Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.740745
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

i had been volunteering there for 2 months Feb - March 2013, in recycled material project for fashion product design section. I had so much experience at WarmHeart more than I expected in so many aspects --- from working with all international volunteers communicating with English, experimenting and finding possibility of recycled local material to make them most valuable as far as I could do, sharing interests, helping and enjoyed the time with new volunteer friends, getting used to be happy with simple life and sustainability ....to having so much fun with the kids,staffs, Ajarn Shafer and Pa' Lin.
That was such a great great experience for me that makes me so inspiring. I really can't wait to go back to WarmHeart again :D

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I have been volunteering for Warm Heart from June to Dec, 2013. It provides great opportunity to be enterpreneurial. Thanks to nice scarf and recyecled fashion, i can get involved in pre-sale, sale, and after sale.
Here not only do I get to be creative – copywriting, compiling a catalogue, I
have also developed skills in doing market research and sales in Chiang Mai, establish CRM system, craft social media campaign for online store and recruitment, areas that I´d never worked in before.

The experience is so fullfilling!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

focus on CSR,getting more funding from big corporates.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I volunteered for Warm Heart from February to September, 2013. With the help of the staff and volunteers, and the endless energy of the kids at our Children's Home, we were able to host and run several successful English camps, practice sustainable ways of living and farming, reforest impressive tracts of previously unhealthy land, and build a playground out of recycled tires. It was an amazing experience and one that benefitted everyone involved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Write them a check for 10 million USD. They would use it well, seriously.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 26, 2012

I have been volunteering for Warm Heart Worldwide for three months now, planning to stay for another nine, and my time in Thailand could not possibly have been more fulfilling. As I live at the Childr... more

October 6, 2013

I gained far more from my experience at Warm Heart than I could have possibly contributed in the eight incredible months I spent volunteering there. My role was to be an RA in the older girls dorm, afternoon study buddy, health and horticulture specialist, and human jungle gym for the 37 kids that I lived with at the children's home at the time.
I still haven't fully recovered from leaving, as it is easy to become lost in society without having the fulfilling and rewarding experience of waking up to a true purpose and tangible set of goals every morning. I adore every single person that I encountered in my time there, every child that I was able to hold in my arms, each staff member, and most of all the incredible individuals who founded Warm Heart, Ajahn and P'Lin.
I cannot wait until the next opportunity that I can return.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 26, 2012

I have been volunteering for Warm Heart Worldwide for three months now, planning to stay for another nine, and my time in Thailand could not possibly have been more fulfilling. As I live at the Children's Homes, I have been immersed in the daily ongoings of the Warm Heart family, eating meals with the kids and Thai staff, slowly learning the language with their help, becoming familiar with the range of cultures of the different hill tribes, and participating in as many projects and activities as possible. The exposure to the novelties of a lifestyle so different than that of the western world has been instrumental in my growth as a person and discovering where I would like to go from here. Then again, I don't think I will ever want to leave Thailand.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

I came to Warm Heart to contribute to something I feel to be worthwhile while gaining real world experience in my chosen field (public health). I could not have chosen a more perfect place. The geographic location and campus are beautiful to the point of surreality and the local people, staff, other volunteers, and children ended up teaching me more than I ever could have anticipated, and about a lot more than just public health. That said, my work with the elderly and people with disabilities project and eye and ear project was totally eye-opening and I continue to draw from my experiences at Warm Heart (and will continue to do so for a very long time).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add a bit more supervision/guidance to interns

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 21, 2012

I volunteered at Warm Heart Thailand in 2011. They are doing commendable work helping and providing for the needy children in Phrao and also helping families to be self sustainable. Great job. more

October 4, 2013

I found Warm Heart, Phrao, on the internet while looking of an organisation where I could volunteer in Sep 2013. It was one of the the best find I made. All the staff and volunteers at Warm Heart are warm - just like the founders Michael and Evelind. The various tasks that I did during my 2 months stay eg. helping build childrens' home, delivering food to flood victims in Ayutthaya, even being a stand-in driver, was satisfying. I They are doing a wonderful job in helping the community in Phrao. I salute Michael and Evelind and given an opportunity, I will return to Phrao again ... to have a drink with them !!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 21, 2012

I volunteered at Warm Heart Thailand in 2011. They are doing commendable work helping and providing for the needy children in Phrao and also helping families to be self sustainable. Great job.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

i came as a group with other volunteers from goodwill globetrotting and we spent a week on site at WHW. it was one of the most fulfilling weeks of my life, working and living side-by-side with michael and evelind and the kids. the things they are doing to help not only the kids on site but also all of the villages around them are truly inspiring. i hope to be a part of WHW again as soon as possible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

bring in more managers like ben so that michael and evelind can focus on fund raising and day-to-day operations and not have to be so hands on with every aspect of life at WHW.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

My last experience with Warm Heart on location in Phrao was in 2012. Since then, I have continued to stay abreast of their activities, objectives and networking projects by continuing to edit a wide variety of documents and website postings.

Warm Heart’s cultural atmosphere seems to bring
out the best in people. Creative potential blossoms working together sharing a common objective in a loving, supportive atmosphere that WH directors Michael Shafer and Evelind Schecter and staff create. Their attitude of "working together for good" brings people of vastly different backgrounds and talents into a network of possibilities to research and find self-sustainable solutions the local people can own. International volunteers bring a wide variety of innovative expertise to fuel solutions.

WH serves as a catalyst for multi-faceted solutions. For example: WH introduced hill villages to the concept of reforestation with native trees (preventing erosion and enabling water retention for the dry season) so they could grow a cash crop, coffee, and thereby increase their income. But the soils are depleted. So WH introduced the idea of using a clean-burning stove that runs on corn cobs and produces biochar, a natural fertilizer. The offshoot of this is less respiratory disease from using a clean-burning stove. Better nutrition for the villagers results as subsistence farmers use the biochar to enhance their kitchen gardens in addition to their cash crops.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see the Warm Heart model expand worldwide. The model in Phrao could be replicated in communities anywhere in the world because the "Warm Heart Way" uses specific cultural research that honors local traditions and prioritizes self-sustainability working with the dynamic, innovative energy of international volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

Our family of three volunteered for Warm Heart in 2012. Our daughter was 10 at the time and it was a huge leap of faith to take her out of school for three months to live and learn in northern Thailand. Volunteering at Warm Heat was an incredible experience for us all. We lived in Phrao and commuted daily to the office, the Children's Home or other locations as needed. My husband Greg, along with another volunteer, helped set up a Quick Books accounting system for the scarf micro enterprise initiative. I helped with blog posts and images to document the scarf making process, from silk worm to finished textile. Our daughter soaked it all in and still keeps in touch with some of the children she met.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 20, 2012

I am now both a donor and a volunteer for Warm Heart in northern Thailand. I started as a volunteer only, but appreciated/respected their work so much that I decided to donate monthly to their genera... more

August 21, 2013

Making a difference on a budget! That's what Warm Heart excels at.

House, feed, cloth and educate a kid, plus provide medical care and computer classes! All on $100 USD a month! Pretty amazing!

Tackle disabilities in local villages by surveying all homes to determine needs
and teaming up with another non-profit to provide wheel chairs and other assistance.

Help local farmers switch from corn, a low profit / heavy water usage crop, to coffee, a more environmentally friendly and profitable crop. And at the same time, convince locals to re-forest land that had been stripped years earlier.

If you are able, I highly recommend going to Phrao and seeing all the smiles on the kids living in the Warm Heart Children's Home! You will never forget!!


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The American directors have dedicated their lives to the citizens of Phrao! The only change I would like to see is for them to be even more successful at improving the lives of the locals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 20, 2012

I am now both a donor and a volunteer for Warm Heart in northern Thailand. I started as a volunteer only, but appreciated/respected their work so much that I decided to donate monthly to their general fund and to also sponsor one of the kids. Everything they do has a 'long term' outlook and is intended to provide the local population with the tools required for them to be self-supporting in the future. And they never forget the local environment as they go about their business. In fact, improving and repairing the local environment is always part of their thoughts. If you are interested in helping out a small, underdeveloped community in Southeast Asia, I can't think of a better choice then Warm Heart Worldwide!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers