Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
August 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 24, 2013

I learned about WBH a few years ago from a fellow cancer survivor who had just returned from a trip to Niger. I was heart broken hearing the stories about the extreme hardship in Niger,the poorest cou... more

August 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Wells Bring Hope is a nonprofit drilling water well in Niger. West Africa, one of the poorest countries in the world,

Clean water transforms villages.

Every dollar donated to WBH goes 100% to a well - no money is used for administrative expenses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I learned about WBH a few years ago from a fellow cancer survivor who had just returned from a trip to Niger. I was heart broken hearing the stories about the extreme hardship in Niger,the poorest country in the world. As is true in much of the developing world, women seem to pay the biggest price. In response, my family decided to fund a well a year. My 12 year old son also decided to start his own water circle.

i have seen many nonprofits over the years where you send in your contribution and there is no accountability for how it is spent. We have ceased supporting these organizations as dollars are spent on questionable activities. WBH, on the other hand, is 100% about transparency. You send money, fund a well or a portion of a well and you know how it is sent, building a well. Nothing you donate is taken for salaries or administrative overhead, there is a separate grant for that. And even more compelling, World Vision matches every $ of your donation to install the well, provide sanitary bathroom facilities for the village, provide education to the villagers. They then work with the villages for 15 years to ensure the villages are thriving.

There is so much extreme wealth in our world and I am regularly shocked about how money is thrown away on material things. A great cause and a dynamic executive director in Barbara Goldberg who has truly devoted her being to this organization and saving lives.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am so pleased to have stumbled across Wells Bring Hope. What drew me into the organization was its mission to help communities in Niger through drilling wells, and giving the gift of water. It is rare to find an organization where 100% of donations go to drilling wells.

I decided last
year to volunteer with them and I plan to, for many years to come. The volunteers at WBH are genuinely concerned for the cause and share my passion for help. It is so great to volunteer with such like-minded people and see how much each person cares for the project. Through my work with WBH I feel as though I contribute something of value to the organization as well as the cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It is my pleasure to give 5-stars to Wells Bring Hope! They are doing immensely important work by providing clean water to villages in Africa. The wells they drill give immediate help to the people and especially to the girls whose job is to fetch the water (often from a long distance away from the village). The organization is run by volunteers who care deeply and they have an outstanding ratio of charitable dollars donated to dollars spent on administration.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Creating change requires leadership from the top -- a dream and passion married to practicality and an ability to inspire others. Barbara Goldberg epitomizes these traits as she has created from nothing -- the opportunity for clean accessible water to the poorest country in Africa. Her nonprofit makes a difference in the daily lives particulalry of women and children while bringing out the best in her extrordinary volunteer team. WBS is a national model and inspiration. Yes, one person can still make a difference.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Through a friend I learned that an organization called Wells Bring Hope was establishing a club at my school, UCLA. I began to look into the organization and immediately wanted to get involved in any way I could. The more I learn about and volunteer for the this organization, the more I see how absolutely wonderful WBH is. WBH does life changing work in one of the poorest countries in the world. It drills wells, bringing clean water rural villages in Niger. With almost 200 wells built WBH is dedicated to the mission that everyone should have access to clean water. I feel unbelievably blessed to be a part of this organization and plan to continue to be involved throughout college and beyond.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am the webmaster for Wellsbringhope and I think it is a great cause.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think the organization is great the way it is.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I stumbled across Wells Bring Hope through a general volunteering opportunity search, and was instantly blown away by its cause, its message, and its approach. In all respects, WBH is a fantastic nonprofit -- I could tell immediately that volunteers gave their hearts, minds, and experience completely to the effort.

The cause is crucial and underserved -- providing safe water and sanitation practices to the poorest countries in the world is absolutely fundamental, and has the greatest ability to improve quality of life. Goodbye deadly water-borne diseases! And girls can finally go to school, instead of spending their days fetching water!

But wells are just the beginning. One of the outstanding things about WBH is that it has an entire program built around each well -- a well is great, but WBH and its partner, World Vision, provide the means and education to repair the wells, improve sanitation practices, and help women begin small business endeavors with microfinancing programs.

Moreover, it is very clear that not only does WBH wish to change lives, but to do so responsibly. Many nonprofits rush into their efforts without thinking fully about the proper way to implement their well-intentioned plans. WBH utilizes the best practices and best partners, ensuring that donation money accomplishes exactly what it is meant to, and that wells stay functional for many years to come.

For my part, I've been a volunteer with WBH for a few months now, and from the start felt like a true member of the team. Helping out never feels like work when you're part of an amazing organization -- Wells Bring Hope is exactly that.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Wells Bring Hope is such an amazing charity that functions above the majority in their passion, dedication, and transparency.

I became aware of Wells Bring Hope through a friend who volunteers for the foundation. After hearing a little bit about what they do and their dedication to not
only building, but maintaining wells in Niger, the poorest country in the world, I decided I wanted to get involved as well.

The founder, Barbara Goldberg, was gracious and thorough in explaining what they do. She not only has the passion, but more importantly the foresight of what really needed to happen in order to help create a better life for the Nigerian people. That is why they not only build wells, but continue helping the villages for 15 plus years as well as give micro-loans to women so they can create productive work for themselves.

Having gone to Africa and witnessing the lack of water within villages. Ive seen how women have to walk half a day through the hot sun in order to get their daily water and how sometimes that water can kill their babies because it's so contaminated. I'm not trying to be melodramatic. I'm simply saying it's a huge problem and Wells Bring Hope can be the solution for many villages. That's why their funding is so important. Not only does 100% of their contributions go directly to building wells, but every dollar donated is matched by World Vision.

Please help Wells Bring Hope continue to do the amazing work that they do by selecting them as one of the Great Nonprofits' top 3 charities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Wells Bring Hope is a great foundation with nothing but the want/need to help the people of Niger Africa at their core!
All donations go 100% directly to drilling/installing water wells in Niger, what an impact in the 2nd poorest country in the world!
It's a fantastic organization with
fantastic people at the helm!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Having access to pure water is crucially important all over the developing world. As a photojournalist, I have documented the fundamental impact pure water has---for people living with HIV/AIDs, for girls' education, for family health, and more. Already having created almost 200 wells, WELLS BRING HOPE, which was founded by passionate, visionary leaders, has already improved life immeasurably in West Africa. The organization is focused and effective. It's an honor to support them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more money!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers