Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.89135
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

WMG employs simple technologies to help conserve our natural resources. This is especially true of water harvesting and water conservation, extremely important tactics in the arid Sonoran Desert. Their Green Streets policy is an excellent step in implementing water harvesting in all new roads in the City of Tucson. Through the WMG Co-op program, I installed a plastic cistern, large water harvesting basins, and a graywater system from my washing machine. Through volunteer hours, this program allowed me to install water saving and water harvesting features at a fraction of the cost. Thank you WMG!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 23, 2012

In a city and state that are divided about politics, faith, economics, and more, Watershed Management Group is serving a vital role that transcends the many WMG basins and cisterns visible around Tucs... more

September 23, 2013

Seven years ago WMG founders Lisa and Catlow Shipek brought their skills and talent to the town my family is from in the south of Costa Rica. Watching them there and observing how they've grown WMG in subsequent years is to observe how "ripple up" local projects can translate into changing water policy. They make the difficult work of community organizing and environmental restoration seem easy--teaching from a place of joy; solving problems by way of presenting viable solutions at overlapping scales. They're offering a free education about how change in these complex times takes place to all lucky enough to have the chance to observe.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

In a city and state that are divided about politics, faith, economics, and more, Watershed Management Group is serving a vital role that transcends the many WMG basins and cisterns visible around Tucson (and the state). It is creating clarity and consensus about both "trickle-up" restoration projects, and, even more difficult, what sound water policy should look like in Arizona and the Southwest. I've had the honor of collaborating with WMG Executive Director Lisa Shipek, and Program Manager, Catlow Shipek, for almost seven years, in Tucson and in Costa Rica, on basin restoration projects. I study their materials and strategies the way I would were I attending the most exacting college courses. Widely respected, and seemingly universally loved, WMG is setting a unique example about how to create community and conserve water in uncertain times.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The city of Tucson has partnered with Watershed Management multiple times, because they are such an excellent team of professionals. They are efficient, talented and hard working. They helped us craft new conservation policies for the City of Tucson and they recruited volunteers to install rainwater harvesting systems for our Ward 1 Council Office. They are the best.
- Diana Rhoades, Chief of Staff, Tucson City Councilor Regina Romero

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

I got involved with WMG after taking the rebate classes. Moving from Florida to Tucson I am forced to learn new technique to manage resources. By utilizing the concepts WMG incorporates into their workshops and hosting one or two of my own I will create my green space in the dessert that can be maintained with resources collected on site. The workshops are great and everyone involved is super friendly and fun to work with. It is up to each of us to do our part to conserve our resources and like many people I want to do it but it is overwhelming for one or a few to implement. WMG's group workshop structure make it so much less intimidating and it is truly amazing what gets done as a group in a matter of a few hours. Hope to meet you soon out and about at one of the workshops shovel in hand!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more corporate or trade organization involvement.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 15, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 15, 2013

This a great non-profit that teaches sustainability practices through hands on experience, while making an on-the-ground difference. This is a no-frills organization with a great reputation with a large group of volunteers and supporters.

If you want to take your sustainability to the next
level or help others to do the same, you should donate or volunteer with Watershed Management Group!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 7, 2012

I was on vacation in Arizona and went on a project to capture water and build a garden area that used water to great efficiently. I was very impressed with the insight and planning that went on prior ... more

October 21, 2012

I worked on a project to recapture rain water to use on landscaping. Also on check dams on a ranch to slow the flow of water and grow grass to sheep and cattle. , It was encouraging to watch thses young people doanat their time and efforts in this worth while project. Barbara Buono

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2012

I was on vacation in Arizona and went on a project to capture water and build a garden area that used water to great efficiently. I was very impressed with the insight and planning that went on prior to the project. Most of the volunteers were young, but a few of us old-timers were learning skills new to our generation. I fortunately live in an area in N.Y. where there is plenty of water, but this organization has made me very aware that nothing can be taken for granted. I am grateful for the efforts of this group and their dedication to this worth while cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 1, 2012

more

May 1, 2012

I volunteered full time with WMG in India for six months last fall and winter. I established an ecological vegetable garden and managed the landscape of WMG India's partner organization, Grampari. As part of a diverse and talented team, I learned so much about water issues (watershed management, sanitation and hygiene issues) and their role in world problems; more importantly, I learned how to approach finding, sharing, and implementing solutions. My time with WMG was a transformative experience for me, professionally, and solidified my devotion to meeting real needs and addressing pressing environmental and social issues of today and tomorrow.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 29, 2012

more

April 29, 2012

Last fall I interned with WMG's India Office for 6 weeks. During this time I conducted research on groundwater recharge, accompanied WMG on community visits, supported social media efforts, and conducted a pilot study for a soap making business venture for a women's self-help group. I was thoroughly impressed with Jared and Sowmya's commitment to their work and their close relationship with community partners.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2012

more

April 28, 2012

The world is filled with people describing what needs to the done to green our cities (this writer is not an exception) but WMG are walking - or rather, digging - the talk. Their barn-raising model mobilises mainly volunteer groups to work house by house, and street by street. One begins to see how crowd-sourced sustainable urban infrastructure could become a reality.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2012

more

April 24, 2012

I've been working with WMG since 2008 and I am continually impressed with this organization. My favorite thing about this organization is the approach they take to solving problems. They always involve the community in a meaningful way and they are always authentic. What other environmental organization have you seen that sets up a composting toilet at their fundraising events?This is an organization that truly lives its values and they have made an enormous difference here in Tucson by educating people about all sorts of sustainable living issues. They teach people about water harvesting, gardening, eating locally, raising chickens, and much more. I also have been constantly amazing by how much this organization does on a very small budget. There is not a penny being wasted. WMG's staff is creative and passionate and I am grateful for the time I have spent working with this great group of people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help install rainwater harvesting and plant trees at a residence, support our administrative and outreach work, or assist in a stormwater harvesting retrofit to reclaim a parking lot or create shaded roadways and sidewalks. Volunteer