Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.638895
Write A Review
July 5, 2013

more

July 5, 2013

From Waste To Charity's Form 990 filings:

2009 - Total Revenues: $143,445; Compensation to Jon Fitzgerald: $118,620

2010 - Total Revenues: $108,831; Compensation to Jon Fitzgerald: $78,596

2011 - Total Revenues: $409,083; Compensation to Jon Fitzgerald:
$345,914
______________________________________________________________

Not in any filings but good to know:

Sells majority of donated stock on eBay under the name: industryrecycles
Also sells through a private website with the same name as above
______________________________________________________________

Personal thoughts:

Majority of donations come from one company and most of the inventory would not end up in a landfill. Check the eBay account above to see their inventory. Most items are new overstock/discontinued with some customer returns that if they weren't donated would be sold to liquidators and other surplus inventory distributors. The only reason the items are donated is because the company, under current regulations, receives more from the tax right-off than they do from liquidating it.

Some things do get donated to other charities (and hopefully from there to people who actually need them) but only if they are deemed unsellable or otherwise not worth dealing with.

Take note of how many of the reviews here have very similar language and how many were posted soon after a bad review was given. Some could be real, but I would bet that most are shills.

Look at the 990's (you can see them on guidestar.org - login required), check out the eBay account, and do a search for Waste To Charity, then decide if this is the kind of charity you want to be associated with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut it down. It's been a scam from the beginning.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 2, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
August 2, 2012

I have listened for years to the many stories of relief and value that Waste to Charity has provided for people here in the USA and abroad. So many of our products in this country are wasted or condemned before they are ruined. What child who is dying of pneumonia or parent who's child is sick wouldn't want any help whatsoever. We need companies like "Waste to Charity" to insure that our country doesn't 'waste' anything, when so many people are in need. I applaud Waste To Charity's efforts during the devastating storms in the Gulf and their efforts are nothing less than relentless!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 2, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
April 9, 2010

What a great organization! I love their philosophy - they really embrace what a "not for profit" is all about. more

August 2, 2012

This nonprofit keeps untold amounts of materials out of landfills and puts it into the hands of people who can actually do something useful with it! God Bless them, I wish there were more companies committed as fully as Wast to Charity!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2010

What a great organization! I love their philosophy - they really embrace what a "not for profit" is all about.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

knowing that what I donate is going to help others and keep many things from going into landfills

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Committed

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Move so many more materials to those in need while protecting the environment.

Ways to make it better...

I had more things to donate

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

lack of funds for better infrastructure and information technology

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 16, 2012

more

April 16, 2012

Great experience with all staff and volunteers, I look forward to a long relation ship with them

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2012

more

April 12, 2012

Waste to Charity is an environmentally conscious charity that provides a dual purpose for the public... utlizing unused product of companies and keeping that out of landfills, and providing donations to worthwhile charities. What an innovative idea!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

I have been working with Waste to Charity for several years now. I am impressed at how they have been able to create a company out of items others have no more use for. This not only helps save the environment and landfills from filling up with useful items, but helps all who receive the items with lower overhead for things they need anyway. I look forward to their growth in the future and will keep them in mind anytime I have things to donate.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 22, 2010

more

April 22, 2010

WTC operators have been working on lessening waste and recycling long before it was fashionable. Kudos to them for always doing the right thing.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Well informed, aware of current trends and events that affect our country. With more backing, who knows what WTC could do.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 22, 2010

more

April 22, 2010

I've been following the crusade led by Waste to Charity since April 2007. I'm so impressed. Their resources found on their website have been extremely useful. Their programs and photos are inspiring. Thank you Waste To Charity!

Photos

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

help to protect the environment as our overcrowded Landfills DO contribute to Global warming.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 11, 2010

more

April 11, 2010

This organization is very dedicated and determined to make a diffence. I feel any grants or funds available should be allotted to help this organization continue to achieve & accomplish their goals.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

The staff & volunteers are dedicated hardworking people who are making a big diffence.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 9, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 10, 2010

Waste to Charity brings so much to the community/city/state, proving once again, we can make a difference, you just need to follow through. Thank you again for doing such a great job. more

November 9, 2012

Waste to Charity is a huge benefit across the board. Their dedication to recyling for the good is just one example of their commitment to serving the communities/business where it's needed and paying it forward. Items that would typically be tossed into the garbage or wind up on some storage rack indefinately are sought out and being utilized. They are such a great organization, it goes beyond words to explain. Waste not, want not. Thnak you for all your hard work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2010

Waste to Charity brings so much to the community/city/state, proving once again, we can make a difference, you just need to follow through. Thank you again for doing such a great job.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The genuine intent/purpose of getting the task at hand completed, that goes along with volunteer work for not for profit organizations. A lot can be said for this type of organization.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Helpful, informative and supportive to the community.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Advertise with awareness.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers