Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.864865
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 15, 2014

more

July 15, 2014

Every time I walk through the facility, it makes me proud to be a volunteer here. Staff and volunteers are always busy keeping things immaculate. Dogs and cats have individual kennels with all sorts of creature comforts to reduce their stress, and each cage/kennel is completely emptied and cleaned from top to bottom every day. Dogs are walked and exercised by volunteers, and if there aren't enough volunteers, the staff pitches in. Cats have their own type of volunteers who take them out for one-on-one socialization...petting, grooming, play. That's what I do, and it is more rewarding than I could have imagined. I expect that the every volunteer, in every category, would say the same thing. The staff is amazing and dedicated. Potential adopters are assisted by an adoption counsellor to ensure a good match. This is a very impressive shelter, and deserves high praise.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 14, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 7, 2013

My husband and I have been volunteers at WCHS for almost two years. We socialize cats and work as adoption counselors for cats. We find the staff and volunteers to be extremely caring, patient and h... more

July 14, 2014

We adopted a kitten from WCHS about 5 1/2 yrs ago and were impressed with the help we got at the time. Since then we've volunteered there for about 3 yrs socializing cats and working as adoption counselors for cats and dogs. We're continually impressed with the caring, expertise and professionalism of the staff and volunteers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

love to help raise money for more space for the animals to be shown and treated medically.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 7, 2013

My husband and I have been volunteers at WCHS for almost two years. We socialize cats and work as adoption counselors for cats. We find the staff and volunteers to be extremely caring, patient and helpful to customers, staff and volunteers alike. We're always amazed at the generosity of the community with their donations and what WCHS can do with their help.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to find more money for them so they can enlarge their facility and make more room for their sick animals, adoption rooms, viewing areas, etc.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful


We initially learned of the Washington County Humane Society when we adopted a kitten from them about 3 years ago - we were very impressed with the shelter and the people that worked there. About 6 months ago we started volunteering at the shelter socializing the cats. The staff are very
knowledgeable about the animals and care deeply for them. The staff and volunteers are hardworking and caring - we're truly amazed at the level of cooperation, professionalism and commitment everyone at WCHS exhibits. Great organization and great people.
More feedback...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 14, 2014

more

July 14, 2014

The staff is phenomenal. They really care about the animals and work endlessly to raise money via multiple fundraisers throughout the year. My daughter and I are not able to volunteer as much as we'd like but occasionally walk dogs, distribute flyers, and help with fundraisers. It is through these opportunities that we see the true champions for the animals-the regular dog walkers and all the people behind the scenes are amazing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2013

more

July 16, 2013

It all started when I won a Christmas tree at "The Festival of Trees" I wanted to give back something, so I signed up to volunteer. From cleaning to baking and helping with fundraisers, including taking pictures at the events.
I now have become one of WCHS's photographers for the adoptable
animals, mostly cats and lots of kittens!
What a great way to enjoy my retirement! I love to go there and I hate to leave! It's the most rewarding experience I have ever had to see that one of my pictures may have helped a cat, kitten dog, rat, bird, bunny, guinea pig and even a turtle and a pot-bellied pig too, find their "Furever Home"!
The minute you enter the WCHS you feel the Love in the air for all the animals! and the animals feel it too!
Thank you WCHS for all you do!
I am so proud to be a part of this Great and Wonderful team!!!!!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I love it there!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 3, 2013

more

June 3, 2013

My husband and I adopted our kitty from WCHS and later, I became a volunteer there. I'm so proud to be associated with this loving, committed group of people. Everyone at WCHS seems to be working toward the same goal: to provide a safe, warm, healthy, nurturing environment for each animal - for however long it takes to find its forever home. And sometimes, it takes a long time. Our kitty had been at the shelter for eight months when we met and adopted her in 2007.Thankfully, the WCHS welcome mat has no time limit. Today, as a volunteer, I see many of the same animals at WCHS week after week, month after month. Outsiders may have a tendency to feel sorry for these long-time shelter residents (I did, at first!), but the fact is, these animals are well cared for and get a lot of attention during their time at WCHS. I have to believe that in many cases, an animal's life at WCHS is the best life they've known.

So if you're looking for a pet, searching for a volunteer opportunity or considering making a charitable contribution, choose WCHS. You will not be disappointed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 22, 2013

more

April 22, 2013

The WASHINGTON COUNTY HUMANE SOCIETY is a great place to visit and volunteer. Your work is appreciated and you get a real feeling that you're making a difference in animals' lives. It is well run and the people care for the various creatures.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 18, 2013

more

April 18, 2013

This shelter is a family of people who love animals, love to treat them well, and do so with a smile. It is always a nice greeting as anyone enters, and a pleasant experience for people and pets of any kind.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

I started volunteering with WCHS in 2010. Their volunteer coordinator, Kerry was very welcoming and flexible in finding opportunities based on our skills and availability. Every time I walk in the doors everyone is friendly and appreciative of the help. They have such success in finding the animals new homes that they are able to help out other areas of Wisconsin who may have more animals than adopters. The animals are always well-cared for, I recommend them to everyone! In fact, my mom adopted a dog from them a few months ago.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

I personally was involved in the Feline Intervention Program (FIP) and I found the requirements of even the volunteers were set to expectations and the facility provided a fantastic environment for the volunteers and the animals themselves. The facility really has captured the state of being that the animals need to connect with people again and vise versa, and brought it to life. In my position, I dealt with older cats and cats that may have been in the shelter for a notable period of time, and pretty much just socialized with them so when the right person came along they would still have the "social" skills they need to catch the person's eye. There are specific rooms for this program that I find very useful and complete with the appropriate materials needed to properly socialize the cats. The overall environment is truly unlike any other. A shelter is a place where animals and people should bond and come together, and at the Washington County Humane Society that's exactly what is being executed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 9, 2012

I have been a volunteer at the Washington County Humane Society for a number of years after moving to this area about 20 years ago. I have seen the shelter grow and improve their services during that... more

April 11, 2013

Washington County Humane Society is a great rescue group. The staff and volunteers truly have a love for the animals they care for. There is no time limit on the animals they care for, they will wait for the right match for the animals to find their forever home. When I looked to adopt, I found my dog here. Plus their adoption fees are not as much as many other groups. They help educate the community , offer services such a dog training, feral cat program, barn buddies ( spay/neuter) , youth summer programs and visitation to area nursing facilities. If you are looking to adopt, this is the place to shop.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer at the Washington County Humane Society for a number of years after moving to this area about 20 years ago. I have seen the shelter grow and improve their services during that time. I am a volunteer dog walker and help with special fundraising events. I also served as a foster for a mom and her pups. I ended up adopting one of the puppies. I truly believe that the organization has the best interests of the animals in mind. They reach out to the community with educational programs in the schools. They have a volunteer Pet-A-Pet program where screened animals visit people in extended care facilities. They have dog training programs open to the public at very reasonable prices. The facility is kept very clean and best possible facilities are used to house the animals. My one suggestion would be to post a list of strays brought in on their website. This could help those looking for lost pets and cut down on the phone calls they receive. Overall, I would recommend adopting a pet from this shelter and are worthy of your support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers