Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.870975
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 18, 2013

more

July 18, 2013

We had been looking at pictures of adoptable cats at local shelters. We came across a picture of Butch. We went to see Butch well he had this naughty little habit of biting. So we thought against him. But that day we got adopted by Simba helooked like a crabby old man but is such a love bug. But my mind went back to Butch and we took the plunge and adopted him. He was 19 pounds of pure love bug. We unfortunately lost our beloved Butch three months to the day we adopted him due to liver failure. The condolences from the staff were wonderful. They are s wonderful group of people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes need to be made they are wonderful the way they are

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 16, 2013

more

July 16, 2013

I personally am so very thankful for the Washington County Humane Society. They have served me, my family and many other members of my family with the gift of our special pets. I have had such a great experience that I tell all that I can about the kindness, devotion and love you will recieve when looking to rescue a new member of your family. My recent pup (7 years old now) was adopted at 8 weeks old and he is one of a kind! My buddy is our life here at our home and he and the Washington County Humane society has changed my life.

I would also like to share that Marne Brown is such a devoted woman to the animals that she goes way above and beyond to take care of her animals even after they are adopted. I worked at a retirement community where a senior had adopted a dog named "Peg" and they were inseparable and then the unheard of, the senior had to go to the hospital and Marne took "peg" in and took care of her till my friend returned back to his apartment, where he could take care of "Peg". This kind of devotion to me is unheard of and Marne continued to be there for my friend and peg to the day Peg got so sick that she had to be put down to keep her from any more pain... and guess who was there for that difficult day? Marne was there, we cried together, held each other and helped each other thru this difficult time.

So if someone wants to know what I think about the Washington County Humane Society... I can only say they are THE BEST!

Thanks Marne for you and your organization, and you are never far from my thoughts and how YOU MAKE SUCH A DIFFERENCE in our community!

Thank you so much for making my life complete with my dog Buddy! He is the light of our life and its because of Marne and the Washington County Humane Society!

Sincerely,

Kathy Elsesser
Jackson, Wisconsin

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would win the lottery and give them more money to help more animals, they are awesome! I try to donate anything I can to help with bathing, grooming, food etc. I go to their fund raisers, as well as promote them when ever I can. Unfortunately they don't have enough money to do all they want to do. I have had my family members help with this as well and they also have the same regards to the WCHS.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 16, 2013

more

July 16, 2013

I have always been able to rely on adopting all my pets over the years from WCHS. Currently, I have my cats, Trix and Jax (used to be Reebok). As a teen I volunteered for them doing special projects and had a very positive experience. They really motivate you to want to learn more and help their cause. WCHS has always remained exceptionally clean and organized and am confident each animal kept there is in the best place possible before their forever home.

The staff is extremely knowledgeable and friendly to the animals and adopters. They do great promotion of their animals through their website, Facebook, numerous fund-raising and awareness events. Their turn-around of animals seems very quick, which is wonderful! I personally love them on Facebook because every time they promote a particular animal that may be there longer, we can share it on our personal page to get them adopted even faster. If you have a behavior problem with your adopted animal (I did), the staff takes the time to really help you and teach you how to fix the particular issue. They're great about keeping in touch with you to make sure you and your pet are happy.

My kids are 6 and 10, and I am highly encouraging them to volunteer for WCHS when they are old enough!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Promote more fund-raising in elementary schools (I believe they do some already). Kids are huge animal lovers and it's great to teach them young. Put a locked box at the entry of each elementary school in Washington County with a picture of a cute puppy/kitten on it and when they donate, they receive a sticker/sucker, etc from the office.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 16, 2013

more

July 16, 2013

It all started when I won a Christmas tree at "The Festival of Trees" I wanted to give back something, so I signed up to volunteer. From cleaning to baking and helping with fundraisers, including taking pictures at the events.
I now have become one of WCHS's photographers for the adoptable
animals, mostly cats and lots of kittens!
What a great way to enjoy my retirement! I love to go there and I hate to leave! It's the most rewarding experience I have ever had to see that one of my pictures may have helped a cat, kitten dog, rat, bird, bunny, guinea pig and even a turtle and a pot-bellied pig too, find their "Furever Home"!
The minute you enter the WCHS you feel the Love in the air for all the animals! and the animals feel it too!
Thank you WCHS for all you do!
I am so proud to be a part of this Great and Wonderful team!!!!!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I love it there!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 10, 2012

