Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
487 Reviews
1234.952775
Write A Review
October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

Going through Breast Cancer treatment is hard enough. But when you have others that understand what your feeling makes coping a little easier. The therapy sessions that I attended helped me through this very difficult time and allowed me to express my inner most thoughts. The women I have met have been great and the entire staff is wonderful. The classes that are offered to us like yoga, help heal us both physically and mentally. To have a local center that offers so many services to women going through cancer is a contributing factor to all of our healing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes at this time, everything is wonderful

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

I have breast cancer and am on a very limited budget,so the free services at WESPARK are a lifesaver, LITERALLY. I take yoga classes every week, and have tried tai-chi and energy balancing. I also use their in house therapist for the psychological problems cancer has created in my life. It is relaxing and clean, and everyone is so helpful!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not. It is perfect!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

I was diagnosed with breast cancer in May and have utilized many of the services at WeSpark; support group, yoga, reflexology, LookGoodFeelBetter, and more. What a great resource. They have also made excellent recommendations to outside professionals (acupuncturist, psychologist).

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

My mother was diagnosed with breast cancer, a few years ago. I was luckily at a new therapist and I saw a brochure and I did research on it. They offer wonderful services for the entire family since it does affect all involved. My mother has attend a few classes and so have I, it is great to offer this and most of the classes are donation only. This is a wonderful place and this place should shine since what they do really comes from the heart.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

I was a client a few years ago in one of their grief support groups. Lost my wife to breast cancer in 2009. I remembered meeting Nancy Allen years before and still had her card. I called when I felt I needed help with my grief. They were so supportive and the group I was in was a very close and compassionate group.

Nancy Allen is the best. I try and donate to them when I can and attend some of their events. This is an A number one group.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more


3 previous reviews - show all
April 8, 2013

I humbly request that weSPARK Cancer Support Center be considered for the highest of the 2013 Top Rated Awards. weSPARK is a treasure in the San Fernando Valley! They offer support in a huge variety o... more

September 30, 2013

weSPARK Cancer Support Center has touched the lives of so many people living with cancer or caregiving someone with cancer. I am not the support group type, yet weSPARK has so many options for people like me, a survivor who prefers things like yoga and qigong classes, or one-on-one sessions with healers and acupuncturists, all free of charge.

The San Fernando Valley is blessed to have such an innovative caring non-profit organization in our backyard! Thank you weSPARK!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

I humbly request that weSPARK Cancer Support Center be considered for the highest of the 2013 Top Rated Awards. weSPARK is a treasure in the San Fernando Valley! They offer support in a huge variety of ways, from specific groups, to Qigong, Yoga and Tai-Chi, to one on one encounters with experts who share their talents with cancer patients, their families, and caregivers. I cannot imagine how I would have gotten through the last 8 years of my life without them...

Although there are many different support groups offered at weSPARK, I'm not the "support group" type. Instead, I focus on classes in Qigong, Stress Release and other Meditations, Restorative Yoga and especially the one on one sessions with many fine healers who give so much to weSPARK. I deeply benefit from numerous Infinichi Qigong sessions, enjoy the gentle touch of Reiki practioners, and am soothed by the experienced hands of a master acupuncturist.

At this point in history I doubt there is anyone who hasn't been touched by cancer in some way, either personally, someone in the family, or a friend. If you are one of those people and you live anywhere near the San Fernando Valley, I highly recommend you visit weSPARK and join or help in whatever way you can.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 28, 2012

weSPARK has helped me for many years now. They offer so many valuable activities and one-on-one experiences with a variety of talented and caring facilitators. Post surgery and during chemotherapy, I attended restorative yoga and qi-gong classes which not only relaxed me during class, but also allowed me to learn what to do to help myself at home. I've had many appointments with different counselors, energy healers, reiki healers, accupuncture professionals - all caring and helpful people who helped me heal inside and out. Realizing that you are not alone and that others have your same "hair style" makes coping with a serious illness easier, plus you find new friends who really understand what you are going through. I don't really know what I would have done without weSPARK - so I cannot say strongly enough - THANK YOU weSPARK for all your help and care and open door.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2009

It's difficult to put into words the effect that WeSPARK had on my well being and spirit during the most difficult time of my life. Although they have all the typical "group" scenarios available for their members, they have the perfect combination of activities to suit everyone.

I found compassion, empathy, great friends, and new ways of being from the Qi-Gong and Yoga classes. I rekindled my love and affection for horses with their classes in Equine Therapy. The one on one sessions with Energy Healers and Reiki Healers were beyond compare.

In my humble opinion WeSPARK is the Number One Cancer Support Center. I am honored to be a member and to have such good care and I recommend this organization to anyone who needs their help.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my own road to recovery from near death. I am now back to normal and must thank WeSPARK for their role in my recuperation.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

September 30, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 29, 2010

My husband was diagnosed with Leukemia in 2003, leaving me to raise 3 small children. This organization has been a god send. They love my children dearly while looking out for me and my well-being. (E... more

September 30, 2013

We spark is a godsend for anyone struggling with cancer. The staff are all warm, welcoming, and caring and have supported and loved my children through this difficult journey.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 29, 2010

My husband was diagnosed with Leukemia in 2003, leaving me to raise 3 small children. This organization has been a god send. They love my children dearly while looking out for me and my well-being. (Entered by GreatNonprofits staff member from paper review on behalf of reviewer)

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the way my children are able to talk about and share their feelings about what they are going through.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the caring staff and the way they go out of their way to help my family in every way.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

caring, warm, loving and supportive.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

share this gift with even more families by opening more centers.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

We Spark is a wonderful resource for people who are battling cancer. It provides support and a forum where people with cancer can get help. It is a great resource center, providing access information for assistance and support services. Everyone is so warm and generous providing a safe and loving environment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I am so greatful that I was directed to we spark in 2010. I was diagnosed with Waldenstroms Macroglobulinemia and scared to death about what the future held. I joined the mens group, and over the last three years I have been amazed at how my attitude and outlook have changed. The other men in the group display strength and honesty about their condition, which helps me to gain insight and also helps me to focus on the moment and has taught me to be more loving and aware about what really is important in my life, my wife, children and grandchildren . Steve, our fearless leader is so informed about the cancer community and the lastest and greatest innovations, that I feel assured about being able to fight the good battle with his and the group members help. The other services like massage therapy and hypnosis are super. Can't say enough good things about We Spark...love the people and and the services. Alan B.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I am a hypnotherapist and guided imagery facilitator. Once a month I volunteer with the children of WeSpark to guide them through journeys that relieve stress, build confidence, and assist in imagining positive bright futures. WeSpark Cancer Support Center provides a wonderful environment for cancer patients, families, and caregivers to receive wonderful, healing, healthful services, free of charge that assist in empowering these people in their journeys.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers