Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.864865
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

Moving to the country introduced me to 'barn cats'....and I found one who adopted me as her own. She suffered some frostbite, losing the tips of her ears and part of her tail. Despite this she greets me and now has a warm spot in the winter. She blessed us with 2 litters of kittens. I managed to find homes for all 9 but knew I was pushing my luck on finding homes for any more. THANKS to the barn buddy program she is now fixed and free to roam and mouse to her hearts content without worry of more kittens (cute as they are). She's the best mouser out there. I remind my friends in Washington County that this program is the best to prevent over population of feral cats. Thanks again, WCHS!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I have had companion animals since 1981. In 2008-2010, during the span of approximately two years, I lost my cat (old age), my momma Akita (old age and health issues) and her pup (cancer). I couldn't image life without a companion animal, and I didn't do well with the lose of my pets in such a short amount of time. The staff at Washington County Humane Society were amazingly compassionate interacting with me. I had gone to their facility to look at two dogs who had been at the shelter for many months, and I ended up adopting both of them - brothers who had been surrendered. From start to finish, my experience with the Shelter and staff was nothing short of professional and welcoming. I was able to take time in the yard with both dogs to see how they interacted, I was given a bit of information about their background - though they couldn't provide much past the basics of age, current health, etc. I was impressed by the amount of vetting they do with potential owners, the amount of resources they make available to people, the process of adopting from their shelter - and perhaps most important - their willingness to work with my schedule and board the "boys" for an extra few days until I could bring them home. We continue to support the Washington County Humane Society and I encourage people to support this shelter as often as I have the chance. I recently started a tiny business, and portions of the sales proceeds are dedicated to the Shelter for their continued support and immense care of the animals in our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Truly there isn't much to change here. My only wish for this shelter would be a guardian angel who would provide the funding necessary to expand their shelter so they may continue doing exactly what they do for the welfare of animals!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 3, 2013

more

June 3, 2013

My husband and I adopted our kitty from WCHS and later, I became a volunteer there. I'm so proud to be associated with this loving, committed group of people. Everyone at WCHS seems to be working toward the same goal: to provide a safe, warm, healthy, nurturing environment for each animal - for however long it takes to find its forever home. And sometimes, it takes a long time. Our kitty had been at the shelter for eight months when we met and adopted her in 2007.Thankfully, the WCHS welcome mat has no time limit. Today, as a volunteer, I see many of the same animals at WCHS week after week, month after month. Outsiders may have a tendency to feel sorry for these long-time shelter residents (I did, at first!), but the fact is, these animals are well cared for and get a lot of attention during their time at WCHS. I have to believe that in many cases, an animal's life at WCHS is the best life they've known.

So if you're looking for a pet, searching for a volunteer opportunity or considering making a charitable contribution, choose WCHS. You will not be disappointed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 3, 2013

more

June 3, 2013

Adopted my cat from here, it was fast, easy, and they are very friendly! They helped us pick the perfect one for us, he is very healthy, and active at times thank you! :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Control the smell of the animals

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2013

more

April 22, 2013

The WASHINGTON COUNTY HUMANE SOCIETY is a great place to visit and volunteer. Your work is appreciated and you get a real feeling that you're making a difference in animals' lives. It is well run and the people care for the various creatures.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 18, 2013

more

April 18, 2013

This shelter is a family of people who love animals, love to treat them well, and do so with a smile. It is always a nice greeting as anyone enters, and a pleasant experience for people and pets of any kind.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

Everything about our experience in adopting a new cat was wonderful. Every person we met was helpful and friendly and genuinely seemed to want to be doing what they were doing. The facilities were clean and inviting and were geared the animals comfort and safety. I think what impressed us most was that they were very busy and yet everyone really cared that we found the right match for our family. I could see that attitude in every employee and volunteer that seemed to care that this was a life decision.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

I am a police officer in a near by jurisdiction. I have had the pleasure of working with a few of the members of Washington County Humane Society a couple of times. They have always been willing to assist whenever I have called. Three members of the facility came out and helped remove dozens of cats out of a residence a couple years back. They maintained their professionalism while attempting to catch these cats, many feral, some deceased, all while explaining the process to the homeowner and helping keep them calm during a traumatic event. The individuals were hoarders and appeared to be experiencing some mental health issues.

The members of the WCHS have always been willing to help, whether it'd be answering any questions I had or by loaning out live traps to assist with catching a loose animal. Every time I have spoken to someone there or have visited the facility, I've been greeted with a smile and an eagerness to help.

This organization is always trying to improve with the limited resources it has. Their priority is to find loving homes for their animals. I'm amazed at what they are able to accomplish. WCHS took in a mini potbellied pig that no other animal shelter in the area was willing to accept. Not only were they willing to help this animal, they found Wilbur a loving home in a very short amount of time!

I can't say enough good things about this organization. They are truly deserving of this acknowledgment and would utilize it to help benefit the animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

I started volunteering with WCHS in 2010. Their volunteer coordinator, Kerry was very welcoming and flexible in finding opportunities based on our skills and availability. Every time I walk in the doors everyone is friendly and appreciative of the help. They have such success in finding the animals new homes that they are able to help out other areas of Wisconsin who may have more animals than adopters. The animals are always well-cared for, I recommend them to everyone! In fact, my mom adopted a dog from them a few months ago.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

I personally was involved in the Feline Intervention Program (FIP) and I found the requirements of even the volunteers were set to expectations and the facility provided a fantastic environment for the volunteers and the animals themselves. The facility really has captured the state of being that the animals need to connect with people again and vise versa, and brought it to life. In my position, I dealt with older cats and cats that may have been in the shelter for a notable period of time, and pretty much just socialized with them so when the right person came along they would still have the "social" skills they need to catch the person's eye. There are specific rooms for this program that I find very useful and complete with the appropriate materials needed to properly socialize the cats. The overall environment is truly unlike any other. A shelter is a place where animals and people should bond and come together, and at the Washington County Humane Society that's exactly what is being executed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers