Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
144 Reviews
1234.951395
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

WJCS has been a life savior for our family. My husband has a life threatening medical condition and my twin sons are on the autistic spectrum. We have utilized multiple services at WJCS over the past several years including the FAD program for autistic teens, Individual therapy for both sons, Pathways to Care for myself and my husband. All of these services have been exemplary. The therapists are compassionate and highly skilled and have gone out of their way to help our family during times of greatest need. We are deeply appreciative of the excellent services we have received.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

I had the privilege of registering and participating in many aspects of the WJCS program Connect-to-Care during a job search after the financial crisis in 2008-09. It was and is the most robust and useful "out placement" service I have had the pleasure of observing, addressing not only the material and practical aspects of career placement / change in these challenging economic times,but offering human help in the form of self-care seminars, confidence building and fellowship. The staff is knowledgeable, caring and proactive in assisting their clients. It is a very well run and in my view effective program that I have been recommending to many people.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more


1 previous review
November 5, 2009

I cannot thank WJCS enough for helping me to put my life back on the right track and come closer to finding a sense of spiritual and emotional peace. Jane Slevin, Pathways to Care, has been a caring... more

October 29, 2012





To Anita Greenwald and her wonderful, caring staff at WJCS Connect-To-Care with gratitude and and appreciation for all that you do and how graciously you do it...

Walking into Connect To Care's Westchester Office, my husband and I experienced a complete sense of
caring, professionalism and overall supportive atmoshpere. We were offered employment and career transition services which included effective workshops that ran the gamut from interviewing skills to Jewish mindful meditation to using LinkedIn. In addition we were given internet access, a place to relax or chat with others and to always find a place of support.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2009

I cannot thank WJCS enough for helping me to put my life back on the right track and come closer to finding a sense of spiritual and emotional peace. Jane Slevin, Pathways to Care, has been a caring, inspiring, supportive counselor, especially in helping with the devastating effects of being the sole caregiver to my critically ill brother, Jeff, who recently died. Jane continues to be a source that I continue to rely on as I come to terms with my own bereavement process. Also, Rabbi Pamela Wax, Spiritual Healing Center, has encouraged my husband and myself to partake of the many programs--the one we attended was a source of serenity in a very troubled time. WJCS deserves to be recognized for all they do and the caring way in which they do it.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Caring and devoted to helping clients face and find comfort with their life issues.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

The Women Helping Women group was my best resource while unemployed. The program provided resources that ordinary programs overlook. Lenore does a great job of finding presenters who address topics mostly overlooked by other unemployment resources. The seminars I attended focused on personality issues, stress, how to find a job using LinkedIn and provided new local resources. But one of the program's best assets was the women themselves and the safe, supportive environment it provides. The women who attend the program and the program gave me the emotional support and encouragement to continue in my search for employment and not give up. The seminars provided can help anyone whether or not unemployed. I'm grateful for the opportunity to have attended the program. Carol Dowling

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

The best thing that has happened to me has been finding Connect to Care. From the moment I entered the door I knew that my life would be changing for the better. Every person I have met has only one mission -- to be of assistance in a positive and supportive manner. I now feel confident that I have the skills and support to move on to my next profession.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

WJCS has been a lifeline for myself and my family. I have personally benifitted from their Connect to Care programs in addition to therapy with the Trauma and Abuse Center. We also have received helpful advice reguarding services for which my grandfather qualified as well how to best negotiate the system to our advantage. There have been many times in the past few years when I have suggested that my friends and colleagues check WJCS out for themselves and their needs. Thank you.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 7, 2011

My daughter is autistic and has always been socially inappropriate with her peers. She only wanted to be with adults (our family and friends) and was with us 24/7. She had a lot of difficulty keepin... more

October 22, 2012

I am the parent of a 32 year old developmentally disabled young woman who lives in one of the group homes run by WJCS. My husband and I are beyond grateful for the staff of WJCS and particularly the staff at her group home at Hudson Terrace. It is truly like a family who care so deeply for our daughter and all of the young women in the home. No matter what medical or behavioral issue that comes up regarding my daughter, the staff handles it quickly and professionally. We feel blessed that our daughter loves in such a wondering place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 7, 2011

My daughter is autistic and has always been socially inappropriate with her peers. She only wanted to be with adults (our family and friends) and was with us 24/7. She had a lot of difficulty keeping herself busy and so she shadowed me whenever she wasn't in school, etc. Finding WJCS changed our lives tremendously. She got involved with their special needs groups and eventually at age 23 moved into a new group home with 5 other young woman her age that she knew for a long time. The staff of the Community Residential Services program was truly phenomenal in helping us put this group home together. The staff at the house is seriously beyond wonderful-extremely caring and supportive of all of the residents. I feel blessed that my daughter is living in such a warm, caring environment with so many wonderful people working with her. She is doing better than I could have ever imagined! Thank you WJCS.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Everyone who works with my daughter has helped far beyond our expectations. For example the manager and nursing staff are incredible. My daughter also has Type I diabetes and a lot of medical issues, but the staff is always on top of all the problems she encounters.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There isn't anything I would change. I only wish there was a way for the staff to be paid more.

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

WJCS has helped our family tremendously by providing services for children on the Autism spectrum. It helped us find a community with in our community of families facing similar challenges. They have social skills programs, parent groups, and support sports programs like Miracle League. We have been able to maintain these relationships outside WJCS. These friendships have been very important to both the kids and the parents. We learn so much from each other.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2012

more

October 21, 2012

WJCS has been a life savior for myself and my family. I have twin teenage sons on the autistic spectrum and a husband with a serious medical condion. My sons have been involved in the social skills groups through the Autism Family Center for several years. These groups are led by unusualy caring and energetic young therapists who have helped my sons flourish despite a great deal of family stress. More recently, after my husband developed a life-threating medical condition, I sought support through the agency's Pathways to Care program. The program's social worker has been enormously helpful, supportive and generous with her time. It is difficult to express how much her compassion has meant to me and how deeply grateful I am.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

Center lane in white plains ny. What a great program....for LGBTQ.I am a parent of a transgender child.thank god for this support group. I've learned so much

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

work with children in an after-school program; mentor a teen; help package clothing for needy families; become a friendly visitor to an isolated person. Volunteer