Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.895835
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
April 22, 2012

more

April 22, 2012

Thanks to Watershed Management Group, Earth Day may breathe easier. Each year since this dedicated non-profit began, I have witnessed how its mission to encourage, assist, teach, and -labor with their neighbor- in Tucson and globally has put in to practice Earthworks to capture precious drops of rainwater. Some of the basic permaculture concepts are observation, always begin small, as then it is easier to correct any mistakes, and SEE the possibilities of what you have at hand (your home/yard) and how it can be transformed by following simple Earthworks. It truly is a beautiful ART in every sense to see a dry barren area transformed into a breathtaking oasis by simply digging a basin, placing chosen rocks around this basin, like a natural frame, adding compost, a few native plants, mulch, then rainwater...how exciting to witness this miracle come to bloom. Next comes the native birds, butterflies, bees, a shelter for small animals, and shade. Yes, the work is old-fashioned, roll up your sleeves hard work and with these co-op workshops with WMG comes yummy satisfying food and drinks. Yes, the certification is intense, I know from experience, and on a high bar, so those who become certified are fully trained to teach in this field. Yes, WMG has attracted staff that do not take these water issues lightly, but are constantly refining their skills to offer the best practices available they know. Recently I asked Executive Director, Lisa Shipek, when WMG will hold the next certification completely in Spanish,. She responded, when WMG gets the funding. Last fall, WMG offered their first certification completely in Spanish, quite a successful accomplishment! Yes, WMG is about outreach locally, globally, continually! Their staff in India are folks that are not asking the people there to learn what works in the United States, but encouraging the people in India to use practices that work there in their villages. Check out the award-winning Tippy Taps ! It takes tremendous commitment to stay focused on one issue - Water, which is a basic human right for all. Thank you to WMG for doing your part!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 19, 2012

more

April 19, 2012

I took the $1,200.00 Water Harvesting 9 day intensive.Yes they said it would be intensive but the main teacher Catlow is not a teacher.This made it stressful as us 15 students tried to figure out what he meant. There were no smiles till leaving day.We stayed up late with homework,triying to get it all,fearful of the" all important" certification test coming. We drank coffee, etc to stay awake all day as Catlow spoke as he himself knew what he was saying. Guest teacher, visionary Brad Lancaster gave us a blissful retreve 1 day. I wish he would teach it all.Brad spoke with kindness. His passion comes through as he has figured out ways to explain his point for folks who did not already know about that.Sure WMG is onto something great. Seems these reviews aregiving easy credit for just the concept they claim.What about Phoenix? easy money, or here to understand the comming urgency? No rain(heat island)We need shade now.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 9, 2012

My first memory of the USA was as an eight-year-old girl coming from Ethiopia. I was surprised at the abundance of clean water and the lack of appreciation for this resource. Years ago it was a blessi... more

November 1, 2013

WMG is smart and fun! Since 2003 I have enjoyed learning all they have been sharing thru the tours, seminars, co-ops, webinars and special events. I never would have guessed that one day I would prefer to use and have a composting toilet instead of the old standard one.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2012

My first memory of the USA was as an eight-year-old girl coming from Ethiopia. I was surprised at the abundance of clean water and the lack of appreciation for this resource. Years ago it was a blessing to know the Watershed Management Group was getting established in Tucson. I enjoyed learning more and supporting them from afar. Obviously I was ecstatic when WMG began working in Phoenix.

I love to volunteer for the co-op events because it is beautiful to see people implementing newly learned solutions not just for themselves but for their neighborhoods and communities as well. WMG’s Co-op program is based on a barn-raising model where home and business owners transform their landscape to conserve water and energy, grow food, and promote wildlife while saving money.

As a homeowner I was welcome to attend special lectures during the Phoenix certification course this spring. Water harvesting earthworks and greywater systems including food-production were two valuable and useful lectures for me. The Water Harvesting Certification program provides the highest quality and greatest depth of training in integrative water harvesting offered in the nation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2012

more

April 9, 2012

When I first volunteered with WMG I was an undeclared student in community college taking basic math and chemistry classes. After a few workshops, I began to see the importance of the work, and then declared my major at the U of A in Natural Resources - Ecohydrology and Watershed Management. If I hadn't been exposed to WMG, I would never be on the path that I am now!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

WMG is the best kind of non-profit--it brings people together to build community through increased understanding of the local watershed and how we can protect it. I've volunteered many times through the co-op, helping to build rainwater harvesting earthworks at public and private locations, diverting street run-off to water trees to beautify neighborhoods, and even helping to build a ferro-cement rainwater cistern. WMG spreads information, connects communities, harvests precious rainwater and run-off resources, restores the watershed, beautifies our communities--and the people are fun. Wow. Love this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 9, 2012

more

April 9, 2012

WMG is a great cooperative with whom I've been involved for several years. I started out volunteering in Tucson, then moved around AZ and landed in Phoenix where, thankfully, WMG had expanded to. Not only do they do good work with water harvesting, but the projects are SO wonderful for community building!! I hope to be involved with WMG for years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

I started volunteering with WMG in 2011 and have already learned more than I thought I could in a few short months. All the leaders have been very friendly, knowledgable and dedicated to helping the community learn and adopt the concepts of water shed management and conservation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

I heard about Watershed Management Group (WMG) when they were in the formative stages in 2004. I had been involved with a group of people who were concerned about the future of Tucson in regard to peak oil, climate destabilization, and potential economic collapse. We were focusing on the sustainability of Tucson, located in an increasingly arid desert region. When I learned what WMG was about--a non-profit organization, aiming to work at the very basic grass-roots level to improve Tucson's water future through rainwater and greywater harvesting and doing the work cooperatively through volunteers--I was very excited to become involved. I have contributed to some of the hands-on projects and some of the fundraising projects and continue to follow their work and contribute in whatever way I can. Their accomplishments over the few years of their existence have been phenomenal and I believe their model of direct, cooperative, hands-on learning while doing is an amazingly effective example of the way to make change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 27, 2009

more

November 27, 2009

I moved to Tucson in 2001 after having spent 37 years in Switzerland. From a wet weather to the desert, I realized I have to save water by all means. From having collected rainwater by hand and having conserved it in buckets for landscaping to meeting with WATERSHED MANAGEMENT GROUP, I am confident that all together we will make Tucson a green and better place to live. I have learned so much from WMG and am committed to work with WMG to preserve the environment and help the community to have a sustainable living.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

building our two culvert cisterns in our yard.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

teamwork, sharing same values with WATERSHED MANAGEMENT GROUP, satisfaction of being environmental-friendly, of having an immediate impact in saving water, of making the world a better place to live.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

friendly, competent, environmentally-conscientious, dedicated to the community and sustainable living.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

The world has been in trouble with our present way of life. If Watershed Management Group had 10 million bucks, it WILL SAVE THE WORLD.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help install rainwater harvesting and plant trees at a residence, support our administrative and outreach work, or assist in a stormwater harvesting retrofit to reclaim a parking lot or create shaded roadways and sidewalks. Volunteer