Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.638895
Write A Review
February 7, 2014

more

February 7, 2014

Waste To Charity has been donating truckloads of tooling, tool cabinets , and other industrial supplies to our organization. If they did not save them they would be filling up local landfills since "BIG BUSINESS" just wants to throw away waste instead of finding a new life and use for it. I also spoke to jack and he donated another truckload of paper products to my sons youth football league. Toilet paper, paper towels, napkins, mops, mop buckets, brooms, and garbage cans. Thank You Waste To Charity and to your staff !

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 3, 2013

more

September 3, 2013

Waste to Charity has been a a huge help to Charlotte County the past 8 months. Donating truckloads of paper towels, toilet paper , and many household items that were distibuted to many of the needy families here in our county. ANYTIME I have called them to see if they have anything they ALWAYS have items ready for me to pickup and get distributed !

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None at this time

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 5, 2013

more

July 5, 2013

From Waste To Charity's Form 990 filings:

2009 - Total Revenues: $143,445; Compensation to Jon Fitzgerald: $118,620

2010 - Total Revenues: $108,831; Compensation to Jon Fitzgerald: $78,596

2011 - Total Revenues: $409,083; Compensation to Jon Fitzgerald:
$345,914
______________________________________________________________

Not in any filings but good to know:

Sells majority of donated stock on eBay under the name: industryrecycles
Also sells through a private website with the same name as above
______________________________________________________________

Personal thoughts:

Majority of donations come from one company and most of the inventory would not end up in a landfill. Check the eBay account above to see their inventory. Most items are new overstock/discontinued with some customer returns that if they weren't donated would be sold to liquidators and other surplus inventory distributors. The only reason the items are donated is because the company, under current regulations, receives more from the tax right-off than they do from liquidating it.

Some things do get donated to other charities (and hopefully from there to people who actually need them) but only if they are deemed unsellable or otherwise not worth dealing with.

Take note of how many of the reviews here have very similar language and how many were posted soon after a bad review was given. Some could be real, but I would bet that most are shills.

Look at the 990's (you can see them on guidestar.org - login required), check out the eBay account, and do a search for Waste To Charity, then decide if this is the kind of charity you want to be associated with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut it down. It's been a scam from the beginning.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 10, 2010

Waste to Charity brings so much to the community/city/state, proving once again, we can make a difference, you just need to follow through. Thank you again for doing such a great job. more

November 9, 2012

Waste to Charity is a huge benefit across the board. Their dedication to recyling for the good is just one example of their commitment to serving the communities/business where it's needed and paying it forward. Items that would typically be tossed into the garbage or wind up on some storage rack indefinately are sought out and being utilized. They are such a great organization, it goes beyond words to explain. Waste not, want not. Thnak you for all your hard work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2010

Waste to Charity brings so much to the community/city/state, proving once again, we can make a difference, you just need to follow through. Thank you again for doing such a great job.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The genuine intent/purpose of getting the task at hand completed, that goes along with volunteer work for not for profit organizations. A lot can be said for this type of organization.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Helpful, informative and supportive to the community.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Advertise with awareness.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Waste to Charity goes above and beyond helping others in need. Glad to see supplies not being wasted,keeping materials out of our landfills and in the hands of the people that need them.Glad to see somebody still cares

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I see first hand what Waste to Charity does to donate items to various charities . Most of the items donated would have filled landfills if it were not for Waste to Charity rescuing them and giving them a new life!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 2, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
August 2, 2012

I have listened for years to the many stories of relief and value that Waste to Charity has provided for people here in the USA and abroad. So many of our products in this country are wasted or condemned before they are ruined. What child who is dying of pneumonia or parent who's child is sick wouldn't want any help whatsoever. We need companies like "Waste to Charity" to insure that our country doesn't 'waste' anything, when so many people are in need. I applaud Waste To Charity's efforts during the devastating storms in the Gulf and their efforts are nothing less than relentless!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 2, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
April 9, 2010

What a great organization! I love their philosophy - they really embrace what a "not for profit" is all about. more

August 2, 2012

This nonprofit keeps untold amounts of materials out of landfills and puts it into the hands of people who can actually do something useful with it! God Bless them, I wish there were more companies committed as fully as Wast to Charity!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2010

What a great organization! I love their philosophy - they really embrace what a "not for profit" is all about.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

knowing that what I donate is going to help others and keep many things from going into landfills

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Committed

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Move so many more materials to those in need while protecting the environment.

Ways to make it better...

I had more things to donate

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

lack of funds for better infrastructure and information technology

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 16, 2012

more

April 16, 2012

Great experience with all staff and volunteers, I look forward to a long relation ship with them

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2012

more

April 12, 2012

Waste to Charity is an environmentally conscious charity that provides a dual purpose for the public... utlizing unused product of companies and keeping that out of landfills, and providing donations to worthwhile charities. What an innovative idea!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers