Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.916675
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

I have volunteered for Waypoint for more than 25 years as a donor and member of the Board of Director's and Board of Trustees. I have seen changes in volunteers, leadership and staff but the thing that has always remained the same is Waypoints' passion to fulfill the mission of serving women and their families during times of crisis. 25 years ago we were focused mostly on fitness. We now provide quality day care with a sliding fee scale, a homeless shelter for women and their children and advocate for victims of domestic violence as well as many ancillary services. I am proud and honored to be associated with such a wonderful organization for over a quarter of a century.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

I have served on the Board of Directors at Waypoint for 5 years and have been a volunteer with the organization since 2004. I have heard many stories from the women and families helped by Waypoint. The staff is dedicated, professional and innovative. I am proud to be associated with this nonprofit!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

I was on the board for 8+ years, served as President, and was always impressed with the dedication of the staff. I often thought that the Board may be the "head", but the staff is the heart. Waypoint serves families by strengthening them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

I was on the board for 6 years, served as board president for one year. The staff consistently showed the highest level of service, dedication, compassion and love for all of the clients they served. They touched, and enhanced, the lives of so many. During an open house tour of the transitional residential facility a little girl proudly showed me "her home" and "her bed", undoubtedly the nicest and safest place she had lived in quite awhile. The staff continually looks for ways to leverage resources to provide the maximum amount of service possible within their financial constraints and realities. Kudos to Liz and all of her staff!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

As both a board member and parent of two young children in Waypoint's daycare program, I am impressed every day with the level of commitment and dedication that Waypoint's staff--top to bottom--has. We know our children are in great hands every day and are continuously impressed with the childcare staff's loyalty and genuine concern for our children's wellbeing. As a board member, I had many opportunities to observe the senior executive team in action. It is clear that Waypoint's staff is constantly focused on providing excellent service to its clients and our community. We are lucky to have this organization providing critical services in our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

My first experience with Waypoint was as a volunteer for the "Waypoint Wonderland Gift Gala" back in 2006. I can still remember how meaningful it was for me as a mid-20 something, with a good job and lots of family support to spend all afternoon wrapping gifts and talking with women who were so grateful that they were going to be able to provide gifts for their children during the holidays. Waypoint Services provides a critical safety net for women and families who have fallen on tough times, been the victims of domestic violence or who just need a little extra support. Now six years later, I'm proud to be volunteering for my fourth year as a Waypoint Wonderland volunteer and just finishing up my first year on the board of directors. When my mom moved to iowa in 2009, she became a program assistant at Waypoint's shelter and through her experiences, I've gotten to know even more about the organization and the key role that it plays in giving women a chance to provide for their families and exit unhealthy relationships. It is truly a life-changing place!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I have had the privilege of serving on the Waypoint board of directors for almost six years. One of the key reasons I wanted to be involved with this organization centered around their Domestic Violence and Sexual Assualt programs. I was born to a victim of date rape so many years ago that the term "date rape" had not yet been coined. Thankfully my birth mother chose to carry me full term and I was adopted three days later. I will never be able to thank her enough for giving me life, nor will I ever be able to fully understand what she went through emotionally and physically in the aftermath of such an ugly event. When I learned about Waypoint's DV/SA efforts and initiatives, I knew I wanted to help in whatever way I could. Waypoint has DV/SA advocates on staff and several trained volunteers who offer support to crime victims by providing 24-hour critical services and ongoing support and guidance to those who are survivors of domestic and dating violence, sexual assault, rape, incest and adolescent sexual abuse. Here are some statistics from 2011 that validate the phenomenal work Waypoint Services does in our community:
• Served 1,772 new victims of violence
• Local and toll free crisis lines: 3,399 calls
• Facilitate weekly support groups and children’s support groups to 407 participants
• One-on-one counseling by appointment or walk-in: 727 participants
• Legal advocacy - 101 participants
• Criminal justice advocacy - 58 participants
• Medical advocacy with victims at area hospitals – 124 served
Waypoint truly gives women in our community hope when they feel there is none ... a place to stay and be safe when they don't know where else to turn ... and the tools they need to begin a fresh start.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

As a volunteer and board member of Waypoint, I can assure you that I've consistently witnessed the positive impact this organization has on the community. The mission of helping women, children and families is acted out every day by associates that genuinely care about the clients they serve. The child care program is the largest in the community and provides child care services on a sliding scale when affordabiity is an issue. Throughout the county and now, the state, Waypoint has taken a lead role in homelessness and housing services through administering grants, using case management vs. sheltering, and partnering with other homeless shelters to share our best practicies. The domestic violence and sexual assault services, also using a case management approach, continue to lead the state's initiatives despite state program cuts. The ingenuity of the directors of each of these programs is demonstrated every time the programs face any fiscal challenges. My famiy and I will always be devoted to Waypoint's mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Waypoint Services provides a critical service to our community. The critical services that Waypoint provides- Domestic Violence, homelessness and childcare assistance are critical to ensuring that our community has the necessary resources to help people out. The staff at Waypoint are great and they always are mission driven.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers