Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.89135
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

WMG does it all. I have admired this group for a long time and am honored to be a part of the board. The organization has had tremendous success over the last year and I am looking forward to many more years of growth and amazing community impact. WMG is made up of a committed group of individuals who take on fantastic challenges and come out on top due to their conviction and knowledge of what is right for sustainable living. Our latest achievement was the creation and successful adoption of the Green Streets Policy for Tucson that was unanimously approved by City Council.

I have enjoyed every experience I've had with WMG as a board member, donor, volunteer, cooperative member and workshop recipient. Our yard went through an amazing transformation with an exciting earthworks co-op workshop that created shade, wildlife habitat and eliminated major flooding problems.

Every donor should be honored to know that every single cent they provide to the organization is carefully and efficiently allocated to our project work and organizational development. There is no waste to be found here! I recommend anyone interested in creating a restorative lifestyle, saving money and building a wonderful community to learn more about WMG.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 22, 2012

more

April 22, 2012

WMG is unlike any organization I've seen in the West. A powerful force for change. I feel privileged to be part of the team.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

WMG is the most spirited, organized, and effective non-profit I have ever known. It is no surprise that the organization is growing by leaps and bounds. Wherever WMG works, be it to install greywater harvesting systems in a Tucson backyard, inspire neighbors to re-landscape their streets with native plants in Santa Barbara, or reinforce degrading river systems with locals in Burkina Faso, they transform lives and attitudes. All this I know from first being an admiring community member, and since 2011, serving on the Board of Directors as Secretary, and on the Administrative, Events, and international Committees. WMG is successful because they empower communities to implement--and steward--their own on-the-ground change. Their vision and impact continues to grow because the organization is extraordinarily well managed. Executive Director Lisa Shipek's strategic and energetic leadership, along with that of her three fellow co-founders--two of which are based in India, tirelessly propelling WMG into the neediest edges of human ecology--and an outstanding staff inspire me with confidence and excitement for the future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 13, 2012

more

April 13, 2012

I have been a WMG Board of Directors member for the last 3 years and have become increasingly optimistic about our mission as well as our ability to realize it. The founders and most staff are a bunch of 30 somethings (many with advanced technical degrees) who decided that instead of entering the corporate work force they would use their skills and abilities to develop hands on programs to educate and implement various resource conservation strategies both locally and worldwide. They are not afraid of hard work and although they are young and inexperienced in many ways, show that they are willing to learn and to not let ego stand in way of success. In a word I would describe this organization as “sustainable”. They are very fiscally responsible and always on the lookout to create new ways to economize and to obtain more bang for their buck in the services they provide. These are exciting times for WMG and the future looks very bright indeed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I became involved with WMG in 2009 because I was drawn to their work promoting rainwater harvesting. Over the last 3 years they have grown into much more than a rainwater harvesting organization - they are now a regional presence, providing grass-roots advocacy and education for sustainable living practices. Their geographic scope has expanded even more than their scope of activities - they now do work throughout Arizona, in California, Mexico, Indian, and Africa. All while maintaining a culture of regular people doing extraordinary things through a steadfast commitment to a simple idea: we can all live more sustainably by learning and taking simple steps in our communities to reduce the amount of water we use, the amount of waste we produce, and all the small choices we make in our daily lives. The organization has grown by leaps and bounds while never losing sight of that idea and applying it through community workshops that educate and empower people to become better stewards of our endowment of natural resources.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2012

more

April 7, 2012

Since first hearing about WMG at a green fair in 2007 I have been a strong advocate for their mission and vision of creating healthy and sustainable communities and environments. While water is a focus of the organization overall sustainability starting at household and building up through neighborhoods to cities and regions is what they are all about. My first co-op workshop was in 2008, learning all about rainwater cistern installation in a neighbor's yard. In 2011 WMG transformed our backyard into an oasis of shade and flowers that works well into my DIY workspace and outdoor shower. As a board member I have watched the organization make new connections in new regions through grassroots advocacy and supporting local priorities. WMGs international work reflects this focus as well. Rather than going into a community and telling them what they need, WMG's international programs let the communities guide the process. WMG's staff learns about the context and needs of the community before suggesting best-practice solutions based not only on the community's needs and desires but also the community's abilities to utilize and maintain these solutions.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help install rainwater harvesting and plant trees at a residence, support our administrative and outreach work, or assist in a stormwater harvesting retrofit to reclaim a parking lot or create shaded roadways and sidewalks. Volunteer