Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.89135
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
April 24, 2012

more

April 24, 2012

i signed on as a volunteer with Watershed Management Group in 2011. I have worked on several conservation and water harvesting projects since then and found them all very instructive. At my own home I have implemented some of the water harvesting techniques I learned. In May a group of volunteers will conduct a water harvesting workshop at my home to install rain barrels to collect water during our upcoming monsoon season in Southern Arizona. I plan to continue my association with WMG and have recommended it to a number of friends and associates.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've learned techniques for water harvesting that I have implemented at my own home and in May Watershed Management Group volunteers will come to my house to help install water collection barrels in advance of the summer monsoon season in Southern Arizona.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

enhance the website to include detailed do-it-yourself plans for people who want to do projects on their own.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

On larger or more involved work projects a second project manager onsite would be helpful to keep everyone on track.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

My volunteer experience taught me new ways of water harvesting that I can do on my own around my own home. It also introduced me to other volunteers from a variety of backgrounds - from chemists with Ph.D.s and landscape architects to homemakers and grandmothers.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Each volunteer experience is fairly labor intensive, so it leaves me exhausted, but gives me a sense of accomplishment. It's amazing to see how much work can be achieved in such a short period of time when a group of like-minded individuals work together.

April 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I participated in the Watershed Management Group's first apprenticeship program and was amazed with the results. I learned how to treat my home and public areas as a watershed and how to capture every drop of water in our Sonoran Desert. Tree planting, landscaping, soil, growing your own food, mulching, composting, installing a cistern... I've used these skills to benefit the community. And you can too! Join as a member and participate in volunteer workshops today.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 23, 2012

more

April 23, 2012

I have worked professionally and on a volunteer basis with Watershed Management Group for five years. I am always impressed by the creativity and passion of the staff, the entrepreneurial spirit of the organization, and the group's overall commitment to community. Although I am a professional in this field, Watershed Management Group has certainly taken my training to the next level, and I can thank them for many new skills and a broader perspective on the global promise of these techniques.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2012

more

April 22, 2012

Thanks to Watershed Management Group, Earth Day may breathe easier. Each year since this dedicated non-profit began, I have witnessed how its mission to encourage, assist, teach, and -labor with their neighbor- in Tucson and globally has put in to practice Earthworks to capture precious drops of rainwater. Some of the basic permaculture concepts are observation, always begin small, as then it is easier to correct any mistakes, and SEE the possibilities of what you have at hand (your home/yard) and how it can be transformed by following simple Earthworks. It truly is a beautiful ART in every sense to see a dry barren area transformed into a breathtaking oasis by simply digging a basin, placing chosen rocks around this basin, like a natural frame, adding compost, a few native plants, mulch, then rainwater...how exciting to witness this miracle come to bloom. Next comes the native birds, butterflies, bees, a shelter for small animals, and shade. Yes, the work is old-fashioned, roll up your sleeves hard work and with these co-op workshops with WMG comes yummy satisfying food and drinks. Yes, the certification is intense, I know from experience, and on a high bar, so those who become certified are fully trained to teach in this field. Yes, WMG has attracted staff that do not take these water issues lightly, but are constantly refining their skills to offer the best practices available they know. Recently I asked Executive Director, Lisa Shipek, when WMG will hold the next certification completely in Spanish,. She responded, when WMG gets the funding. Last fall, WMG offered their first certification completely in Spanish, quite a successful accomplishment! Yes, WMG is about outreach locally, globally, continually! Their staff in India are folks that are not asking the people there to learn what works in the United States, but encouraging the people in India to use practices that work there in their villages. Check out the award-winning Tippy Taps ! It takes tremendous commitment to stay focused on one issue - Water, which is a basic human right for all. Thank you to WMG for doing your part!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Watershed Management Group is making a significant contribution to policies and practices that benefit people and the environment. My business, Stream Dynamics, Inc. does watershed restoration work, initially only in a wildland setting. I learned from WMG how we can employ practices such as water harvesting and greywater recycling to heal urban river systems as well. I have taken several classes from WMG and am now doing projects in urban settings to improve the water supply and water quality for people and the environment. WMG has demonstrated that their practical approach simultaneously helps both people and the environment. An important part of their work consists of teaching a series of short courses to resource professionals, policy makers, and homeowners. I have taken two courses from WMG To far: Water Harvesting Certification is a ten day course that goes over the theory and practice of modern permaculture based water harvesting. In this course we went on a tour of successful water harvesting projects in the neighborhoods of Tucson, learned water harvesting principles and design, and then built three different projects: a cistern installation, water harvesting earth basins, and a "Laundry to Landscape" greywater recycling installation. Each one of these projects benefited the landowner. The test at the end was quite rigorous. You need to get 90% to receive your water harvesting certificate. The next course I took was Advanced Cisterns. Like the first course, this was a mixture of site visits, classroom presentations from a wide variety of knowledgeable practitioners, and a hands on component, during which we actually built a ferrocement cistern! The knowledge and experience I have gained from these courses has helped me gain a greater understanding of the relationship between human needs and our water resources. I highly recommend taking a course from this outfit. Also - the people who work at WMG are very smart, dedicated and hardworking, but also fun to be around. They make learning fun. Next I plan to take the advanced greywater class.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2012

