Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.870975
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 18, 2013

more

April 18, 2013

This shelter is a family of people who love animals, love to treat them well, and do so with a smile. It is always a nice greeting as anyone enters, and a pleasant experience for people and pets of any kind.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

Everything about our experience in adopting a new cat was wonderful. Every person we met was helpful and friendly and genuinely seemed to want to be doing what they were doing. The facilities were clean and inviting and were geared the animals comfort and safety. I think what impressed us most was that they were very busy and yet everyone really cared that we found the right match for our family. I could see that attitude in every employee and volunteer that seemed to care that this was a life decision.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

I am a police officer in a near by jurisdiction. I have had the pleasure of working with a few of the members of Washington County Humane Society a couple of times. They have always been willing to assist whenever I have called. Three members of the facility came out and helped remove dozens of cats out of a residence a couple years back. They maintained their professionalism while attempting to catch these cats, many feral, some deceased, all while explaining the process to the homeowner and helping keep them calm during a traumatic event. The individuals were hoarders and appeared to be experiencing some mental health issues.

The members of the WCHS have always been willing to help, whether it'd be answering any questions I had or by loaning out live traps to assist with catching a loose animal. Every time I have spoken to someone there or have visited the facility, I've been greeted with a smile and an eagerness to help.

This organization is always trying to improve with the limited resources it has. Their priority is to find loving homes for their animals. I'm amazed at what they are able to accomplish. WCHS took in a mini potbellied pig that no other animal shelter in the area was willing to accept. Not only were they willing to help this animal, they found Wilbur a loving home in a very short amount of time!

I can't say enough good things about this organization. They are truly deserving of this acknowledgment and would utilize it to help benefit the animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

I started volunteering with WCHS in 2010. Their volunteer coordinator, Kerry was very welcoming and flexible in finding opportunities based on our skills and availability. Every time I walk in the doors everyone is friendly and appreciative of the help. They have such success in finding the animals new homes that they are able to help out other areas of Wisconsin who may have more animals than adopters. The animals are always well-cared for, I recommend them to everyone! In fact, my mom adopted a dog from them a few months ago.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

I personally was involved in the Feline Intervention Program (FIP) and I found the requirements of even the volunteers were set to expectations and the facility provided a fantastic environment for the volunteers and the animals themselves. The facility really has captured the state of being that the animals need to connect with people again and vise versa, and brought it to life. In my position, I dealt with older cats and cats that may have been in the shelter for a notable period of time, and pretty much just socialized with them so when the right person came along they would still have the "social" skills they need to catch the person's eye. There are specific rooms for this program that I find very useful and complete with the appropriate materials needed to properly socialize the cats. The overall environment is truly unlike any other. A shelter is a place where animals and people should bond and come together, and at the Washington County Humane Society that's exactly what is being executed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 9, 2012

I have been a volunteer at the Washington County Humane Society for a number of years after moving to this area about 20 years ago. I have seen the shelter grow and improve their services during that... more

April 11, 2013

Washington County Humane Society is a great rescue group. The staff and volunteers truly have a love for the animals they care for. There is no time limit on the animals they care for, they will wait for the right match for the animals to find their forever home. When I looked to adopt, I found my dog here. Plus their adoption fees are not as much as many other groups. They help educate the community , offer services such a dog training, feral cat program, barn buddies ( spay/neuter) , youth summer programs and visitation to area nursing facilities. If you are looking to adopt, this is the place to shop.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer at the Washington County Humane Society for a number of years after moving to this area about 20 years ago. I have seen the shelter grow and improve their services during that time. I am a volunteer dog walker and help with special fundraising events. I also served as a foster for a mom and her pups. I ended up adopting one of the puppies. I truly believe that the organization has the best interests of the animals in mind. They reach out to the community with educational programs in the schools. They have a volunteer Pet-A-Pet program where screened animals visit people in extended care facilities. They have dog training programs open to the public at very reasonable prices. The facility is kept very clean and best possible facilities are used to house the animals. My one suggestion would be to post a list of strays brought in on their website. This could help those looking for lost pets and cut down on the phone calls they receive. Overall, I would recommend adopting a pet from this shelter and are worthy of your support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

