Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

Having lived close to the Guajira Peninsula in Venezuela for the majority of my life, I know first hand the hardships that the Wayuu community faces. The region is one of the poorest in Latin America and its inhabitants often have little hope for the future because of limited education and work opportunities. Before The Wayuu Taya Foundation, one child was dying a day because of dehydration, starvation, and no sanitation.

This is why I am such an avid supporter of The Wayuu Taya Foundation. The organization has been working hard for the last 10 years to create better opportunities for the Wayuu community and indigenous communities in the Amazon. Through their health and nutritional programs, schools, and projects for economic and gender empowerment, The Wayuu Taya Foundation has been able to do what was previously thought possible - improve the lives of thousands of indigenous people in Latin America.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

I started volunteering about three and a half years ago, and I absolutely love the team! I love how committed they are, and how truly genuine their goals are. I always wanted to be part of an organization that actually "cared"... now I am.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

The Wayuu Taya Foundation is an exceptional non-profit with an endless dedication to supporting the lives of indigenous peoples. The foundation's stance on protecting indigenous traditions and beliefs truly stands out, especially in an increasingly more globalized world where cultural traditions and values slowly become lost to widespread global influences. The Susu bags sold by the Wayuu Taya Foundation are not only beautiful and remarkable in design and quality, but they also emblemize the hard work and dedication of the indigenous women who continue to hand-sew the bags as a way of carrying on their tribe's bag-making tradition. The organization also provides medical and educational services, and its unique approach to education allows children to take classes in their native language and maintain a sense of cultural heritage. I cannot stress how beautiful the organization is, nor how many lives it has impacted for the better. The Wayuu Taya Foundation is not only unique, but also an outstanding example of a truly high-class organization in today's non-profit sector.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

WT Foundation is an amazing organization that works very hard in providing a better life for indigenous communities in Latin America. For a small NGO they have done a tremendous job in creating awareness about communities and their ways of life and most importantly, the problems and issues they face. They also have created a name for themselves and the Wayuu women who sew the beautiful Susu bags sold in store nation wide and abroad. It has been an honor to know WT and the people that work there as they are truly committed to what they do and to making the world a better place!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I have volunteered my time and efforts for the Wayuu Taya foundation a number of times and I have never met a more honest and committed and passionate group of people. It stems from the founder, Patricia Velasquez, who I've known for years to be as driven and as passionate as the people who involve themselves in her foundation. Wayuu Taya truly cares about this group of indigenous people who lack so much - basic things such as water, food, education, health care. They provide for these needs thru fundraising and volunteer work and I have been happy to be a part of that. There is a yearly event in NY and it is not only fun fun fun, it's moving and inspiring because results are shown and these indigenous people's lives are truly changed - just amazing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

The Wayuu Taya Foundation has made in its years of existence more positive work for the Venezuelan natives or indigenous of that region, than any other government in that country. It is one of the few foundations that work hard to keep indigenous children in good health, good education, in harmony, access to technological conveniences that other children can not get elsewhere. Lessons related with better health, care and environment have been increased for mothers of the region. The WTF has supported these women that made its beautiful handbags, and helped to sold in reputable stores in USA, that also help the Foundation. The objectives of the Wayuu Taya Foundation haven´t failed.

If ever I have seen other foundations to fight so hard, the Foundation Wayuu Taya, directed by actress and philanthropist Patricia Velasquez and her courageous team have done a beautiful and magnificent job. I am proud to all of them. I hope WTF continues to grow for its goals, and also for the world's indigenous children well-being.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I have been in a few non-profit organisations in my life, and Wayuu Taya Foundation is the best one I know of where the people serving the foundation actually do get thiings done. They are active not only in the boardroom but on the terrain. Patricia Velásquez is doing a tremendous good job behind the scenes and actively helping these people. Chris

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

It's best to charity what I know. I like to see many South American Indians have a better life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I have indigenous roots . I have seen over the years the extraordinary work that The Wayuu Taya Foundation is doing . From building school ,feeding children ,giving opportunities to the community to become self sustainable . Just amazing .

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers