Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Volunteering for Waste Not Want Not is a very rewarding experience. It is wonderful to know that my efforts and that of the other volunteers is providing so much help to the community. I interact with a couple different large providers of the food stuffs. They thank us for taking our time and energy to assist them in donating to a great, nonprofit, volunteer based organization.

George Borawski
October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The looks of gratitude and heartfelt "thank yous" uttered by the recipients to the volunteers at Waste Not Want Not are why I have been with it for several decades. By rescuing and redistributing so many tons of food and other products to so many organizations, we volunteers are truly able to "do unto others...", and it makes me and all the people I work with happy to be part of such a team.
It's so well organized that the time spent there gives truly efficient results. We accomplish our assigned tasks and leave there knowing we have the gratitude of hundreds of people who we have helped that day.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I volunteer for several nonprofit organizations and Waste Not Want Not always get priority on my time and monthly financial donations. I have been volunteering in many areas of Waste Not Want Not for over ten years. In that time I have met many great people that have the same passion, "to help those in need." Russ Kamradt
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

The amount of food and other supplies that would otherwise go to the landfill without this organization is staggering (millions of pounds a year), especially given how many people in the community are in need of assistance. Every day of the week, rain or shine, WNWN volunteers collect from various distributors, grocery chains and restaurants. The pickups are returned to the main facility, sorted by type, etc and then re-distributed to that day's recipient organizations (from throughout North Florida). I am proud to be a volunteer for WNWN and I have never volunteered for a more economically efficient charity.
October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I have been volunteering with WNWN for 3 year now. I love what we about helping people in need.
To see the smiles on our Clients we severed is priceless.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a bigger Building to help serve more Clients

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I volunteered through my church, and I was always impressed at how dedicated they are to saving useable food and feeding our area's hungry. Great leadership and great community outreach!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more $$ for trucks and other resources.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

I began working for Waste Not Want Not several yeas ago, after quitting a paid job I was dissatisfied with. Looking for a volunteer job a friend suggested I try WNWN. My first day on the job, picking up food from one of our local grocery stores to working sorting and distributing much needed food I knew this was the job for me. I soon was put in charge of Wed. & Friday distribution for approximately six to ten groups/day. We have approximately 65 groups which we serve on a weekly basis. The people I work with along with people we serve are the best. We are not just volunteers we are family. Recently my mother came to visit and I needed a wheelchair and walker and everyone I asked came through for me. Thank You!!!. Our organization has become the pilot program for others in the counties of food recovery. Like it was said today in 90 degree weather you couldn't pay me to do this job but I can't think of anywhere else I would rather be because without us many people would go hungry.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 22, 2012

more

September 22, 2012

I started as a volunteer, just based on the wonderful name of this non-profit. It so inspired me, and the other folks I worked along side, everyone so dedicated to helping others, it was impossible not to get enthusiastic! When I was asked to join the board, I was flattered. I am so fortunate to have spent a few years with this group, planning ways to increase both our donors and our recipients, motivating our volunteer-only staff, and planning for growth of the organization. Saving and redistributing over a million pounds of food each year made me even prouder of our concentrated efforts. Being part of the expansion into larger space was an example of the good work they do. We distributed food as usual on Friday and Monday morning we were completely moved into new space and filling the recipients cars and trucks with healthy food. The only reason I no longer work with the wonderful folks is that I moved 1500 miles away!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 20, 2012

more

January 20, 2012

I have had the honor of volunteering at Waste Not Want Not for the last 4 years. I was in search of a local charity where I could make a difference. I found that at Waste Not!
The dedication and generosity of spirit of the volunteers is contagious! To be a part of an organization focused
on rescuing food so that others might benefit is humbling and gratifying.
Food is not wasted and people, who would otherwise go without, are fed!
It is a win - win situation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Rescue an entire carload of donated food for those in need. Volunteer