WCHS is one of the best! I am fairly new to the area and within my first year I had heard nothing but rave reviews about WCHS. My first visit was to drop off a stray calico kitten. They were very busy on this Saturday afternoon and the staff was very pleasant and professional.
I have since
become a volunteer at WCHS and am very glad I chose to do this. The love and attention the animals receive at this site is amazing. Every animal is loved and cared for each and every day. We always have a new variety of dogs to walk because sop many of them get adopted out. The staff are also very professional and caring in how they match animals to family's. They really care about the relationship and the situation needs to be a match for the animals personality as well. I am proud and honored to be a volunteer at WCHS :O)!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 16, 2012

Washington County Humane Society in Slinger Wisconsin is such an amazing place. The way they go out of their way to help all the animals that come to this shelter is unbelievalbe. I have never seen ... more

April 8, 2013

WONDERFUL SHELTER. KIND AND LOVING STAFF TO ALL THE ANIMALS. MARNIE BROWN THE DIRECTOR IS AMAZING. THEY NEED SO MUCH HELP AND STILL DO A GREAT JOB IN TAKING CARE OF ALL THE ANIMALS THEY TAKE IN. THEY HOUSE ANIMALS WHEN THERE IS A DOMESTIC ABUSE CASE GOING ON WITH A WOMEN AND SHE HAS NO WHERE TO PUT HER DOG OR CAT, THEY TAKE THEM IN FOR THEM. THEY GIVE SPECIAL NEED DOGS ALL THE ATTENTION AND HELP THEY NEED, AND THEN GO OUT OF THEIR WAY TO FIND THE PERFECT HOME FOR THEM. THEY NEED MEDICAL FUNDS AND MORE SPACE SO THEY CAN KEEP DOING THE GOOD THAT THEY DO FOR THE ENTIRE COMMUNITY.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

Washington County Humane Society in Slinger Wisconsin is such an amazing place. The way they go out of their way to help all the animals that come to this shelter is unbelievalbe. I have never seen such a caring staff. They have taken in many wounded, sick, and mistreated animals, that no one else would take and nursed them back to heath with everything they are able to offer. This is not a fancy shelter by no means, They need alot of things and more room, but you would never know it from the wonderful staff they have, the incredible director Marnie Brown, and the whole team that help run this humane society. Our community is so proud of this place. They have done some miraculous things for the many animals they take in and for the people that come through the doors. One of their main goals is to always ensure the dog, or cat gets with the perfect family. They don't shove the animals out the door to just anybody just so they can open up space. They want to make sure the animal is in a caring and loving home. That is what made me be a volunteer there. They are so deserving of this award.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 17, 2012

WCHS is probably one of the best humane societys in Wisconsin. I have volunteered there for 4-1/2 years. They have a very compansionate and caring staff for all the animlals. They don't have alot of space and need some new equipment, but none the less, they do a wonderful job with the animals. They try very hard to find the right family/person for the dog, cat, etc..., and make sure they end up in a forever home, it is not about just getting the animal out the door. They truly care about where the animal goes and the family that takes them. They use every dollar they get in caring for this place and the animals. Please help them in any way you can. They ar so deserving of it,. They are a no kill shelter and do everything they can for every animal that enters their door. Vicki P.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 1, 2012

more

February 1, 2012

WCHS is an amazing animal welfare organization! One step into their facility and it is apparent that their animals are very well cared for and loved. Each animal has a bed to lay on, soft blankets to keep them warm, and toys to keep them busy. The staff and volunteers are educated, professional, and really pride themselves in making good animal-human matches. I have adopted 5 animals from them throughout the years and each counseling and adoption experience I've had with them was wonderful! I give them an A+!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 29, 2012

more

January 29, 2012

The Washington County Humane Society (WCHS) of Slinger, Wisconsin is a great organization dedicated to the welfare of the homeless animals that come through its doors. They help the sick as well as the healthy animals, love animals and truly care about the animals' well-being. The volunteers & staff do a great job of keeping the cages & facility clean. WCHS has a free Trap Neuter & Release program for cats which helps a great deal to keep the population of feral (those cats that have never had & will not accept human contact) down. There is also the Barn Buddies program to offer low cost spay/neuter & vaccinations for friendly outdoor cats. The more we can convince people to spay/neuter cats, the easier it will be to place the existing cats in loving homes. The adoption counselors are dedicated, friendly people who volunteer their time to work to match the adopter with an animal that suits them & their lifestyle. A good friend of mine & my sister have adopted cats from WCHS & are totally pleased with them. I would highly recommend the Washington County Humane Society to anyone looking for a pet, wanting to volunteer or wishing to make a donation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers