Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.912285
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 24, 2012

more

April 24, 2012

I've been working with WMG since 2008 and I am continually impressed with this organization. My favorite thing about this organization is the approach they take to solving problems. They always involve the community in a meaningful way and they are always authentic. What other environmental organization have you seen that sets up a composting toilet at their fundraising events?This is an organization that truly lives its values and they have made an enormous difference here in Tucson by educating people about all sorts of sustainable living issues. They teach people about water harvesting, gardening, eating locally, raising chickens, and much more. I also have been constantly amazing by how much this organization does on a very small budget. There is not a penny being wasted. WMG's staff is creative and passionate and I am grateful for the time I have spent working with this great group of people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 24, 2012

more

April 24, 2012

i signed on as a volunteer with Watershed Management Group in 2011. I have worked on several conservation and water harvesting projects since then and found them all very instructive. At my own home I have implemented some of the water harvesting techniques I learned. In May a group of volunteers will conduct a water harvesting workshop at my home to install rain barrels to collect water during our upcoming monsoon season in Southern Arizona. I plan to continue my association with WMG and have recommended it to a number of friends and associates.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've learned techniques for water harvesting that I have implemented at my own home and in May Watershed Management Group volunteers will come to my house to help install water collection barrels in advance of the summer monsoon season in Southern Arizona.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

enhance the website to include detailed do-it-yourself plans for people who want to do projects on their own.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

On larger or more involved work projects a second project manager onsite would be helpful to keep everyone on track.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

My volunteer experience taught me new ways of water harvesting that I can do on my own around my own home. It also introduced me to other volunteers from a variety of backgrounds - from chemists with Ph.D.s and landscape architects to homemakers and grandmothers.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Each volunteer experience is fairly labor intensive, so it leaves me exhausted, but gives me a sense of accomplishment. It's amazing to see how much work can be achieved in such a short period of time when a group of like-minded individuals work together.

April 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I participated in the Watershed Management Group's first apprenticeship program and was amazed with the results. I learned how to treat my home and public areas as a watershed and how to capture every drop of water in our Sonoran Desert. Tree planting, landscaping, soil, growing your own food, mulching, composting, installing a cistern... I've used these skills to benefit the community. And you can too! Join as a member and participate in volunteer workshops today.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2012

more

April 22, 2012

Thanks to Watershed Management Group, Earth Day may breathe easier. Each year since this dedicated non-profit began, I have witnessed how its mission to encourage, assist, teach, and -labor with their neighbor- in Tucson and globally has put in to practice Earthworks to capture precious drops of rainwater. Some of the basic permaculture concepts are observation, always begin small, as then it is easier to correct any mistakes, and SEE the possibilities of what you have at hand (your home/yard) and how it can be transformed by following simple Earthworks. It truly is a beautiful ART in every sense to see a dry barren area transformed into a breathtaking oasis by simply digging a basin, placing chosen rocks around this basin, like a natural frame, adding compost, a few native plants, mulch, then rainwater...how exciting to witness this miracle come to bloom. Next comes the native birds, butterflies, bees, a shelter for small animals, and shade. Yes, the work is old-fashioned, roll up your sleeves hard work and with these co-op workshops with WMG comes yummy satisfying food and drinks. Yes, the certification is intense, I know from experience, and on a high bar, so those who become certified are fully trained to teach in this field. Yes, WMG has attracted staff that do not take these water issues lightly, but are constantly refining their skills to offer the best practices available they know. Recently I asked Executive Director, Lisa Shipek, when WMG will hold the next certification completely in Spanish,. She responded, when WMG gets the funding. Last fall, WMG offered their first certification completely in Spanish, quite a successful accomplishment! Yes, WMG is about outreach locally, globally, continually! Their staff in India are folks that are not asking the people there to learn what works in the United States, but encouraging the people in India to use practices that work there in their villages. Check out the award-winning Tippy Taps ! It takes tremendous commitment to stay focused on one issue - Water, which is a basic human right for all. Thank you to WMG for doing your part!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 19, 2012

more

April 19, 2012

I took the $1,200.00 Water Harvesting 9 day intensive.Yes they said it would be intensive but the main teacher Catlow is not a teacher.This made it stressful as us 15 students tried to figure out what he meant. There were no smiles till leaving day.We stayed up late with homework,triying to get it all,fearful of the" all important" certification test coming. We drank coffee, etc to stay awake all day as Catlow spoke as he himself knew what he was saying. Guest teacher, visionary Brad Lancaster gave us a blissful retreve 1 day. I wish he would teach it all.Brad spoke with kindness. His passion comes through as he has figured out ways to explain his point for folks who did not already know about that.Sure WMG is onto something great. Seems these reviews aregiving easy credit for just the concept they claim.What about Phoenix? easy money, or here to understand the comming urgency? No rain(heat island)We need shade now.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 9, 2012

My first memory of the USA was as an eight-year-old girl coming from Ethiopia. I was surprised at the abundance of clean water and the lack of appreciation for this resource. Years ago it was a blessi... more

November 1, 2013

WMG is smart and fun! Since 2003 I have enjoyed learning all they have been sharing thru the tours, seminars, co-ops, webinars and special events. I never would have guessed that one day I would prefer to use and have a composting toilet instead of the old standard one.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2012

My first memory of the USA was as an eight-year-old girl coming from Ethiopia. I was surprised at the abundance of clean water and the lack of appreciation for this resource. Years ago it was a blessing to know the Watershed Management Group was getting established in Tucson. I enjoyed learning more and supporting them from afar. Obviously I was ecstatic when WMG began working in Phoenix.

I love to volunteer for the co-op events because it is beautiful to see people implementing newly learned solutions not just for themselves but for their neighborhoods and communities as well. WMG’s Co-op program is based on a barn-raising model where home and business owners transform their landscape to conserve water and energy, grow food, and promote wildlife while saving money.

As a homeowner I was welcome to attend special lectures during the Phoenix certification course this spring. Water harvesting earthworks and greywater systems including food-production were two valuable and useful lectures for me. The Water Harvesting Certification program provides the highest quality and greatest depth of training in integrative water harvesting offered in the nation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2012

more

April 9, 2012

When I first volunteered with WMG I was an undeclared student in community college taking basic math and chemistry classes. After a few workshops, I began to see the importance of the work, and then declared my major at the U of A in Natural Resources - Ecohydrology and Watershed Management. If I hadn't been exposed to WMG, I would never be on the path that I am now!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

WMG is the best kind of non-profit--it brings people together to build community through increased understanding of the local watershed and how we can protect it. I've volunteered many times through the co-op, helping to build rainwater harvesting earthworks at public and private locations, diverting street run-off to water trees to beautify neighborhoods, and even helping to build a ferro-cement rainwater cistern. WMG spreads information, connects communities, harvests precious rainwater and run-off resources, restores the watershed, beautifies our communities--and the people are fun. Wow. Love this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 9, 2012

more

April 9, 2012

WMG is a great cooperative with whom I've been involved for several years. I started out volunteering in Tucson, then moved around AZ and landed in Phoenix where, thankfully, WMG had expanded to. Not only do they do good work with water harvesting, but the projects are SO wonderful for community building!! I hope to be involved with WMG for years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

I started volunteering with WMG in 2011 and have already learned more than I thought I could in a few short months. All the leaders have been very friendly, knowledgable and dedicated to helping the community learn and adopt the concepts of water shed management and conservation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help install rainwater harvesting and plant trees at a residence, support our administrative and outreach work, or assist in a stormwater harvesting retrofit to reclaim a parking lot or create shaded roadways and sidewalks. Volunteer