more

April 22, 2012

WMG is unlike any organization I've seen in the West. A powerful force for change. I feel privileged to be part of the team.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

WMG is the most spirited, organized, and effective non-profit I have ever known. It is no surprise that the organization is growing by leaps and bounds. Wherever WMG works, be it to install greywater harvesting systems in a Tucson backyard, inspire neighbors to re-landscape their streets with native plants in Santa Barbara, or reinforce degrading river systems with locals in Burkina Faso, they transform lives and attitudes. All this I know from first being an admiring community member, and since 2011, serving on the Board of Directors as Secretary, and on the Administrative, Events, and international Committees. WMG is successful because they empower communities to implement--and steward--their own on-the-ground change. Their vision and impact continues to grow because the organization is extraordinarily well managed. Executive Director Lisa Shipek's strategic and energetic leadership, along with that of her three fellow co-founders--two of which are based in India, tirelessly propelling WMG into the neediest edges of human ecology--and an outstanding staff inspire me with confidence and excitement for the future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 19, 2012

more

April 19, 2012

I took the $1,200.00 Water Harvesting 9 day intensive.Yes they said it would be intensive but the main teacher Catlow is not a teacher.This made it stressful as us 15 students tried to figure out what he meant. There were no smiles till leaving day.We stayed up late with homework,triying to get it all,fearful of the" all important" certification test coming. We drank coffee, etc to stay awake all day as Catlow spoke as he himself knew what he was saying. Guest teacher, visionary Brad Lancaster gave us a blissful retreve 1 day. I wish he would teach it all.Brad spoke with kindness. His passion comes through as he has figured out ways to explain his point for folks who did not already know about that.Sure WMG is onto something great. Seems these reviews aregiving easy credit for just the concept they claim.What about Phoenix? easy money, or here to understand the comming urgency? No rain(heat island)We need shade now.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 13, 2012

more

April 13, 2012

I have been a WMG Board of Directors member for the last 3 years and have become increasingly optimistic about our mission as well as our ability to realize it. The founders and most staff are a bunch of 30 somethings (many with advanced technical degrees) who decided that instead of entering the corporate work force they would use their skills and abilities to develop hands on programs to educate and implement various resource conservation strategies both locally and worldwide. They are not afraid of hard work and although they are young and inexperienced in many ways, show that they are willing to learn and to not let ego stand in way of success. In a word I would describe this organization as “sustainable”. They are very fiscally responsible and always on the lookout to create new ways to economize and to obtain more bang for their buck in the services they provide. These are exciting times for WMG and the future looks very bright indeed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I became involved with WMG in 2009 because I was drawn to their work promoting rainwater harvesting. Over the last 3 years they have grown into much more than a rainwater harvesting organization - they are now a regional presence, providing grass-roots advocacy and education for sustainable living practices. Their geographic scope has expanded even more than their scope of activities - they now do work throughout Arizona, in California, Mexico, Indian, and Africa. All while maintaining a culture of regular people doing extraordinary things through a steadfast commitment to a simple idea: we can all live more sustainably by learning and taking simple steps in our communities to reduce the amount of water we use, the amount of waste we produce, and all the small choices we make in our daily lives. The organization has grown by leaps and bounds while never losing sight of that idea and applying it through community workshops that educate and empower people to become better stewards of our endowment of natural resources.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help install rainwater harvesting and plant trees at a residence, support our administrative and outreach work, or assist in a stormwater harvesting retrofit to reclaim a parking lot or create shaded roadways and sidewalks. Volunteer