Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I joined the board of Washtenaw Literacy three years ago, and have seen the personal impact it has made on so many lives in our community. A learner once told me, "you can't just touch one life, because when you help someone, you're helping their whole family and the lives of those around them". I continue to be amazed by the courage and commitment of the learners, the dedication of the volunteer network of tutors, and the passion of the Washtenaw Literacy staff. The organization punches-above-it's-weight by leveraging a volunteer network and in-kind gifts so that every dollar donated is turned into 4 dollars worth of services.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Everyone at Washtenaw Literacy, staff and volunteers, show tremendous dedication and commitment to the learners in the area. Their training programs are outstanding and their fundraisers are fun and successful. They use their resources in an extremely fiscally responsible way. The organization touches the lives of hundreds of people every year, enriching all those who serve and are served.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Washtenaw Literacy is a great organization. It offers free tutoring in basic literacy as well as in learning English as a Second Language. I have been a tutor in both areas and have seen first hand what a difference these services have made in the learners lives They have increased confidence, self esteem and job prospects. The staff is dedicated and work many extra hours in support of both learners and tutors. They also provide ongoing training to upgrade tutor skills.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

Washtenaw Literacy provides an essential service to the learners it serves - free tutoring for adults in reading, writing, and/or speaking English. As a tutor, I have seen first hand how much difference it makes in someone's life to become more independent through improved reading skills. Washtenaw Literacy also provides a great experience for volunteers. There are many ways to help - I have tutored one-on-one, worked with small groups, mentored other tutors, and helped at programs. The training for tutors is thorough and practical, and there are many opportunities to continue to learn more through updated workshops. The staff are very professional, and they have helped me find different ways to volunteer when I needed to change my schedule. I have always felt that my time and contributions have been valued by Washtenaw Literacy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

Washtenaw Literacy fosters an exceptional volunteer experience. The work (helping adults learn to read and write English) is so important, and a unique service. I see every week the direct life-changing impact that learning how to read has for learners. Moreover, the agency keeps volunteers connected with frequent training and social opportunities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

When I came to town two years ago, I immediately began looking for an organization to which I could contribute my time and talents. Within a few months, I was introduced to dozens of worthy organizations. Washtenaw Literacy stood out among so many great nonprofits because of its exceptional (and well deserved) reputation for changing so many people's lives. The network of WL volunteers have my unwaivering respect and admiration. I am proud to be associated with this truly great nonprofit organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Not only do I volunteer, I donate and help recruit/advertise as well. I started about 4 or 5 yrs. ago with tutoring ESL after trying some other local language schools. I just didn't find the same vibe, training & learner participation that I have with Washtenaw Literacy. Despite the great training they put me through, I also applaud how they run the nonprofit with such a small paid staff. They are very eager to be there for us, and really appreciate what our volunteers do to help to keep us going! The often have tutor socials, workshops, picnics, a recognition ceremony, a mentor program (which I'm now a part of!) and of course wonderful resources to use with our learners! Our fundraisers are exciting and give volunteers and learners the opportunity to really delve into the operation and gain experience - and they're fun! They deserve any and all recognition possible!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I retired after 40 years working at the University of Michigan and immediately volunteered with Washtenaw Literacy. It is about the best thing I ever did. The agency has a small paid staff and then hundreds of volunteers. The staff train everybody and then rely on experienced tutors to help the new ones. The staff provide continuing professional development opportunities, and the collaboration between volunteers and staff is wonderful. I tutor both ESL and native-English-user folks, and on either side they can be young adults or senior citizens or anyone in between. Many of us have had the experience of a learner saying "you have changed my life." What could be more satisfying than that?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

I have been a volunteer tutor with Washtenaw Literacy for 3 1/2 years, it's a tremendous experience. As a voracious reader and wanting to support local a philanthropic agency; it's been the perfect fit. We touch so many lives, connecting people from differing socio-economic and educational strata. I have learned so much more about my community and the people who live here that I would never have known otherwise. Washtenaw Literacy provides excellent training and resources to the tutors, and always has a waiting list of potential learners. I'm proud to be affiliated with such a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

Volunteering with Washtenaw Literacy is the best part of my week. I tutor English as a Second Language and look forward to each Wednesday night, when I get to help my learner improve her language skills while also teaching her about American culture. Washtenaw Literacy offers an opportunity to volunteer in a meaningful way on an ongoing basis while working in a fun, creative and thoughtful setting. The organization's staff is communicative, supportive and passionate about increasing literacy in our community. Whether you're a learner or someone who would like to volunteer, I would highly recommend becoming involved with this nonprofit organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers