Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
February 27, 2014

more

February 27, 2014

I have known Shannon for only half a dozen years but I know she is the "go to" person when I need any help with a horse problem. Her Compassion, her Caring, her Commitment and her standard of Care is exceptional. She passes my 4C's with flying colors and when ever I get a few extra bales of hay or a new horse halter I know where they will end up. The sanctuary grounds are wonderful and this coming summer I plan on visiting again with my 13 year old grandson so he can see first hand the horses, the love that is shown, and to say "hello" to Shannon again. Sincerely, Leslie Ames, R.N. A.H.T.
& President and Shelter Manager of Basset Rescue of Montana

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

While I haven't personally worked with WMERR, I have a personal friend who does and often keeps me informed on what they are doing, and they are doing great things. I am a pilot for Pilots N Paws and devote much time to flying rescued dogs to no-kill shelters and new forever homes. I know how much time and effort it takes to conduct these charitable functions and I applause WMERR and all other similar organizations that look after animals in need for all the work they do. Keep it up!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 10, 2013

I have been working with WMERR since it started. This is a non-profit company that really cares about the animals that it rescues. I am always impressed how easy everyone is to work with and how much attention they give the animals that they rescue. It is my pleasure to be a volunteer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think that they are doing a fine job.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 9, 2013

My daughter in law lost her horse unexectedly last year, and WMERR went out of their way to help me find another horse for Julie. That horse, a little Arab mare, has a great home with her new owner and everyone involved is very happy!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

I have been a volunteer foster "parent" for WMERR for three years now. Many hooves have touched my fields over the years and I have had two permanent elderly residents for a couple years now. The director of WMERR has dedicated her life to the horses. She and the board of directors give each horse we encounter thorough personalized attention. Each rescue is evaluated very carefully for their state of well-being and an individualized plan formulated. When a horse is ready for adoption, a application must be completed by the prospective new "parent" and then carefully reviewed by our Board. If a horse does not qualify for adoption due to it's condition, it will either remain at the shelter or go to live permanently with a foster "parent." Our horses are always afforded the opportunity to live their remain lives with love and dignity. This rescue is well-deserving of any help you are able to give. I cannot speak highly enough of our director, Board of Directors and volunteers. Thanks for anything you can do to help!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None really, except to get more volunteers and more donations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
August 29, 2013

Thank you for adopting Star to us recently, we have now had him since June and he is such a wonderful older TB. You did such a excelent job with getting him back up to weight and condition and he is advnacing fomr there. he is wonderful on trails and in teh arena. it appears that he may have been very well trained at some time in his past as the more we ride him the more he seems willing to show us that he knows. Thank you Shannon and the rest of the staff at Wester Montana Equine Rescue rehab. He is 10 times his adoption fee thank you thank you thank you

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

LOL Shorten the name, it trires you out typing it, nohting else they are a excellent group of people

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 20, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
April 20, 2013

"There is something about the outside of a horse that is good for the inside of a man," said Winston Churchill. Volunteering at WMER&R proved to be good for my insides, too. I hope to learn more about these intelligent and dignified animals when I return to my rescue chores this spring. WMER&R is one of those rare places where the people are as great to be around as the animals. Thank you for your dedication, and allowing me to participate; loved reading the updates in the newsletter, too.
Robin

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 3, 2013

more

April 3, 2013

I recently adopted Triska, an 8 year old Arabian Mare from Western Mt Equine Rescue and could have been more pleased with the process and how helpful everyone was. I started the adoption process back in November and everything went smoothly and the questions on the application were clear and relevant. Approval didn't take long but the time of year (winter) and the distances involved (I live in Colorado) meant I had to wait to come up and visit Triska for a few months. That posed no problems for the rescue and they were very happy to work with me. My first meeting with Kim, who had Triska on her property, was wonderful, and she was so willing to let me come out and visit her as much as I could while in MT. We signed the paperwork and began making arrangements to get Triska to Colorado. It turned out that I was able to get her myself and that worked out quite well. Now that Triska is home, she is settling in well and the stellar work the rescue did with her while she was in their care is really coming out. She's got great ground manners and training, is light and responsive and a joy to work with. A great experience. Thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I just received the first newsletter from the Western Montana Equine Rescue and it is amazing. I am not surprised, as all the people I have met in connection with this organization are amazing themselves. Last year I met three horses that had been rescued and I have followed their total rehabilitation. This organization focuses on insuring individual care for each rescued horse. Volunteer caregivers see to the nutritional needs of each animal and those needs are constantly reassessed as the animal regains health. Then, a lot of time is devoted to finding the proper adoptive home. This group works by donation only and appreciate any contributions from the public. The horses receive every bit of the donations. My favorite stories are those of people who drive by one of the foster pastures of rescued horses and see the WMER sign. Then, they go ahead and donate a box of apples or a few sacks of grain (because their grandchild told them the horses looked hungry). Helping animals is a wonderfully fulfilling act. You can tell when you meet the folks involved with WMER, they are happy and fulfilled with their mission - rescuing horses.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 26, 2013

more

March 26, 2013

WMER takes their role seriously - the intent of this organization is to help needy horses/horse owners and that is just what is done... no fuss, no muss, just get it done. I've participated with other types of rescue and know how frustrating, tiring and heart wrenching this can be - yet WMER folks continue to do what needs to be done without complaint. I am proud to be one of the newer board members and look forward to being able to support the folks who have been doing this work for years now.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers