Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.916675
| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review
November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

My first experience with Waypoint was as a volunteer for the "Waypoint Wonderland Gift Gala" back in 2006. I can still remember how meaningful it was for me as a mid-20 something, with a good job and lots of family support to spend all afternoon wrapping gifts and talking with women who were so grateful that they were going to be able to provide gifts for their children during the holidays. Waypoint Services provides a critical safety net for women and families who have fallen on tough times, been the victims of domestic violence or who just need a little extra support. Now six years later, I'm proud to be volunteering for my fourth year as a Waypoint Wonderland volunteer and just finishing up my first year on the board of directors. When my mom moved to iowa in 2009, she became a program assistant at Waypoint's shelter and through her experiences, I've gotten to know even more about the organization and the key role that it plays in giving women a chance to provide for their families and exit unhealthy relationships. It is truly a life-changing place!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I have had the privilege of serving on the Waypoint board of directors for almost six years. One of the key reasons I wanted to be involved with this organization centered around their Domestic Violence and Sexual Assualt programs. I was born to a victim of date rape so many years ago that the term "date rape" had not yet been coined. Thankfully my birth mother chose to carry me full term and I was adopted three days later. I will never be able to thank her enough for giving me life, nor will I ever be able to fully understand what she went through emotionally and physically in the aftermath of such an ugly event. When I learned about Waypoint's DV/SA efforts and initiatives, I knew I wanted to help in whatever way I could. Waypoint has DV/SA advocates on staff and several trained volunteers who offer support to crime victims by providing 24-hour critical services and ongoing support and guidance to those who are survivors of domestic and dating violence, sexual assault, rape, incest and adolescent sexual abuse. Here are some statistics from 2011 that validate the phenomenal work Waypoint Services does in our community:
• Served 1,772 new victims of violence
• Local and toll free crisis lines: 3,399 calls
• Facilitate weekly support groups and children’s support groups to 407 participants
• One-on-one counseling by appointment or walk-in: 727 participants
• Legal advocacy - 101 participants
• Criminal justice advocacy - 58 participants
• Medical advocacy with victims at area hospitals – 124 served
Waypoint truly gives women in our community hope when they feel there is none ... a place to stay and be safe when they don't know where else to turn ... and the tools they need to begin a fresh start.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

As a volunteer and board member of Waypoint, I can assure you that I've consistently witnessed the positive impact this organization has on the community. The mission of helping women, children and families is acted out every day by associates that genuinely care about the clients they serve. The child care program is the largest in the community and provides child care services on a sliding scale when affordabiity is an issue. Throughout the county and now, the state, Waypoint has taken a lead role in homelessness and housing services through administering grants, using case management vs. sheltering, and partnering with other homeless shelters to share our best practicies. The domestic violence and sexual assault services, also using a case management approach, continue to lead the state's initiatives despite state program cuts. The ingenuity of the directors of each of these programs is demonstrated every time the programs face any fiscal challenges. My famiy and I will always be devoted to Waypoint's mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Waypoint Services provides a critical service to our community. The critical services that Waypoint provides- Domestic Violence, homelessness and childcare assistance are critical to ensuring that our community has the necessary resources to help people out. The staff at Waypoint are great and they always are mission driven.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers