Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 26, 2013

more

June 26, 2013

The efficiency and generosity of this group are phenomenal! Like a well-oiled machine, on each day they gather food throughout the area and redistribute it to nonprofits assisting impoverished people. Throughout the year they have given us truckloads of food-juice, applesauce, snacks, pastries-allowing us to nearly double the amount of weekend food we provide for children. And to think that without this group, all that food would go to waste...!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None. They are a valuable community resource. and I am thankful for all they do, Whenever I talk to a group about nonprofits, I ask whether they are familiar with all this group does so that I can enlighten the community about WNWN's mission.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

This organization goes to different restaurants and stores and collects food that is still edible but not suitable for selling (expiration date coming up soon). Waste not Want Not delivers the food to agencies that can distribute it to clients in need. Some examples would be group homes, senior citizens day care/place to hang out during the day, and schools. I know about schools because for years my son who attends a special needs school would bring home bread. Sometimes the bread was plain, sometimes it was very fancy, but always it was gratefully received. The families of special needs people often face expenses other families don't have so to have one less thing to buy at the store was a true gift. In fact, because of their generosity, I tried to send them financial donations as I was able, largely due to the savings on bread. I also am a recycling person, so I was so proud to see how they keep this food out of the landfills. They are a tremendous asset to our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it larger so more people could be served.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

At James Weldon Johnson Academic and Career Training Center, our students are 1-3 years overage for grade level. Additionally, our community does not have a great number of food outlets, such as comprehensive grocery stores, and many of our students qualify for free and/or reduced lunch status. As a result, there is a tremendous need among our students for good, consistent nutritional snacks and food products. Waste Not Want Not has been a highly caring, supportive, and helpful partner for our school since January of 2012. Since that time, Waste Not Want Not has provided snacks and foods for our after-school program and, during the summer of 2013, provided tremendous snacks and food products for our Summer Camp. Waste Not Want Not has made a tremendous difference in the lives of our students through their support. I remember during our Summer Camp, students would invariably ask at the beginning of the day: "What's for snack this afternoon?" They would often ask this before they would ask about field trips, or what the activities for that day were. This is an indication of just how much the nutritional support, provided to them by Waste Not Want Not, meant to them. I only know this; Waste Not Want Not, through their efficiency of non-profit operations, combined with a loving and caring outlook and decication towards those in our world who are in need, has made an indelible difference in the lives of the children that we serve, and they are an indispensable part of our efforts to make a difference in the lives of our students.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wouldn't change a thing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 16, 2013

more

August 16, 2013

The team at Waste Not Want Not are just fabulous! They help our ministry by supplying much needed food for the meals we prepare for the senior citizens we serve. We take seniors on day-long mission trips and serve a hot meal for the entire team. 18 - 48 seniors are fed a great meal from the recaptured food that WNWN gives us.

WNWN saves Seniors on a Mission thousands of dollars each year. Thank you!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 20, 2012

more

July 20, 2012

I volunteer with Kairos Prison Ministry, Inc. We conduct 3 day Christain based retreats in 5 state prisons in the NE Florida area. Waste Not Want Not (WNWN) helps us with cookies that we distribute to the inmates during the weekend as snacks and dessert for meals that we eat together. The volunteers at WNWN are really great, easy to work with and always helpful. Many organizations are much larger than the Kairos ministry but WNWN always finds time to help us in our need. I thank God for the retail stores in our area that are willing to allow WNWN to redistribute this food to so many needy organizations. I also thank God for the many volunteers that make WNWN work so well.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My Prison ministry and also watching other organizations pick up food for their ministries. I also have friends who contact retailers and pick up food to take to WNWN to repurpose.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure all the volunteers get heartfelt thanks for all their work on behalf of others more needy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

I do not recall exactly. One of our Kairos men is on the WNWN Board but I knew about it before that.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Can't say WNWN has made any personal change in my life but they have definetly contributed to very important changes in the lives of many inmates over the years.

December 10, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Waste Note Want Not's supprt has allowed our church to begin our Missions Kitchen outreach. We are serving hot dinners to those in our community once a month and the numbers of attendees continue to increase. The first night, four people attended. Over the past five months, that number has increased to 40. We feel very blessed to have the opportunity to serve these meals to those who really need them and without Waste Not Want's provision of food, we would not have ben able to continue this mission.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Rescue an entire carload of donated food for those in need. Volunteer