Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
March 29, 2014

more

March 29, 2014

I completely agree with all the foregoing negative reviews. The small print ("NCRC Facts") on the back of their pink Annual Fund Drive Voluntary Reply Form shows that 62.32% pf their income went to fundraising! 28.75% went to "public education in conjunction with fundraising appeals". The whole thing sounds like a non-profit was set up to raise money to pay certain individuals for doing what?? From many things I have seen, the government makes it way too easy for so-called non-profits such as this to be set up for monetary gain without paying taxes, with no benefit to the public.

I have not been a donor or volunteer (and certainly will never be), but the "Your role" box does not have an option for people receiving solicitations in the mail.

More feedback...

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Got a solicitation from this organization for the first time in 2013 with the $2.50 check. Recently had a family member with terminal cancer - don't know if that's how they got my contact info. Checked them out on Guidestar - obviously a fundraising scam. Glad to have Guidestar, Charity Navigator and other resources to find the real scope on these criminals. STAY AWAY!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

Less than one cent of every dollar donated goes to cancer research!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 20, 2013

Thank GOD for Charity Navigator--this is the only way I can make sure that our hard-earned dollars can go to institutions that REALLY work for the cause that they espouse.

NO WAY are we even going to pay for a stamp to tell them how we feel, and I agree with another reviewer that I can't
trust our bank information to them by cashing that check--recycle bin, here it comes!! (That way at least a little good is being done!)

We have lost several family members to cancer--this "Institute" is a travesty

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 30, 2013

Can I give this less than a star?? SCAM!! How can an organization send out a mailing that has "What ever happened to......" in the return address window of the envelope?? I can tell you what happened to....., she DIED! Grieving family should NEVER have to deal with something like this.

When my mom was diagnosed with cancer she started giving to ANY organization that had cancer in the title. If I had known about this at the time I would have told her to burn her contribution dollars as the public and those in need would get just about as much good as giving to Walker Cancer Research Institute / National Breast Cancer Research Center.

I urge everyone to spread the word far and wide to NEVER give this place a penny!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 10, 2012

more

December 10, 2012

I received a $2.50 check in a solicitation mailing. Having lost a close relative to cancer, I intended to donate to what appeared to be a worthy cause. When I visited this website (greatnonprofits.org) and discovered that nearly all of the donations go to fundraising and not actual cancer research, I decided not to donate. In my opinion there are much better cancer related charities that actually use donors money for the intended purpose. My hunch is that most of the money allocated to "fundraising" by the Walker Research Institute actually ends up in someone's pocket. I also think that charities like this one need much tighter government regulation. BTW.....I wouldn't trust them with my banking information by cashing their check, nor would I waste my money on a postage stamp to send their check back. Their solicitation went right where I think it belongs.....the round file.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This was the note I returned in their pretty pink envelope: I am appalled by your appeal to raise funds for an organization that does little except pay “President” Helen Marie Walker and the fund-raisers themselves. Your charity rating is ONE star. Your accountability and transparency is likewise despicable.
How shameful that you would ask for money from people at a time like this, knowing that sending it to several other breast cancer centers would actually save lives.
I would ask to be removed from your mailing list, but I think not. I’ll follow the ‘progress’ of your organization from the sidelines, and perhaps do some ‘public educating’ of my own.

A very disappointed and yes, even angry, non-supporter!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 13, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 13, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

You guys need to fire whomever did your stats...There is NOTHING on the web site giving information about much of anything. Yes, it does have the 'key' players and locations, but that's it! No privacy policy, no link for the Form 990 filed in which I looked on the list http://ag.ky.gov/ag/agdownloads/charity.pdf and WCRI isn't even listed. Also, when you look at the so called info on NCR and NBCR, they are the same. Both founded in 1981? Yeah, right!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

n/a

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Take them completely off the map and anywhere else they may be! They're frauds!

August 12, 2011
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 12, 2011
9 people found this review helpful

Walker Cancer Research Institute is a scam.

One of their "projects" is the "National Breast Cancer Research Center". They send out several solicitations per month to my elderly mother. If you read the Solicitation for Charitable Purposes Card, you will find the
following:

"Contributions made to National Breast Cancer Research Center, a project of Walker Cancer Research Institute (WCRI) are used for fundraising expenses, administrative costs, public education and program services. In the last fiscal year, Walker Cancer Research Institute raised a total of $12,697,567. Its expense distribution was 51.7% to fundraising, 1.1% to administration, 4.2% to research program services, and 43% to public education in conjunction with fundraising appeals."

In other words...they do nothing other than fundraising. 4.2% goes to researching programs services, but the only program services they offer is public education - which is only offered in conjunction with their fundraising appeals.

I've received over a hundred solicitations from this agency, and not once have I received anything close to resembling good health education. I've tried to call them and can never get anything other than a generic voicemail.

They are very difficult to contact. It is "non-profit" organizations like this that give those of us who legitimately work in the non profit arena a bad name.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

From what I can see, they don't do anything other than raise money. Their business is about fundraising; they don't seem to produce any results or do anything with their funds.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make them legitimately support research fighting cancer and legitimately provide resources and education about it (not related to flimsy information contained in a fundraising appeal.)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

How did you learn about this organization?

From the hundred solicitations I've received addressed to my mom after she passed away.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers