Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1234.904765
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

West Park Cultural Center has provided excellent musical services for learners at The School of The Future. I had a pleasure collaborating with members of their organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

Incredible number of participants--what a huge endeavor. Gives opportunities for so many people of all ages to perform. Very enjoyable day.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

It was amazing, and I know many people in the event enjoyed it.  The young people in our group enjoyed themselves, and the mission of the event: engaging youth with high quality experiences of art was fully fulfilled , our team very appreciated this
unique opportunity you provided to us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring more culture are activities to the event

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 15, 2013

West Park Cultural Center is a great organization that helps children, youth, adults and families with access to arts & literacy through many different programs. They are truly helping change lives fo... more

June 27, 2014

I am so impressed with how many programs West Park Cultural Center offers and how many people whose needs they meet on such a slim budget. WPCC is an organization with after school and summer camp programs for children, a performing arts program that brings literature to life for high school students, an adult literacy program, a program that teaches English comprehension for students trying to enter into Philadelphia Community College but who cannot pass the English comprehension exams, and a stunningly beautiful day of arts and culture for the whole community. Their programs reach and touch the lives of 2,000 or more people a year, and all on a budget that is less than the administrative budgets for organizations that reach far fewer people -- less than $100,000 a year. But not only is WPCC able to provide so many different programs, they are also able to demonstrate positive results -- students in their programs have met AYP (Advanced Yearly Progress) while their classmates do not, young adults are able to pass college admission exams and enroll in school, and children are now more engaged in school with improved grades. It is a safe place for donors to give their money!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Professionally, I would help Wesst Park Cultural Center share their story with a wider audience, and help them market themselves to new donors. I trust and know they could do more with a little support, so I can imagine how much more they would be able to do if they have a greater level of support from increased donor revenue.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 15, 2013

West Park Cultural Center is a great organization that helps children, youth, adults and families with access to arts & literacy through many different programs. They are truly helping change lives for children and youth in an economically devastated community, and giving opportunities for youth and adults to stay in school or return to school. What I like most about West Park Cultural Center is how they are able to provide so many programs on such a small budget. They're programs include an after school arts program, a summer camp for children, literacy programs for high school students, an adult literacy and college readiness program, and their signature event each year is the Arts Fest attended by more than 1,500 people. And they do all of this with volunteers, a dedicated staff, and a budget that is less than the full-time salary of many nonprofit CEOs. I know that when I give to them that my dollars are going a long ways.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They just need to do a better job of letting people know they're there, and in getting in touch with more donors, so that they can expand their programs and help meet the needs of more children, youth and adults.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

I've been working with WPCC for the past 7 years, designing their graphics and promotional materials. I love these people, they're the most dedicated bunch of educators, community members and activists I've ever met.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make their posters less crowded. :)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 21, 2013

more

November 21, 2013

I recently worked with the West Park Cultural Center, teaching visual arts in their Ginkgo Academy Summer Program. The level of commitment and dedication I witnessed there was truly inspiring. From the director to the volunteers from the community, there were so many passionate adults concerned with helping these young artists. I've never experienced such a unique program--set in beautiful Fairmount Park, it was a delight to see the children learn and grow from the surrounding nature. Leading the kids in art projects, working with my fellow instructors and camp directors, I felt that each day was a step towards success in the development of every child. I think about those friends all the time, and know that they had a truly memorable and impactful summer at Ginkgo Academy.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I first got involved with the West Park Cultural Center about three years ago. I was a new transplant to the Parkside Community and found them hosting a large outdoor Arts Festival. They had music, dance, acrobatics, art, drummers and much much more. I was very excited to see the arts alive in the Parkside area. I asked a few questions and found out that all of this was hosted by the West Park Cultural Center. This was not just a one shot deal; this is a group that is deeply imbedded in the Parkside Community. They sponsor GED classes, basic education classes, computer, art and music classes and they run a six week Arts camp for kids from the community during the summer. And let’s not forget their biggest event, the West Park Arts Fest, which is an annual event that is held every June in the Parkside community. From my experiences with the organization I’m certain that the WPCC truly has a positive effect on the residents of Parkside. Well Done!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I worked with this non-profit as a teaching artist the past few years. They truly care about the students and strive to not only provide them with safe, fun, and edifying after school activities, but they even find ways of enriching daytime classrooms with the arts in ways that help the students to achieve more than they would have otherwise! One amazing example of this is when they hired actors to attend an english class and perform scenes from the book that the class was currently reading! This organization is wonderful, and they will continue to inspire, and positively change the lives of young people, for as long as they are in operation!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

The West Park Cultural Center has an amazing program that I have benefited from directly. As a former student of the program I can definitely say that being apart of West Park has changed my life for the better. I received free music lessons and arts education while enrolled in the program through a partnership that they had and still currently have with my old high school. West Park was instrumental in my decision to pursue a career in music and since my graduation from the program I have been selected to be on the board of directors. I am currently a working musician and i attribute most of my current success to what I learned while enrolled in WPCC's program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more funding!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My life has been changed by my involvement with West Park Cultural Center as its current program manager. The strengths of this small but mighty organization are its ability to encourage the growth and creativity of each participant to flourish, and to draw upon the passion and vision of everyone to bring to fruition our mutual goals. We have found many like-minded partners throughout the arts and cultural community In Philadelphia and together have created some of the most satisfying programming ever. We have been able to impact many people through these collaborative efforts, which range from illuminating texts in English classrooms by skillful theater artists dramatizing fictional literature or plays, to allowing student performers to shine on public stages at our annual Arts Fest. The professionals who have joined them on those stages have truly been amazing, both as gifted examples and mentors and have enjoyed sharing themselves with us because of our shared vision. Our work is based on serving and reflecting the community, which is shown by the wonderful mix of ages, races and backgrounds that we serve in our programming. We have provided afterschool arts classes open to all ages and the community, classroom enrichment that reached every student through their English classrooms, and adult education from basic literacy through GED. Best of all, we have actually changed lives and given hope to young people who had doors opened for them that they never even knew existed before we brought them right to the threshold, and invited them to enter. Some of our students were the first in their families to graduate high school, and attend college, and will tell you that they would never have done that without our work.
We believe that art transforms lives, and have had the pleasure of seeing that at work and finding ways to make that happen.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get our story out to more people, so that we can find more funding to ensure that more people will benefit, for many more years.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

be an assistant in our afterschool ceramics class; help support outreach efforts; assist during our summer arts and nature camp; help with photo and video documentation of programs and the West Park Arts Fest; and much more... Volunteer