Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.912285
Write A Review
September 26, 2014

more

September 26, 2014

An outstanding group devoted to solving many of the southwest's most pressing issues. Their technical expertise and community engagement skills truly set them apart.
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

WMG is the most positive nonprofit I've ever been involved with! They are at the forefront of the water harvesting movement in the US and an invaluable resource for anyone seeking to use water more productively. WMG's board and staff members are constantly building tangible solutions to the water crisis in ways that bring people together. They empower neighborhoods to change abandoned lots into food forests and troublesome storm runoff into lush green corridors. The thrill of swales and basins working as designed during a rainstorm is absolutely addictive!
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

This is a wonderful organization that I am a part of for the past year or so. It is dedicated to teach people about sustainable living, specifically through rainwater and gray water harvesting. Every workshop that I attend I learn new information about water harvesting, and as important, I have the chance to meet great people that share similar values and come from all over the Valley to help making our world more sustainable, one earthwork at a time. With all the current global environmental issues, it feels great to be a part of the solution!
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

I joined the WMG labor co-op in March, bought a house in June, and my first workshop at my house is in November. Let's plant some water and then plant some SHADE! Woot!
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Watershed Management Group has taught me so much about water harvesting, earthworks and greywater harvesting. I have volunteered for many groups and they are one of my top and most favorite groups in regards to organization, assistance and just overall genuine considerate and compassionate people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 4, 2012

Watershed Management Group is a vital community asset. As I volunteer I enjoy working on sites, and giving educational information at events like the Peace Fair and Tucson Meet Yourself. Demonstrating... more

October 31, 2013

I volunteered with WMG for a couple of years, doing workshops on cisterns, grey water, passive earthworks, and plantings. They did a passive earthworks and a cistern installation at my house. WMG does great work with their educational seminars, job training in the field, and the many programs they have like green streets. I highly recommend them to anyone who wants hands on experience helping Tucson become water sustainable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 4, 2012

Watershed Management Group is a vital community asset. As I volunteer I enjoy working on sites, and giving educational information at events like the Peace Fair and Tucson Meet Yourself. Demonstrating the "Tippy Tap" is an awesome way to communicate with kids and get them interested both doing service work and the ecology. The "Tippy Tap" is a simple hand washing set up that saves water, and lives since it cuts down on dysentery cases. It's a terrific learning experience to listen to seasoned volunteers and staff members teach how to help make Tucson more sustainable. Meeting people from all over the city, and the country for that matter, who are actively involved in the environmental movement is fun! I have been privileged to work with their certified co-op workshop leaders at several different types of installations. The wonderful thing about water conservation is that there are so many ways to do it:. For a year and some I have helped with : installing a steel culvert and grey water /laundry system, the Green Neighborhood projects at the Ward 3 Office and Salpointe High School, passive earthworks at several homes, planting native plants and fruit trees, diverting flood water, and a Conserve- to -Enhance, subsidy funded, earthworks workshop at my own home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

WMG employs simple technologies to help conserve our natural resources. This is especially true of water harvesting and water conservation, extremely important tactics in the arid Sonoran Desert. Their Green Streets policy is an excellent step in implementing water harvesting in all new roads in the City of Tucson. Through the WMG Co-op program, I installed a plastic cistern, large water harvesting basins, and a graywater system from my washing machine. Through volunteer hours, this program allowed me to install water saving and water harvesting features at a fraction of the cost. Thank you WMG!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

I got involved with WMG after taking the rebate classes. Moving from Florida to Tucson I am forced to learn new technique to manage resources. By utilizing the concepts WMG incorporates into their workshops and hosting one or two of my own I will create my green space in the dessert that can be maintained with resources collected on site. The workshops are great and everyone involved is super friendly and fun to work with. It is up to each of us to do our part to conserve our resources and like many people I want to do it but it is overwhelming for one or a few to implement. WMG's group workshop structure make it so much less intimidating and it is truly amazing what gets done as a group in a matter of a few hours. Hope to meet you soon out and about at one of the workshops shovel in hand!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more corporate or trade organization involvement.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 7, 2012

I was on vacation in Arizona and went on a project to capture water and build a garden area that used water to great efficiently. I was very impressed with the insight and planning that went on prior ... more

October 21, 2012

I worked on a project to recapture rain water to use on landscaping. Also on check dams on a ranch to slow the flow of water and grow grass to sheep and cattle. , It was encouraging to watch thses young people doanat their time and efforts in this worth while project. Barbara Buono

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2012

I was on vacation in Arizona and went on a project to capture water and build a garden area that used water to great efficiently. I was very impressed with the insight and planning that went on prior to the project. Most of the volunteers were young, but a few of us old-timers were learning skills new to our generation. I fortunately live in an area in N.Y. where there is plenty of water, but this organization has made me very aware that nothing can be taken for granted. I am grateful for the efforts of this group and their dedication to this worth while cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 29, 2012

more

April 29, 2012

Last fall I interned with WMG's India Office for 6 weeks. During this time I conducted research on groundwater recharge, accompanied WMG on community visits, supported social media efforts, and conducted a pilot study for a soap making business venture for a women's self-help group. I was thoroughly impressed with Jared and Sowmya's commitment to their work and their close relationship with community partners.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help install rainwater harvesting and plant trees at a residence, support our administrative and outreach work, or assist in a stormwater harvesting retrofit to reclaim a parking lot or create shaded roadways and sidewalks. Volunteer