We initially learned of the Washington County Humane Society when we adopted a kitten from them about 3 years ago - we were very impressed with the shelter and the people that worked there. About 6 m... more

June 7, 2013

My husband and I have been volunteers at WCHS for almost two years. We socialize cats and work as adoption counselors for cats. We find the staff and volunteers to be extremely caring, patient and helpful to customers, staff and volunteers alike. We're always amazed at the generosity of the community with their donations and what WCHS can do with their help.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to find more money for them so they can enlarge their facility and make more room for their sick animals, adoption rooms, viewing areas, etc.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful


We initially learned of the Washington County Humane Society when we adopted a kitten from them about 3 years ago - we were very impressed with the shelter and the people that worked there. About 6 months ago we started volunteering at the shelter socializing the cats. The staff are very
knowledgeable about the animals and care deeply for them. The staff and volunteers are hardworking and caring - we're truly amazed at the level of cooperation, professionalism and commitment everyone at WCHS exhibits. Great organization and great people.
More feedback...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

Moving to the country introduced me to 'barn cats'....and I found one who adopted me as her own. She suffered some frostbite, losing the tips of her ears and part of her tail. Despite this she greets me and now has a warm spot in the winter. She blessed us with 2 litters of kittens. I managed to find homes for all 9 but knew I was pushing my luck on finding homes for any more. THANKS to the barn buddy program she is now fixed and free to roam and mouse to her hearts content without worry of more kittens (cute as they are). She's the best mouser out there. I remind my friends in Washington County that this program is the best to prevent over population of feral cats. Thanks again, WCHS!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I have had companion animals since 1981. In 2008-2010, during the span of approximately two years, I lost my cat (old age), my momma Akita (old age and health issues) and her pup (cancer). I couldn't image life without a companion animal, and I didn't do well with the lose of my pets in such a short amount of time. The staff at Washington County Humane Society were amazingly compassionate interacting with me. I had gone to their facility to look at two dogs who had been at the shelter for many months, and I ended up adopting both of them - brothers who had been surrendered. From start to finish, my experience with the Shelter and staff was nothing short of professional and welcoming. I was able to take time in the yard with both dogs to see how they interacted, I was given a bit of information about their background - though they couldn't provide much past the basics of age, current health, etc. I was impressed by the amount of vetting they do with potential owners, the amount of resources they make available to people, the process of adopting from their shelter - and perhaps most important - their willingness to work with my schedule and board the "boys" for an extra few days until I could bring them home. We continue to support the Washington County Humane Society and I encourage people to support this shelter as often as I have the chance. I recently started a tiny business, and portions of the sales proceeds are dedicated to the Shelter for their continued support and immense care of the animals in our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Truly there isn't much to change here. My only wish for this shelter would be a guardian angel who would provide the funding necessary to expand their shelter so they may continue doing exactly what they do for the welfare of animals!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 3, 2013

more

June 3, 2013

My husband and I adopted our kitty from WCHS and later, I became a volunteer there. I'm so proud to be associated with this loving, committed group of people. Everyone at WCHS seems to be working toward the same goal: to provide a safe, warm, healthy, nurturing environment for each animal - for however long it takes to find its forever home. And sometimes, it takes a long time. Our kitty had been at the shelter for eight months when we met and adopted her in 2007.Thankfully, the WCHS welcome mat has no time limit. Today, as a volunteer, I see many of the same animals at WCHS week after week, month after month. Outsiders may have a tendency to feel sorry for these long-time shelter residents (I did, at first!), but the fact is, these animals are well cared for and get a lot of attention during their time at WCHS. I have to believe that in many cases, an animal's life at WCHS is the best life they've known.

So if you're looking for a pet, searching for a volunteer opportunity or considering making a charitable contribution, choose WCHS. You will not be disappointed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 3, 2013

more

June 3, 2013

Adopted my cat from here, it was fast, easy, and they are very friendly! They helped us pick the perfect one for us, he is very healthy, and active at times thank you! :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Control the smell of the animals

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2013

more

April 22, 2013

The WASHINGTON COUNTY HUMANE SOCIETY is a great place to visit and volunteer. Your work is appreciated and you get a real feeling that you're making a difference in animals' lives. It is well run and the people care for the various creatures.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers