Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.903235
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is our first year attending Warriors for Autism camp. I wish I had found this several years ago. At first I was apprehensive about leaving my minimally verbal child with people I didn't know. I was instantaneously put at ease upon meeting Ms. Susan.The first day I was amazed by the creativity of the converted school bus "clubhouse". My son was excited to say the least. He wanted me to leave so he could get on with his camp. When I picked him up I was overwhelmed to see my little guy riding on a train...yes, one that looks just like Thomas the train! He loved it. There is a pool/ water play, playground equipment and many many animals. There is great attention to detail I in all aspects of the camp. My son has never really been around animals so this is a leap for him. He is feeding, grooming, and even riding horses. I cannot say enough about how lucky I feel to have enrolled my son in this camp. There are not that many things really available for kids that are not high on the spectrum and this camp has room for all! I just wish I had signed up for more than two weeks! We will be back next year!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would change nothing! I would only hope for greater fund raising power to continue to maintain and improve the facilities. The owners/management are clearly extremely creative and additional funding could only allow them to continue their mission?

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 21, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 13, 2013

Warriors for Autism is one of the few organizations that directly helps families on the spectrum, there is no middle man here. more

July 21, 2014

Warriors for Autism Inc. continues to be an outstanding, dedicated non profit organizations in the Tampa Bay are, It is my pleasure to volunteer with them, wish I could do it fulltime.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a way to make it grow and help more individuals on the spectrum.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2013

Warriors for Autism is one of the few organizations that directly helps families on the spectrum, there is no middle man here.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It is with the greatest of pleasure that I give my time to such a wonderful organization " Warriors for Autism" when I see the look on the childrens faces at the summer camp, how they react to the farm, petting the animals or riding the ponies or horses , swimming or just outdoors fun. Children with Autism are never separated from their non Austistic siblings making for a more confortable state of mind for them with familiar faces, they can relax and ejoy the farm and camp a lot easier than other camps. Also with the other family oriented comunity events that we are able to provide here in the area one can see the need for such programs for these families in need of so much support. Please help Warriors for Autism continue to provide support right here in Tampa Bay.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

holiday events, Warriors for Autism Inc. summer camp. fund raisers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Family member founded.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

to make a difference in the ASD community.

What is its top priority in the long run?

finding a cure for Autism.

July 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

This is my daughter's 2nd summer @ the camp. There are limited options for kids w special needs to enjoy summer camp in the area, and this one makes up for that. My daughter loves being here & looks forward to the summer because if this camp.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The kids had fun - my daughter had a blast, learned a lot about patience, waiting her turn, adapting to new people/situations and space plus they got attention, interaction needed to keep creating the overall package in their lives...
Ms. Sue is magical, the perfect person to lead the camp,
group size was good
These camps are important and there is a new generation of kids needing the same experiences and their families to see the results... and be proud of their accomplishments...

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More volunteers every week supporting the great work being done by Ms. Sue. So every child receives her attention and opportunity to solidify their emerging skills

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

REAL PASSION FOR A REAL CAUSE. GREAT PLEASURE IN WORKING WITH DEENA AND WARRIORS FOR AUTISM. OUR CHILDREN SCHOOL TOGETHER AND DONATING MY TIME TO HELP HER WAS GREATLY REWARDING. ADMIRABLE DEDICATION TO A DYNAMIC ORGANIZATION AND LOOKING FORWARD TO MANY MORE YEARS OF VOLUNTEERING AND RELATIONSHIP BUILDING IN THE COMMUNITY! KUDOS TO DEENA!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

CLONE DEENA AS HER PASSION FOR THIS CAUSE, WOULD CHANGE THE WORLD.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

It's difficult finding summer activities camps for teens and when their on the autism spectrum it's that much more difficult. Our children attended WFA's camp at Horsepower for Kids and they had a blast. I was able to go to work and know that my son (as well as his typical sister) were well taken care of with the caring and knowledgeable volunteers and they had a ball!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more funds to expand their programs

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 3, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 3, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

It took years to decide to venture out & find a summer camp for my son but where would he be not only accepted & understood but appreciated for the gifts he has to give? I was thrilled to find Warriors for Autism and their dedicated, loving summer camp staff. My son had the time of his life learning to ride a horse, feed the farm animals, swim and do arts & crafts at the Horsepower for Kids Farm (and what a supportive partner they are for the organization!) so much so that we hatched 2 chickens at home this summer when we saw how it helped our son connect to others by sharing his passion for the farm animals! We will definitely be back and appreciate keeping in touch with the group and the insightful information they post about the spectrum on Facebook. Thanks Deena and all the group's supporters for making this available to families in need!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Deena and the group Warriors for Autism is so dedicated in enriching the lives of individuals with autism. They do amazing work year round for families. The summer camp is a huge success and they do a phenomenal job! Keep up the great work Deena and team.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Great Group...Lot's of wonderful information!!!!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Working with Deena's warriors for Autism summer camp was my first experience working with children on the spectrum. It was a wonderful and inspiring experience to see the campers overcome fears, interact with other campers, and come out of their shells with the horseback riding. These children are amazing and wouldn't have this opportunity with Deena Rivera. She does wonderful things for Tampa families dealing with the disorder. I hope to work with her a lot more in the future!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us at one of our sensory friendly events for children and families with an Autism Spectrum Disorder. We are always looking for people with a passion to help others! Volunteer