Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.755
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
December 16, 2013

more

December 16, 2013

Kind, devoted staff but I always sense that something is incredibly off at this place. No real transparency. And the devoted staff? - they can't seem to hang onto them. Otherwise, I commend their efforts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

My first experience with WHS was over 12 years ago when we adopted our pup from them. Since then, I have volunteered with them to help in whatever way I can. The work they do in the community is tireless and needed - they advocate for all animals, save lives, and do everything possible to reduce violence toward living beings in our community. I can't say enough positive things about them!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 15, 2013

more

September 15, 2013

As a former board member and volunteer, I have seen this organization grow from what was perceived in the community to be the "animal shelter" become one of the most effective animal welfare organizations in the U.S. While it runs the D.C. animal shelter for the District of Columbia, it has numerous other programs that benefit animals and the larger community. Adoptions, animal behavior training, humane education, spay and neuter and Humane Law Enforcement.

What sets WHS apart from other rescue organizations and non-profits -
- it carries out is mission effectively
- it constantly reviews its performance and makes changes wherever possible to make it better
- It has improved its performance in measurable ways. For example, the number and percentages of animal adopted from its shelters has increased significantly over the past several years
- It is fiscally responsible
- It has a dynamic, dedicated team of staff and volunteers and an engaged and qualified board of directors

Much of the credit for the organization's remarkable performance belongs to its current president, Lisa LaFontaine. While she is charismatic, hard working and an excellent spokesperson for WHS, perhaps her most impressive but least-noticed accomplishment has been to put in place a team of exceptionally qualified and dedicated senior managers. This has enabled her to focus on many important matters besides day-to-day staff and program management.

Overall, a first-rate organization in every way.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

As a 20 year nonprofit veteran, I am blown away by the level and quality of work WHS does for the animals and community of Washington, DC. From cruelty prevention and humane education, to controlling the community cat population, to offering low-cost spaying and neutering to the public and providing loving care for thousands of stray and abandoned animals, WHS is everything an animal welfare organization should be. The staff is dedicated, passionate, and caring and they are always looking at ways to improve and innovate.

I started out my relationship with WHS as an adopter (yay Mr. Kitty!), then as a donor, and finally became a weekly volunteer at their New York Avenue shelter. WHS is a part of my community and my life and DC is lucky to have such a great organization. - Bethe Almeras

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to see them reach their fundraising goal to build a new shelter facility.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

The WHS is one of the most effective animal groups I have ever know. My first experience with the WHS team was when I adopted my pup Ella. They were extremely helpful in guiding me quickly through the adoption process and provided a lot of support with the transition of my best friend into my new home.

Through the years I've been impressed with the effectiveness of the WHS operation and their efforts to continually innovate and provide the much needed resources to fund their mission.

They are clearing one of the leading humane societies in the country, and am thankful for the great staff that provides support compassion for our animal friends in the Capital every day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are not many changes I could think the WHS could make.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

washington humane society is just the best!!! i have been volunteering with them since the early 90's in
different capacities. it is not easy to run the city shelter and they do an amazing job. their fundraising has gotten to an amazing and fabulous level. i have just raised $1200 for
them for the "walk for the animals". so easy. just email all your friends and family. go for it!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

I adopted my new dog, Betsy Ross, from the Washington DC Humane Society. The staff of the WHS were knowledgeable, kind, and walked me through the entire process with a caring and professional hand. It was a terrific experience. I was also extraordinarily impressed with how devoted the staff was to the care and well being of every animal at the shelter. it was heart warming to see. The welfare of each creature in their care is clearly paramount in every decision they make.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have supported WHS through donations (money and also supplies) for several years, but finally volunteered to be a foster parent this summer. The WHS staff were excellent and walked this first-time foster through the process and made sure my kittens were taken care of. WHS does so much with so little and I plan to continue my support of this very worthwhile organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be so great if WHS could build a new facility. The do what they can with the space they have, but I think the older building turns off a lot of potential adopters because it isn't "pretty."

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

I've been involved with WHS now for several years as a volunteer and supporter. They provide critical services to all animals in the DC area and are a truly dedicated group of individuals who love and care for needy, hurt, and homeless animals. The people who run and work at WHS are incredibly passionate about what they do and it shows. I've been in DC for many years and have seen an incredible improvement in the Washington Humane Society over the past several years in terms of impact. I would definitely recommend becoming involved with WHS as either a volunteer, foster, or donor.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

I have been a WHS volunteer for 5 years. The staffers and fellow volunteers are wonderful people who truly believe in advocating for animals. I look foward to continue volunteering to help fullfill the WHS mission and be a voice for animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers