Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
April 26, 2013

more

April 26, 2013

I attended the West Texas Boys Ranch in 1978. I'm not sure how long I was there (I was 9) , but I have so many great memories of the ranch. From being Baptized to watching a wheel come off of our bus while heading to town to go to school. I can remember saying the Lords Prayer before every meal at the mess hall and washing dishes with one of the best pressure washer nozzles ever.
I rode my first "cow" at a competition and recall having to repair a water line that seemed like it was buried 30'. It was probably more like 30". I remember Mr. Stone (house parent), showing me how to make sinkers with his mold and then him taking us fishing. He didn't get to fish much with us around since he was showing us how to skip rocks. I recall having a rabbit that I had to care for so to take it to the 4H auction.
I'm hoping to get involved with the West Texas Boys Ranch to see if I can help at least one boy. I have 5 kids of my own, 21g, 19g, 8b, 5b & 5b. I think I still have a little to offer for the boys out at the Ranch and would also like to get my wife & boys involved some how.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I have worked with the West Texas Boys Ranch on a few different occasions throughout the past few months, and what an incredible organization it is. I was asked to speak at the chapel service one Sunday evening and thoroughly enjoyed being able to share my life experiences with the boys. Most of all the boys came and visited with me following the talk and thanked me for being there. Numerous boys told me what they gained from the speech or their favorite part. Afterwards, I got to tour one of the family homes and it was wonderful to see the boys take pride in their house telling me about their daily lives and responsibilities. I would do anything to help the boys out there. It is truly incredible to see them grow into responsible young men, with a solid Christian background. It is truly an incredible organization helping promote Christian values and encouraging the western way of life to young men in need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012

more

October 15, 2012

Being an employee at the ranch I've seen a lot of boys come and go, but I've also seen each of them change in a positive way. The impact that the ranch employees, volunteers, donors & board members have on each boy is magnificent. Some boys may not see it themselves immediately, but they eventually do and they're forever thankful of every lesson taught, every opportunity to become a better person & every ounce of love given to them. Our staff is amazing & I can't imagine where some of these boys would be if the ranch weren't here to guide, love & discipline them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I moved to West Texas Boy's Ranch in January 1993. I graduated from San Angelo Central HS in 1995 while living at the ranch. I lived at West Texas Boy's Ranch for and aditional year while I attended Howard College in San Angelo before joining the United States Marine Corps. when I first moved to West Texas Boy's Ranch I had failing grades and I had somewhat of a problem doing what adults were telling me to do. I am now a law enforcement officer and doing very well at life. I believe that West Texas Boy's Ranch gave me the tools that I needed to succeed in life. I believe in West Texas Boy's Ranch so much that I donate money to the ranch when I have extra money to give. Also as a law enforcement officer when I come into contact with parents that just don't know what to do when their son seems to be out of their control I give them the information to contact West Texas Boy's Ranch.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

I have been a West Texas Boys Ranch Board Member for a year and a half. Of all the non-profit organizations I have been involve with, the Boys Ranch is the best and has touched my heart. I have been very impressed with the Ranch Staff in their providing a Christian culture and environment in which to "Raise Boys...Build Men". I am privileged to serve on the Ranch Board of Directors with men and women dedicated to support this outstanding organization that affects and stabilizes the lives so many boys.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

As a past Board Member, watching the change in a young man's life as he grows in the unique environment of WTBR was one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. The rural ranch setting provides young men a different view of the world than most have ever seen. Having staff that recognize how to use this environment makes WTBR such a success.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2012

more

September 28, 2012

The West Texas Boys Ranch is a blessing to the boys who stay there,the staff and the community as a whole. We lived nearby and stopped often to make a donation or just see what was up. We even thought enough of them to donate our horse when we had to move from the area. They are wonderful people who more than fulfill their mission to change the lives of the boys there....God bless all of them!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Mac, I recently left the boys ranch after staying for a year. It is truly amazing how much I changed in the short time I was there. I changed my old ways and now am a completely new person. Even though it didn't seem like it at the time, looking back now I don't know where I would be in life if it wasn't for the Ranch. Plus the cottage parents make it feel like home to anyone.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

West Texas Boys Ranch is probably one of the most cost efficient operations in the Non Profit Industry. The services they provide to the boys there is nothing short of miraculous. Boys are truly turned into young men with a sound belief in the standards the brought America to the forefront of the world. That being a Christ filled life, a Modeled Family structure with a strong father and mother presence in the cottages, and a work ethic that teaches what you start you finish to the best of your ability. The boys attend school in Irion County and their school experiences are exceptional. West Texas Boys Ranch is truly a Texas Tradition that continues to help boys. All gifts will be put to good use and your gift will be spent wisely.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing young men change their lives

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money whereby they could continue providing for the boys they care for

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

None, time with the staff is rewarding and the boys are a true blessing

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Wonderful

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I had always heard of the WTBR from my childhood and knew it existed to serve boys that needed help but I never knew just what that meant until I was there on a retreat. The WTBR gave us a tour of one of the cottages that house 8 young boys. The houseparents live in the cottage and it is basically a home environment. There a huge dining room table where the boys and houseparents share meals. One of the boys even gave us a tour of his room. It had the basics, bed and a desk for homework. But what stuck out in my mind was that they had all the essential elements for survival, shelter, food and education, and yet they didn't have the excesses that we tend to give our own children. We live in a society where we are so materialistic and our children have so much, especially technical toys, computers, cell phones. WTBR does provides a computer in the family room. It was sort of like they were bringing the boys out of their rooms into the family room where they always had contact with each other. They also provided a strong christian environment. Today's families are so busy these days that sometimes we forget to enjoy each other as families and to practice our christian faith. We can all learn so much from WTBR; go back to the old way of living, putting family and God first.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers