Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
1234.85
Write A Review
October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

The Hub's unofficial operating approach is 'turf suppression', which is something WV desperately needs. The Hub's goal is to provide communities with tools, resources, and support for whatever local needs are identified, and they do it extremely well by bringing together a wide array of partners and service providers to work on a solving a problem in a collaborative and engaging way. They have no interest in 'owning' their solutions - any successful work they do is spread as far and wide as possible.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

Being part of the Blueprint Communities Team in our small town, I have seen first hand what the HUB is presently doing to assist the communities involved in this program. Especially helpful are the coaches, technical expertise and advice, and the knowledge that we are not alone in trying to create a better community. I personally think the HUB is one of the best organizations we have in the state to really help us help ourselves. And hearing from other communities we find they have an outstanding record of continued support. I'm very pleased with the HUB and highly recommend them to others.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

Twice in the past few years I have seen first hand the positive effects of the WV HUB efforts around the state. Ansted WV is continuing to reap the rewards of the community building training we received form the HUB and recently a representative of the HUB facilitated a meeting that without there help would have gone no where. Nice to see a group reaching every little corner of the state and helping communities help them selves.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

Our city became involved with the West Virginia Community Development HUB as a selected "Blueprint Community." The Blueprint Community initiative combines a local steering team of eight members, who receive off-site capacity training. A community coach is assigned by The HUB, to help facilitate program and project development to focus community energy. In our instance, four sub-groups have been created to address specific community-building issues. The sub-groups have individually prepared formalized planning and activity documents to ensure continuing work and program continuity. Under the leadership of Kent Spellman, The HUB and its capable staff have helped energize a lethargic small city. We anticipate that the 'boots on the ground' project work in our small city--coordinated with technical assistance from The HUB--will continue well into our future. I have no hesitation in endorsing the fine work of The HUB.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would encourage additional private and public funding for the work of this nonprofit organization, to comfortably and fully staff its community programs. Small cities simply lack the resources to assist The HUB with meaningful financial assistance.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

I have been involved with the WV Hub for over 5 yrs. My initial contact with them came when my community enrolled in the Community Development Training Program. We took a team of 8 people to learn and explore ways to help build our community from the ground up. The training was delivered in monthly meetings over a 10 month period. The format of the training allowed for both work and reflection between trainings. As a newcomer to my community, this training was the tool that I needed to be able to present my ideas in ways that would be received as helpful in my community. Since that time, I have used the skills that I learned through that training on a near daily basis.
I have also worked with the Hub through their WV Food and Farm Coalition. The Hub's early support of that project was instrumental in the development of a state-wide coalition of believers in the local food movement. The WVFFC has been instrumental in building a strong network of people seriously committed to making a difference for our farmers and our families.
I will continue to work with and rely on the Hub for their deep contributions to our communities across our state.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their reach.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

The WV Development HUB is a model for community engagement and empowerment for West Virginia. Over the years they have helped communities achieve and become leaders in the State. Collaboration and networking is a key to success and the WV HUB does this and more to build community capacity and civic engagement.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

The West Virginia Community Develop HUB is a wonderful resource for the state of West Virginia. They help communities work together to become stronger, more vibrant places to live; they bring different sectors of the state together around common goals; they provide guidance in finding resources to accomplish what communities want and need. And they do this while engaging and respecting diverse points of view.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

The WV Community Development HUB has organized several training sessions that I have attended. All trainings have been highly useful and have helped me connect with the community in my area in promoting local foods from local farms.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am not seeing areas that need change

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

The West Virginia Community development HUB does an excellent job of bring together government, business, non-profits and community leaders together to address the difficult issues facing West Virginia today.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

The WV Community Development HUB worked with the City of Williamson, WV in an effort called the Communities of Achievement Program (CAP) where our town had the opportunity to develop a Performance Agenda which helped us to reach several community development goals. The ongoing CAP training greatly enriched our process and encouraged partnerships and synergies with other cities in West Virginia.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We would not change our CAP experience, but would request that the City of Williamson continue to be on the radar with HUB as the organization grows. Our town would like to be a part of future trainings, micro- grant opportunities, and/or peer exhanges with cities in WV.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers