Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

When I moved to Denver four years ago I wanted to volunteer with an organization that truly made a difference in the lives of women and their children. I had worked with such an organization in my home town and saw, first hand, that providing support, direction, structure and a safe environment to motivated women gives them the strength to retake control of their lives. Warren Village provides all of these elements to residents begining with a clean, safe and modern apartment that is affordable. The apartment is more than a place to live - it offers the resident family an opportunity to be part of a community of support. Resident pre school children have the opportunity to enroll in the onsite 4 Star Qualistar rated Learning Center where they learn and are cared for by a highly trained staff of teachers and volunteers while their parent is working or going to school. Finally, residents work with a family advocate to develop a plan for their stay at Warren Village that includes working or going to school full time with a goal of becoming self sufficient and able to live on their own again. Two keys to Warren Village's success are selecting highly motivated people who are determined to be successful individuals and parents and providing the three elements of housing, child care and family services in a single site community. I have been a member of the Board of Trustees of Warren Village for over three years and continue to be amazed at the quality and dedication of the staff and and the remarakable success stories of the residents and their children. We know that the most important human services organizations are changing lives and saving lives and I believe that Warren Village is doing both - one family at a time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I have been a board member and volunteer at Warren Village for the past 6 years. In that time I have found fellow board members, staff, and volunteers to be passionately committed to enabling the residents in the program to move towards self-sufficiency. This program provides a safe place to stay, the availability of childcare so parents can attend school or training, and "Family Services" that teach a vast variety of skills from balancing a checkbook to nutrition and parenting skills. In turn, residents must commit to developing and completing a plan that identifies how they will grow their skills to move from homelessness while volunteering in the community. The greatest impact to me is to hear from current residents and alumni talk about the growth in self confidence and personal and professional skills that they have made through their own hard work made possible by the staff, teachers and volunteers. The pride they and their children show touches my heart each time I hear them tell their story. That is why as I board member I relish the hours I spend working with my peers and staff leadership to keep Warren Village strong and our residents moving forward.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

Ever since I moved to Denver back in the 70s Warren Village has been providing a safe harbor for single parent families. But it does so much more: it allows single moms or dads to pursue their college education while providing high (I mean really high!) quality day care for their children. In other words, it gives these families an opportunity to acheive when they otherwise have virtually nothing and no where to go. In addition to the day care, there are required life coaching classes for the single parent and his/her family. Warren Village has so many success stories. If you are out in the community, it is not difficult to meet women who seized this opportunity and succeeded at a time when everything was against them. These allums get teary eyed about their time at Warren Village and so do I. I do not know of another Denver charity that has served in this area for so long so successfully. They are more than five star.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I hear the member stories and see the children

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it so it can provide assistance to more people

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

It has been a rock in the community since the 70s

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Continued service; make its members self sufficient

What is its top priority in the long run?

Make it members self sufficient / expand if funds are available

October 15, 2012

more

October 15, 2012

The organization is more than 38 years old and has helped hundreds of single parent families move from public assistant and disfunctional or abusive circumstances to self-sufficiency. Warren Village has a top qualstar rated early childhood learning center which is comparable to any top learning center in the city. The program offers life skills classes, mentors, educational opportunities and a hand up instead of a hand out. I am very proud to have been involved with this excellent program for more than 13 years.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

1. Watch children in the learning center during the evenings so parents can participate in essential life skills workshops to improve their lives, without worrying about their families.
2. Provide support to teachers during the summer months and school vacation days.
3. Assist our Communications and Development teams with mailings, events, projects.
4. Engage in a work project to improve the space in which families learn and experience activities. Volunteer