watersheds Project dislikes ranchers and has no real reason to oppose all public lands grazing.

*The last one is the biggest myth.*

I encourage everyone to educate themselves on the issues.

www.publiclandsranching.org


The American West at Risk: Science, Myths, and Politics of Land Abuse and Recovery. (Oxford University Press) http://www.theamericanwestatrisk.com/

"Take a course in good water and air; and in the eternal youth of Nature so you may renew your own. Go quietly, alone; no harm will befall you." John Muir



Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Extend it to more states

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 13, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Western Watersheds Project is an extremely effective organization working to challenge outdated land management practices in the west through legal and political action. I recently became involved with WWP through visual monitoring of the impact of livestock on public land in sensitive grizzly bear habitat in Idaho and Wyoming. As a photographer and videographer, it has been appalling to document the damage and land degradation from grazing by cattle and domestic sheep. Top predators are a key part of a healthy, functioning ecosystem. For them to thrive, cattle and domestic sheep need to be removed from our public lands. WWP is working to help make this happen.


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more funding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 13, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I'm a former BLM biologist who has seen first hand the multiple ways that livestock production has damaged and degraded public lands. The abuses go on in spite of efforts of many employees who know, as I did, how livestock was compromising public values like water quality, soils, wildlife habitat, and even recreational opportunities (camping among cow pies is not an experience most people enjoy).

That is why I so admire the tenacity and exceptional knowledge of WWP staff. There are few organizations in the West willing to challenge the livestock juggernaut. WWP is the most dedicated, and most effective organization I know speaking up for our public lands ecological health and integrity. That is why I recently joined the board.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would try to hire more people--but of course that takes money. It's amazing how much is accomplished with a limited staff.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Western Watersheds Project is the single most effective organization in the country to challenge outdated land management practices and to stand up for the preservation of native biodiversity and for fiscal and scientific responsibility in the agencies that manage our public lands. In over 40 years of guiding, working and recreating on western public lands I have seen massive decline in landscape health virtually everywhere. WWP and its partner organizations are to be commended for holding land managers' feet to the fire and getting on the ground results!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire more scientists and communications staff.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

13 years ago I retired in Salt Lake City and started hiking often around southern Utah. I couldn't believe the number of cows everywhere. I started to look into it and over time came to believe that public land grazing is the single most damaging activity to the environment in the Intermountain West. And that taxpayers have to subsidize the ranchers to deplete the land this way was obviously nuts. I started a publishing company to try to help create awareness through the power of pen and story because I thought most environmental organizations were not able to get much done without greater public awareness. Except for Western Watersheds. They keep getting results. I am a big fan.

Mark Bailey
Torrey House Press

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 13, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Western Watersheds Project is working to stop the abuse of our public lands by the welfare ranchers. These ranchers have millions of cattle on our public lands which were proven by a 1990-91 Government Accounting Office study to cause over-grazing and destruction of riparian areas. Government agencies are killing predators and are wiping out our wild horses and other species to benefit these ranchers , all at tax-payers expense.They are also destroying native trees and plants in order to seed the ranges with non-native grasses to benefit livestock. WWP is one of the few organizations that has managed to protect some of our public lands. I am proud to support them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep Jon Marvel as head forever.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Western Watersheds has stepped in where state game and fish agencies have been politicized to remain quiet on cattle and domestic sheep grazing issues on public lands. It is well documented that bighorn sheep will die from disease when they come into contact with domestic sheep on our public lands and Western Watersheds has stepped in to remove domestic sheep from my public lands for the benefit of my bighorn sheep, while state game and fish agencies have shied away from this controversy.

Ranchers are not the saviors or our public lands and their self imposed statements of feeding America with their cattle and sheep from my public lands speaks to their self imposed delusions of grander, usually from watching too many John Wayne movies.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their field personnel presence on public lands.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 12, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 12, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

For too long public lands in the west have been exploited and damaged at public expense. It's time to put an end to welfare ranching. My beliefs are based on facts and evidence, not cowboy myth. Public land grazing has become a looser for public interest and a winner for a few wealthy ranchers. We must stop this, It is not sustainable. We should be managing public lands for the long term public interest, not for short term financial gain for a few private individuals. Ranchers who cry loud and long about jobs hire foreign nationals to do the real work. Western Watersheds does more than any other organization to provide real information and protection of our public lands. Stop welfare ranching.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their funding

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I'm primarily familiar with WWP's work in the Southwest. The organization has used a judicious combination of on-the-ground research, public pressure, and litigation to improve agency management of public lands in the region, especially with regard to management of livestock grazing. WWP is "lean and mean," using donations to good effect in advancing the protection of resources on our public lands. When you give to WWP you get a large bang for your bucks. My spouse and I have been donors for several years and plan to continue to support the organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...encourage WWP to continue to fight the good fight. If the organization chooses to expand its efforts, I would encourage slow, measured expansion, so as to assimilate new programs or geographic coverage effectively.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers