Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.89135
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Watershed Management Group has taught me so much about water harvesting, earthworks and greywater harvesting. I have volunteered for many groups and they are one of my top and most favorite groups in regards to organization, assistance and just overall genuine considerate and compassionate people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 4, 2012

Watershed Management Group is a vital community asset. As I volunteer I enjoy working on sites, and giving educational information at events like the Peace Fair and Tucson Meet Yourself. Demonstrating... more

October 31, 2013

I volunteered with WMG for a couple of years, doing workshops on cisterns, grey water, passive earthworks, and plantings. They did a passive earthworks and a cistern installation at my house. WMG does great work with their educational seminars, job training in the field, and the many programs they have like green streets. I highly recommend them to anyone who wants hands on experience helping Tucson become water sustainable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 4, 2012

Watershed Management Group is a vital community asset. As I volunteer I enjoy working on sites, and giving educational information at events like the Peace Fair and Tucson Meet Yourself. Demonstrating the "Tippy Tap" is an awesome way to communicate with kids and get them interested both doing service work and the ecology. The "Tippy Tap" is a simple hand washing set up that saves water, and lives since it cuts down on dysentery cases. It's a terrific learning experience to listen to seasoned volunteers and staff members teach how to help make Tucson more sustainable. Meeting people from all over the city, and the country for that matter, who are actively involved in the environmental movement is fun! I have been privileged to work with their certified co-op workshop leaders at several different types of installations. The wonderful thing about water conservation is that there are so many ways to do it:. For a year and some I have helped with : installing a steel culvert and grey water /laundry system, the Green Neighborhood projects at the Ward 3 Office and Salpointe High School, passive earthworks at several homes, planting native plants and fruit trees, diverting flood water, and a Conserve- to -Enhance, subsidy funded, earthworks workshop at my own home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

WMG employs simple technologies to help conserve our natural resources. This is especially true of water harvesting and water conservation, extremely important tactics in the arid Sonoran Desert. Their Green Streets policy is an excellent step in implementing water harvesting in all new roads in the City of Tucson. Through the WMG Co-op program, I installed a plastic cistern, large water harvesting basins, and a graywater system from my washing machine. Through volunteer hours, this program allowed me to install water saving and water harvesting features at a fraction of the cost. Thank you WMG!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

I got involved with WMG after taking the rebate classes. Moving from Florida to Tucson I am forced to learn new technique to manage resources. By utilizing the concepts WMG incorporates into their workshops and hosting one or two of my own I will create my green space in the dessert that can be maintained with resources collected on site. The workshops are great and everyone involved is super friendly and fun to work with. It is up to each of us to do our part to conserve our resources and like many people I want to do it but it is overwhelming for one or a few to implement. WMG's group workshop structure make it so much less intimidating and it is truly amazing what gets done as a group in a matter of a few hours. Hope to meet you soon out and about at one of the workshops shovel in hand!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more corporate or trade organization involvement.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 7, 2012

I was on vacation in Arizona and went on a project to capture water and build a garden area that used water to great efficiently. I was very impressed with the insight and planning that went on prior ... more

October 21, 2012

I worked on a project to recapture rain water to use on landscaping. Also on check dams on a ranch to slow the flow of water and grow grass to sheep and cattle. , It was encouraging to watch thses young people doanat their time and efforts in this worth while project. Barbara Buono

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2012

I was on vacation in Arizona and went on a project to capture water and build a garden area that used water to great efficiently. I was very impressed with the insight and planning that went on prior to the project. Most of the volunteers were young, but a few of us old-timers were learning skills new to our generation. I fortunately live in an area in N.Y. where there is plenty of water, but this organization has made me very aware that nothing can be taken for granted. I am grateful for the efforts of this group and their dedication to this worth while cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 29, 2012

more

April 29, 2012

Last fall I interned with WMG's India Office for 6 weeks. During this time I conducted research on groundwater recharge, accompanied WMG on community visits, supported social media efforts, and conducted a pilot study for a soap making business venture for a women's self-help group. I was thoroughly impressed with Jared and Sowmya's commitment to their work and their close relationship with community partners.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2012

