Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.941185
Write A Review
October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

I had a chance to help create a short video about WAVES and Lobitos a few years ago. My experience with everyone involved in the organization was nothing short of world class. The people at WAVES genuinely care about their mission, the kids, and continue to keep their long term vision in mind. It is the combined efforts of organizations like this around thew world that will slowly help plant educational seeds in the minds of the kids that will someday be running these communities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more WAVES communities!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

Lobitos is an amazing place! Although it is just a small town situated in the desert, it is a magical place, capable of capturing the hearts of all those who visit. Our stay was limited to just over a week, but we immediately felt welcomed and the whole town knew who we were and why we were there within the first few days. The whole trip screamed adventure – from bungalow style rooms, to riding in the back of 'la bestia', to the viringo who became an instant friend and loyal companion. Not to mention, the children are amazing! Our time with Waves was very well spent, and we have been trying to coordinate another trip down there as soon as possible!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 5, 2012

I volunteered in Peru in 2011 and this experience has completely changed my life. I feel like I received the most benefit from the experience than anything else. It is a total game-changer to travel ... more

October 8, 2013

My experience in Lobitos with Waves for Development changed my life. Although the mission of the organization is to benefit the community (Lobitos) in which surf travel happens, it truly is a mutually beneficial relationship where I believe the volunteer becomes the most enriched in the end. I returned to the US with an appreciation for developing communities and an intense appreciation for my family. The enthusiasm and values of the people of Lobitos are completely admirable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2012

I volunteered in Peru in 2011 and this experience has completely changed my life. I feel like I received the most benefit from the experience than anything else. It is a total game-changer to travel to a third world village that seemingly has nothing and yet the people are perfectly content and unbelievably warm and hospitable to all of the volunteers. This experience gave me a new lease on life. I ultimately came home empowered and motivated to stop feeling sorry for myself and to make some changes within myself. Ever since my return. I've volunteered locally for the organization because I believe so passionately in its mission, but more so in the evolution volunteers experience within themselves. I wish everyone could experience my experience and I continue to sing it through the roof. I am forever grateful to this organization and they are hands down one of the best nonprofits.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I volunteered with WAVES three years ago in 2009. I am currently writing this in Lima at the beginning of hopefully a ten month stay with the charity. I think this stands as testament to the effect the place has on you. Once you have visited you do not forget it and will likely move mountains to get back!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

No better organization to surf and make a difference with. Very thoughtful in their approach with communities and very few surf sites offer such an experience for the volunteers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Lobitos, Peru. Hotter than hell one minute, cold as the Pacific rushing into your wetsuit the next. Don't expect electricity or TP or even water enough to flush the toilet after every use. Buses may come, or you will be walking, and the unforgetable memory will not be what you experience as cuisine but the satisfaction of knowing what piping in a water supply for the Community Center toilet will mean for the kids going to school there. You can expect to clean a beach beneath a cliff full of blue-footed boobies, to meet some of the kindest, most generous, caring, heroic people of your life. Mostly you can expect this place to change you, to wash away the judgment you had on first sight of this town and leave a deep sense of joy at the privilege of having been of service there. Thanks you WAVES!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

WAVES is an amazing organization that works in collaboration with the local community to create positive change and connection for people and the environment. The team is phenomenal and in addition to the awesome work they do with the community, they go all out to make sure their volunteers are having the best possible experience throughout their stay. I visited WAVES on my own the first time, and had such a great experience so I brought a group of students from my university back to volunteer again the following February. WAVES offers the perfect combination of volunteering, surfing, learning and fun!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

My stay in Waves was pretty amazing. We did a participatory video and photography workshop. Waves provided us with our stay and food necesities. We... in exchange taught the kids working at the surf shop how to make a documentary and photograph different type of scenarios. We were there for two weeks and the results were amazing: a 12 minute doc speaking about life in Lobitos for kids of fishermen. Its a portrait of Lobitos life, a little bit of surf and a lot of fishing. This idea was impulsed by Waves who wanted to capacitate these kids with technology and give them another road for them to seek ways to auto sustain themselves. This is the basic idea behind any true help... dont give them fish but teach them how to fish kid of philosophy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

WAVES rocks! It really shows how well a good established organization can work together with a local community so that both benefit and advance their mission together! The people in Lobitos are really friendly and the kids are amazing! Amazing experience!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

WAVES exists to change people's lives for the better. I used to say that the volunteers probably get even more out of their service than the locals they work with (experiencing new cultures, broadening their view of the world, making socially minded career choices after...) However, now that WAVES and countless volunteers have been working year-in-year-out with some of the same young people and families for more than 5 years, the impact on their lives clearly rival that of the volunteers. I know, because I watch the accomplishments of many appear each day on Facebook. Oh, and surfing? Everyone loves surfing!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Review past community bulletins on website and write a blog post about the organization. Volunteer