Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
1234.813565
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

As animal lovers, our family is grateful for WHS. The passion of both their volunteers and their staff is just astounding, and their commitment to helping their animals and the animals of DC is endless. Not only are they saving countless lives, but they are changing and molding how the DC community interacts with and understands their pets and animals in general. Our family has interacted with WHS through volunteering, adoption and attending many events, and they never disappoint. Their compassion is infectious, and they are helping to shape and better DC.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

My company partners with WHS and their efforts in animal rescue. Once a month, they bring their Adopt Force One mobile adoption center to our office and we assist in manning it for a few hours, showing of adoptable animals, and introducing animals to the community. It's great to see animals find fur-ever homes but it's also great to show the community what loving creatures rescue animals are. In addition to the mobile adoptions, they have great events to raise money and awareness for animal rescue as well as Pack runs to get adoptable animals out and about on weekends. A wonderful organization that fights for a worthy cause!
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I work with organizations that support and work in animal welfare, I volunteered for the WHS, I fostered for the WHS, and I adopted my pets from the WHS. Their commitment to supporting DC animals and the owners that love them exceeds all standards. Their network of volunteers is one of envy and the entire team works tirelessly to ensure all DC animals find love and a home. I am proud to play a small role and am grateful for their work.
October 24, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 6, 2013

It always amazes me how much the Washington Humane Society staff truly cares about the mission of saving all animals, educating people about animal issues, and respecting all resources available to th... more

October 24, 2014

I have been volunteering for Washington Humane Society for the past 6+ years. Most of my work has been in the Administrative Offices and I have seen it develop into the strong organization it is today. Leadership is evident and growth is to be expected when you have this level of dedication and experience of staff and volunteers. Monies given to Washington Humane Society are used wisely and always with the customer (animals/community) in mind. Washington Humane Society continues to excel in animal care, whether it is thru the day to day operations, events, community education, or law enforcement. The future looks bright and I am happy to play a small part in the development.
September 6, 2013

It always amazes me how much the Washington Humane Society staff truly cares about the mission of saving all animals, educating people about animal issues, and respecting all resources available to them. My personal volunteer experience has been positive and the growth I see in all departments is exciting and a testament of staff dedication to the mission. Each doing their part to build up the organization. The future is bright in our Nations Capitol for all animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

Last year when my dear cat of 18 years passed away, I found myself at the Washington Humane Society, looking for a new buddy. I had spent time looking at various rescue organizations and their cats on line, but I kept coming back to the Washington Humane Society - they do so much work for the community and community animals that I wanted to support them. I'm really glad I did. The volunteers and adoption staff couldn't have been nicer - they were thoughtful, patient and kind, and they knew about the animals in their care. I ended up adopting a sweet 1 year old female cat. She and I have been great pals, and she has brought so much joy into my and my family's life. Just a few months ago I went back to WHS and adopted a younger male cat. They are the best of friends. The whole experience seemed to be a perfect combination of what WHS does - care for the animals, work incredibly hard to find them good homes, and look out for their Washington DC community. I'll be forever grateful to them!
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

The ENTIRE team at WHS - from the volunteers, to staff , to Fosters, to board members, were so wonderful with our adoption process. They helped with every detail and question to ensure that we found, and were prepared for, the most perfect furry family member. Even post-adoption, WHS checked in on us and provided resources to help us with our pup’s transition. We could not be more pleased with the process and so thrilled with our new dog. She is a joy to be around and was clearly very loved before coming to her forever home. WHS also offers a cadre of services once you are part of the WHS-family. The assistance with training, vaccinations, and dog friendly events is such an added bonus to this wonderful organization.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I've been volunteering for years, and even run the volunteer program for my large organization, so I'm sensitive to how volunteers are treated when donating their time. My involvement with the Washington Humane Society (WHS) has only grown in the past two years not just because I love animals, but because the programs that allow me to be involved in any way I am able and willing is well executed, thoughtful, appreciated, and supported. The staff does great work, under the strong leadership of the organization, and as a volunteer I feel very much a part of the mission to help all animals in our community. It is hard work, and can be emotionally draining, but even with very little, the WHS family continues to do everything possible to make lives better for all animals in our community whether under WHS care or in a loving home.
October 23, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 9, 2013

I adopted my new dog, Betsy Ross, from the Washington DC Humane Society. The staff of the WHS were knowledgeable, kind, and walked me through the entire process with a caring and professional hand. ... more

October 23, 2014

Adopting my pet from the Washington Humane Society was a tremendous experience. The staff is knowledgeable, compassionate and take the time to connect potential adoptive families with the perfect animal.
September 9, 2013

I adopted my new dog, Betsy Ross, from the Washington DC Humane Society. The staff of the WHS were knowledgeable, kind, and walked me through the entire process with a caring and professional hand. It was a terrific experience. I was also extraordinarily impressed with how devoted the staff was to the care and well being of every animal at the shelter. it was heart warming to see. The welfare of each creature in their care is clearly paramount in every decision they make.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

WHS connected me with my perfect little pup in 2012. Ever since, I have been proud to help such a wonderful organization in any way I possibly can. The team at WHS is beyond tireless and dedicated to their cause. My favorite thing about WHS is that EVERYTHING is always about the animals first and foremost; they never stray from that focus, even during black tie fundraisers! I truly believe in the work that WHS does and will continue to do my small part to help them!
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

Working with WHS is so rewarding. I know that I'm helping the dogs find their forever homes and, since I can't have a dog myself, I really value any time I can spend with the pups. There's nothing quite like the joy of witnessing an animal be adopted. The staff at WHS are truly dedicated and I love volunteering with them.
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers