Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
May 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Creating change requires leadership from the top -- a dream and passion married to practicality and an ability to inspire others. Barbara Goldberg epitomizes these traits as she has created from nothing -- the opportunity for clean accessible water to the poorest country in Africa. Her nonprofit makes a difference in the daily lives particulalry of women and children while bringing out the best in her extrordinary volunteer team. WBS is a national model and inspiration. Yes, one person can still make a difference.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I learned about WBH a few years ago from a fellow cancer survivor who had just returned from a trip to Niger. I was heart broken hearing the stories about the extreme hardship in Niger,the poorest country in the world. As is true in much of the developing world, women seem to pay the biggest price. In response, my family decided to fund a well a year. My 12 year old son also decided to start his own water circle.

i have seen many nonprofits over the years where you send in your contribution and there is no accountability for how it is spent. We have ceased supporting these organizations as dollars are spent on questionable activities. WBH, on the other hand, is 100% about transparency. You send money, fund a well or a portion of a well and you know how it is sent, building a well. Nothing you donate is taken for salaries or administrative overhead, there is a separate grant for that. And even more compelling, World Vision matches every $ of your donation to install the well, provide sanitary bathroom facilities for the village, provide education to the villagers. They then work with the villages for 15 years to ensure the villages are thriving.

There is so much extreme wealth in our world and I am regularly shocked about how money is thrown away on material things. A great cause and a dynamic executive director in Barbara Goldberg who has truly devoted her being to this organization and saving lives.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Wells Bring Hope is a great foundation with nothing but the want/need to help the people of Niger Africa at their core!
All donations go 100% directly to drilling/installing water wells in Niger, what an impact in the 2nd poorest country in the world!
It's a fantastic organization with
fantastic people at the helm!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Having access to pure water is crucially important all over the developing world. As a photojournalist, I have documented the fundamental impact pure water has---for people living with HIV/AIDs, for girls' education, for family health, and more. Already having created almost 200 wells, WELLS BRING HOPE, which was founded by passionate, visionary leaders, has already improved life immeasurably in West Africa. The organization is focused and effective. It's an honor to support them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more money!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

How can one look at the faces of the women and children of Niger and not be touched by their spirit and beauty? I found myself drawn to them and moved to help them in the best way possible, by donating to Wells Bring Hope. I have learned that this organization is truly committed to assisting the communities of Niger by providing reliable sources of clean water. As a nurse experienced in medicine in the developing world, I know very well how safe drinking water can transform the health of entire communities. Secondly by freeing women to develop their talents and providing them with small business loans empowers them to provide for their families and strengthen their neighborhoods. I feel honored to share, in some small way, in their achievements.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 4, 2012

more

April 4, 2012

My donation to Wells Bring Hope in July 2010 provided the seed funding for a water well (and sanitation) for a village in desperate need in Niger. I am honored to be involved with Wells Bring Hope, and it is deeply gratifying to know how many lives are saved and vastly improved (especially those of women and girls) through the committed efforts and partnership between WBH and World Vision. I look forward to many years of supporting WBH, traveling to Niger to see firsthand the vital work being accomplished, and to helping the organization flourish. This is truly a wonderful and genuine group of people to be associated with.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

... knowing the impact it has made on so many lives. My involvement has profoundly reshaped my perspective about water, and influenced my personal consumption patterns and awareness.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Lynly’s Water Circle (at Wells Bring Hope) was created as an enduring testament to the spirit and love of my late wife, Lynly, and to the goodness that continues to flow from her life. Tragically, Lynly succumbed to metastatic breast cancer in April 2010 after waging a grueling and courageous battle. It has been the great privilege of my life to know and love Lynly as her best friend and husband for twenty years, and to have experienced the conviction of her love in return. Following Lynly’s death, I searched for meaningful ways to pay tribute to her that were consistent with her passions and beliefs. She died at peace with her path, having settled upon her answers to some of life’s great mysteries. One in particular that remained unresolved though, was her deep dismay at the enormity of human suffering and deprivation in the developing world — where so many are born without ever having a chance in life due to dire conditions. Lynly was especially sympathetic to the plight of women and girls in developing Africa, so supporting Wells Bring Hope in her honor to increase villager’s access to clean, safe water has proven to be a wonderful tribute to her. On August 15, 2010, a well, funded in Lynly’s honor, was drilled in the small village of Guidan Karo in the Chadakori region of Niger. This event was a blessing that transformed the life of an entire village overnight. Now the process of gathering funds for a second well in Lynly’s honor, for another village in desperate need, has begun. Over time, Lynly’s Water Circle page will provide details on what we’re doing to raise funding for this project, and ways that you can contribute. I invite you to join me in supporting this very meaningful humanitarian project as a tribute to Lynly." www.Lynly.org and www.WaterCircle.org

Why did you make your donation at this time?

In honor of my late wife (see above).

What would you tell others about this organization?

Becoming involved with Wells Bring Hope will enrich your life immeasurably.

March 15, 2012

more

March 15, 2012

There are so many charities out there with convincing mission statements and important goals that it can be very difficult to choose which ones to support. When I found Wells Bring Hope, I knew at once that this is a charity that I will support long-term. The fact that 100% of donations go directly to drilling wells is great, but is even more impressive is that every donor dollar is multiplied five times through Wells Bring Hope's partnership with World Vision. The life-changing work that Wells Bring Hope does combined with the fact that my donation goes five times as far as it would anywhere else sealed the deal for me. I will be a life-long supporter of this inspiring organization!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

My donations to Wells Bring Hope were used to drill two wells in Niger, West Africa. It is very gratifying to know that these funds were matched and that their partner, World Vision, safe guards the investment, remaining in these villages for fifteen to twenty years. This non-profit clearly is a committed and worthy organization serving a primary human need. I’d recommend them to anyone hoping to support a water charity that serves some of the most neediest among us.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the process of getting news that two new wells were drilled in Niger. My son is very involved with their work and found their President, Barbara Goldberg to be delightful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

recruit more older adults who care about this type of cause and would benefit from having something worthwhile to do with their time.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers