Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

For nearly two decades I have had the privilege of serving as a team manager for DI in Washington State. It is an amazing program that develops teamwork, creativity, builds confidence and encourages kids to continually challenge themselves. Students work collaboratively to create solutions for well written, well developed Challenges that require a broad base of skills to solve. It is a unique program, as it is completely student driven/adult facilitated. Children's creativity and ingenuity is supported, rather then directed by team managers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I have been involved with Creative Problem Solving (C.P.S.) programs for twenty-five years, first with Odyssey of the Mind, then Destination: ImagiNation (D.I.). I started as a School Coordinator and Coach, then progressed to Team Manager, Globals Appraiser, Regional Director, and International Challenge Master. D.I. provides an outstanding experience for students and guides them to learn an amazing variety of skills.

I am a classroom teacher, and use many of the team building and CPS skills taught through the D.I. curriculum with my students.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

WIN organizes the BEST problem solving experience for kids called Destination Imagination (formerly Odyssey of the Mind). I have worked with kids at all ages as a coach/team manager. I am also a classroom teacher and I can share that this process is the best and most creative problem solving experience available for kids. With five different challenges each year, future engineers, musicians, mathematicians, leaders and theatre actors benefit greatly. IN DI there is a creative challenge for every member interested. Learning to work in a team of seven is an added benefit as kids learn to discover and contribute their individual skills to the solution of the challenge. DI offers training and support for new team managers and participants. DIve into DI!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

I have been involved with Destination Imagination for the past 8 years as a Team Manager for my daughter's team. I've watched these same group of kids grow from 4th grade to Seniors in High School. They have really learned how to be a highly functional Team. They know each others' strengths and weaknesses. They have learned the value of planning and measuring. They can think quickly and creatively to solve problems, but also can think broadly and deeply to arrive at the best idea. The organization truly values kids and their ideas and gives parents the opportunity to witness the amazing talents their kids have when they are allowed to create and learn independently.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

My children were involved with DI from elementary school through high school, and I'm amazed at how many skills this program taught them along the way. They learn to problem solve under pressure, meet strict guidelines, work with others, and communicate to large groups. I have beena volunteer at the Olympic Regional competition for 15 years and never regret donating a moment of my time to this organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

This is an amazing, real world experience for kids of all ages. When I watched my daughters work with thier team mates and be forced to generate fast ideas and then present them in a team environment I was so impressed. I have not seen a student organization like this. No parent involvement, just the kids thinking on their own. IF you ever get a chance to see the scenes, or the engineering structures kids in 2nd, 3rd and on create, it really is incredible. Then to watch my oldest daughter compete at globals was an unforgettable experience. To complete, interact with kids from all over the world was something she is working hard to do again. It is open to everyone and many teams stay together all the way into high school and we met several teams even in college. Talk about fun!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I started working with creative problem-solving programs in WA in 1986 and feel it is the most valuable educational program in which I have been involved. I started as a volunteer judge, and have been involved as a judge, team manager, parent, tournament director and board member. The reason I continue to volunteer my time to this organization is because the program provides students the opportunity to develop thinking skills, creative problem-solving, time management, leadership skills, and communication skills in a fun and rewarding environment. DI rocks!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

I can still remember the day I found out that I was going to have the opportunity to start participating in Destination Imagination as a second grader. I was ecstatic to have the chance to create stories and dress up in funny costumes with my friends. As I competed in DI for the next eleven years, I learned that I this opportunity was much more important than just dressing up and acting. The skills that I gained in DI have proven to be valuable in college, and I have no doubt that they will be indispensable for my future as a nurse. DI gave me the ability to stay calm and reason my way through stressful situations, confidence to speak effectively in front of people, teamwork skills, sportsmanship, engineering skills, artistic skills, and creativity. These are all skills that I will apply to all aspects of my life. DI was by far the most valuable childhood activity that I participated in.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

Destination Imagination affords students multiple and varied
opportunities to discover, refine, and combine the intangible
qualities of self-expression and imaginative thinking with hands-on,
team-based problem-solving challenges. The kind of personal character
qualities fostered
in the Destination Imagination experience serve
its participants well in collaborative efforts over the rest of their life,
benefiting them as individuals, but also the broader communities in
which they live and work.

I have served as a regional and state appraiser in the "Instant Challenge"
division of Destination Imagination annually since 1996.
- Donald L. Recker, Ferndale WA

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

I have been involved with Destination ImagiNation and WIN supported create problem solving for over 20 years taking on many roles including appraiser, team manager, challenge master and regional director. All 3 of my sons have participated on teams. My husband and sons continue to support the program through volunteering. It has been a joy watching my sons and the many children and adults I've met take on the challenges learning to work cooperatively and exploring their creative sides. When we step back as adults and give the children the freedom to take on the challenge themselves, the kids are amazing and the skills they learn benefit us all.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help at any of our 5 Regional Tournaments.