more

April 24, 2012

I've been working with WMG since 2008 and I am continually impressed with this organization. My favorite thing about this organization is the approach they take to solving problems. They always involve the community in a meaningful way and they are always authentic. What other environmental organization have you seen that sets up a composting toilet at their fundraising events?This is an organization that truly lives its values and they have made an enormous difference here in Tucson by educating people about all sorts of sustainable living issues. They teach people about water harvesting, gardening, eating locally, raising chickens, and much more. I also have been constantly amazing by how much this organization does on a very small budget. There is not a penny being wasted. WMG's staff is creative and passionate and I am grateful for the time I have spent working with this great group of people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 24, 2012

more

April 24, 2012

i signed on as a volunteer with Watershed Management Group in 2011. I have worked on several conservation and water harvesting projects since then and found them all very instructive. At my own home I have implemented some of the water harvesting techniques I learned. In May a group of volunteers will conduct a water harvesting workshop at my home to install rain barrels to collect water during our upcoming monsoon season in Southern Arizona. I plan to continue my association with WMG and have recommended it to a number of friends and associates.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've learned techniques for water harvesting that I have implemented at my own home and in May Watershed Management Group volunteers will come to my house to help install water collection barrels in advance of the summer monsoon season in Southern Arizona.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

enhance the website to include detailed do-it-yourself plans for people who want to do projects on their own.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

On larger or more involved work projects a second project manager onsite would be helpful to keep everyone on track.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

My volunteer experience taught me new ways of water harvesting that I can do on my own around my own home. It also introduced me to other volunteers from a variety of backgrounds - from chemists with Ph.D.s and landscape architects to homemakers and grandmothers.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Each volunteer experience is fairly labor intensive, so it leaves me exhausted, but gives me a sense of accomplishment. It's amazing to see how much work can be achieved in such a short period of time when a group of like-minded individuals work together.

April 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I participated in the Watershed Management Group's first apprenticeship program and was amazed with the results. I learned how to treat my home and public areas as a watershed and how to capture every drop of water in our Sonoran Desert. Tree planting, landscaping, soil, growing your own food, mulching, composting, installing a cistern... I've used these skills to benefit the community. And you can too! Join as a member and participate in volunteer workshops today.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2012

more

April 22, 2012

Thanks to Watershed Management Group, Earth Day may breathe easier. Each year since this dedicated non-profit began, I have witnessed how its mission to encourage, assist, teach, and -labor with their neighbor- in Tucson and globally has put in to practice Earthworks to capture precious drops of rainwater. Some of the basic permaculture concepts are observation, always begin small, as then it is easier to correct any mistakes, and SEE the possibilities of what you have at hand (your home/yard) and how it can be transformed by following simple Earthworks. It truly is a beautiful ART in every sense to see a dry barren area transformed into a breathtaking oasis by simply digging a basin, placing chosen rocks around this basin, like a natural frame, adding compost, a few native plants, mulch, then rainwater...how exciting to witness this miracle come to bloom. Next comes the native birds, butterflies, bees, a shelter for small animals, and shade. Yes, the work is old-fashioned, roll up your sleeves hard work and with these co-op workshops with WMG comes yummy satisfying food and drinks. Yes, the certification is intense, I know from experience, and on a high bar, so those who become certified are fully trained to teach in this field. Yes, WMG has attracted staff that do not take these water issues lightly, but are constantly refining their skills to offer the best practices available they know. Recently I asked Executive Director, Lisa Shipek, when WMG will hold the next certification completely in Spanish,. She responded, when WMG gets the funding. Last fall, WMG offered their first certification completely in Spanish, quite a successful accomplishment! Yes, WMG is about outreach locally, globally, continually! Their staff in India are folks that are not asking the people there to learn what works in the United States, but encouraging the people in India to use practices that work there in their villages. Check out the award-winning Tippy Taps ! It takes tremendous commitment to stay focused on one issue - Water, which is a basic human right for all. Thank you to WMG for doing your part!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help install rainwater harvesting and plant trees at a residence, support our administrative and outreach work, or assist in a stormwater harvesting retrofit to reclaim a parking lot or create shaded roadways and sidewalks. Volunteer