Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My kids have been involved with WIN for 6 years and it is the highlight of their year! Working together with their friends to creatively solve challenges really builds camaraderie and learning to think "outside the box" are skills that will last a life time

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My kids and I have been involved in this program for 12 years now. I can honestly say that of all the activities they have participated in, this program has had the single largest effect and impact on their lives. They are both well-spoken, confident young adults who know the value of hard work, largely due to WIN. In this program, kids learn life lessons and skills, all while having fun. The importance of this program cannot be stressed enough.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

I have been in the field of education for 37 years and involved with Destination ImagiNation and other creative problem-solcing programs in WA in many capacities: a mom of a DI participant, a team ma... more

October 30, 2013

I have worked in education for 38 years and have been involved with Destination Imagination for 25 years through the Washington Imagination Network (WIN). I have seen hundreds of my students and others develop skills in creative problem solving, presentation, drama, technology and team work through this engaging and well developed program. I have used the strategies both in training teachers and across the curriculum in teaching students. I have strengthened my own creative problem solving skills in the process! As a parent, a team manager, an appraiser, a regional director and a state board member - I have watched all facets of W.I.N. work tirelessly to bring this opportunity to the children, K-12, in the state of Washington. W.I.N. provides the structure of hundreds of volunteers and thousands of children to benefit from Destination Imagination.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Return the state funding lost three years past so WIN could spend more of it's energy on program improvement and less on fund raising. . . . .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

I have been in the field of education for 37 years and involved with Destination ImagiNation and other creative problem-solcing programs in WA in many capacities: a mom of a DI participant, a team manager, an appraiser, a trainer, a regional director, a state board member, a global volunteer. Obviously, I believe this is an essential program for a child's academic and affective growth. DI is curriculum that exemplifies best practices in teaching and learning.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I've been involved with WIN for over 20 years and have watched firsthand the positive impact it has on the students and adults involved. As an educator, it is exactly the kind of problem solving activity we want our kids to be engaged in!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

I've seen dozens of team members and all three of my children have a fantastic learning experience, learning how to solve problems on their own, learning lots of new life skills and becoming much more... more

October 30, 2013

WIN is a fantastic program, the impact on participants is a positive life experience. I've watched hundreds of teams and team members learn, grow and become stronger and more self confident over 20 years. I highly recommend the program.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012

I've seen dozens of team members and all three of my children have a fantastic learning experience, learning how to solve problems on their own, learning lots of new life skills and becoming much more self confident. I highly recommend the program to everyone!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I began working with Washington Imagination Network when I was a teacher in a Gifted Education program looking for extracurricular activities for my students. That was twenty years ago, I no longer teacher Gifted Ed, and I am still involved! This is a fantastic enrichment program for all kinds of kids, and any child who participates becomes a more effective and creative thinker, worker and group member. Despite many other draws on my time, I continue to work with WIN because I know it makes a difference in the lives of children. And since I have seen the budget over time, I know it does this with careful and responsible use of every single penny.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

restore public funding, it is such a deserving program and meets so many needs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I've been involved with WIN in some manner or another for about three years now. I've been impressed many times by what the smallest of children can accomplish with Destination Imagination's challenges.

But, from where I stand, as a regional director's assistant and the webmaster, what
I find most incredible are the organizers. They spend an unbelievable amount of time-- easily as much as a second job-- pulling together all of the necessary pieces and people to make the tournaments special. And then they go beyond that.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

After seeing the postitive effect WIN (Destination Imagination) was having on my kids, I got involved as a volunteer. That was fifteen years ago and I'm still at it. I continue to volunteer because I continue to see the opportuity kids have to learn such valuable life-skill as team work, communication, creativity and problem solving. The confidence kids get after a few years in DI is amazing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Kids in Washington State have been so fortunate to have WIN bring such an awesome creative problem solving programs into their lives. My daughter was involved in both Odyssey of the Mind and Destination Imagination for 12 years. It had such a positive impact on her life that I went from being a parent of a team member, to being a volunteer and now I am one of the Challenge Masters for Destination Imagination. Every year I get to see Destination Imagination team members shine with creativity as they work together as a team to solve the challenges that are presented to them. This program reaches all students, regardless if they are in public, private or home school. Thanks WIN!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish Washington Imagination Network could get funding/donations so that they could afford to reach out to more schools. I think there are a lot of kids who could really benefit from being on a Destination Imagination Team but their parents or teachers just haven't heard of the program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

DI has been a huge part of our kids lives the past couple of years in a very positive and meaningful way. They have learned creative problem solving and maybe more importantly how to work with other kids in small groups. Our family supports WIN / DI 100%.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help at any of our 5 Regional Tournaments.