Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
82 Reviews
1234.926835
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 14, 2013

more

September 14, 2013

Walk On Foundation , Milton Pa. In March of this year {2013} my wife Marlene found out her Breats Cancer had returned. With myself being disabled, and living on a fixed income ,our hope was to find some monetary help to cover our cost .Little did we expect help to come from a organization ,{that until recently was operating from the home of a director}, as tiny as Walk- On Foundation . All the other national groups gave us the runaround but not Jo-Anna or Josh . They made Marlene fill special and sent us not one , but two grants to help cover our travel cost. Marlene's health has inproved and we are looking forward to the future. I just wish that there were more caring , helpful, and understanding groups in this world like Walk -On Foundation

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

Walk On Foundation is there to assist with medical needs, a true blessing to some. My husband was diagnosed on Oct 15th 2011 with a stage 2 cancerous brain stem tumor and spent 8 whole months hospitalized enduring 11 total surgeries and relearning to walk and talk again. He was released home to us on May 29th 2012 needing wheel chair assist and having a trach, feeding tube, and ventilator at nights. This past year he has been getting stronger each day and had got great news that a Specialist in Pittsburgh would like to evaluate him to see if there's hope to get him to swallow since he has gone almost two years with nothing by mouth. Walk on helped us achieve this trip and from that they found if my husband turns his head to the Left and start to swallow and hold that swallow for 3 seconds and then swallow that he was able to swallow his saliva. By phone calls over the next few weeks, this Dr has got my husband to chew ice and swallow using that same technique and the Dr also set up appts for my husband to see a specialist in Reading Pa that is alot closer to us than Pittsburgh but still 2.5 hrs from us to further work with my husband to get him to progress more. Our trips are 3 times a week to these appts and Thank God for Walk On to be there to kindly help make this possible. Truely a blessing to us as we hope one day in the near future that my husband, our four boys, and I will be able to sit down together again and enjoy a meal together. So Much thanks to Walk Om!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 19, 2013

more

June 19, 2013

My son Joey is a bright, happy 3 yr old little boy with a fondness for Thomas the Train, Matchbox Cars, and VeggieTales. He was also born into this world with Complex I Mitochondrial disorder, a fairly rare disease where the cells in his body cannot function properly. This disease causes Joey to suffer from extreme fatigue, overall muscle weakness, swallowing and chewing difficulties, and chroic dehydration. It also attacks his 'autonomic' nervous system--the part of our bodies that automatically regulates things without any input on our part. In particular, he has no ability to regulate his own body heat (it's like not having a thermostat). In the winter, his muscles "seize up" and cause him pain if he gets too cold. And in the summer, even in mildly warm weather, his body will just continue to overheat and he is at constant risk of heat stroke. The winter months were fairly easy to navigate--warm thick clothes for outdoor play, turn the heater up and pile on blankets if things get to0 cold inside. But the warmer months offered weeks where Joey would need to be in our home, with the air-conditioning blasting 24/7, unable to go outside or even ride in the car or do errands, as the sun beating down or high humidity would cause him to overheat, even in an air-conditioned car.

Our son's Geneticist recommended a cooling vest for Joey--a life-saving device that, once activated, would constantly keep Joey cool in the summer, enough where he would be able to enjoy the outdoors and be like a "normal kid" for awhile. She even recommended a "cooling blanket," which acts in much of the same way, that can be draped over Joey in car rides and at night, to further help keep him cool. The particular brand and model she recommended were out of our budget, however, and the insurance did not classify them as a form of Medical Equipment that they would reimburse.

A simple Google Search brought up the "Walk on Foundation," and after a quick emaii to their staff, inquiring if our particular need was something they would consider, I received a prompt response to fill out an application, and attach some form of documentation that verifies the disease he had, and they would address it in their next meeting. Within 48 hours I had received an answer that they would be able to help my son with this life-changing equipment. Even when the particular type of vest I asked for was out of stock, and we had to "upgrade" to another style that cost more money, the organization was quick to ask ME if it was ok if they changed the order, before even going about handling the 'red tape' on their end.

My son lives in a world where the odds are stacked against him everyday. It is such a blessing to know that there are organizations out there like the Walk On Foundation that are willing to make his days just alittle bit easier. I am so excited for the vest to arrive--to take my son out to his little swingset, to chase a ball around the yard, to go for walks again in his little red wagon. This organization has changed my sons life, and I will never, ever forget what they have done for me, and for my little Joey.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nadda, nothing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 28, 2012

more

December 28, 2012

The Walk on Foundation is an amazing nonprofit organization! I would recommend this organization to other people in need of medical items. Thank you Josh Richard, the committee, and all the people that donated to help my daughter Abigail have the gift of a voice(Ipad2 w/App). We are so greatful for this. We will never forget that you all had a big part in helping my baby girl speak and making easier for us to know what she needs. --- Rebecca L. Yost

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

Walk On Foundation is helping me out greatly. I've been ill since 2/2012 following a bowel obstruction. The drs. Both local and big teaching hospital in the state have been unable to figure out the problem. They are recommending I be seen at Mayo Clinic in Rochchester, Mn. As they specialize in rare and unusual things. Since I don't receive much money in in a month's time I was looking for some help for hotel rooms. The walk on Foundation has been gracious enough to help me out with my room situation for a few nights. I am beyond greatful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 14, 2012

more

October 14, 2012

I can not say enough about Walk On, the people I spoke with were professional and caring. From the moment I told them we needed a wheelchair for my son, they were on it. In just a few short weeks we had the wheelchair we so desperately needed. Now we can get out on walks as a family, go to the store, football games, anything we want, all because of Walk On.Thank you so much for being here for our family!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

im a parapalegic with epilepsy, so many times i have fallen out the bed at night dureing a seizure, so many times i had to have strange men(paramedics and firemen) come in and get me off the floor when my service dog hits the alarm like she is trained , it humilaiting ! not just from being on the floor but the evacuation that happens dureing a seizure and these men lifting me ! i dont know what worse the seizure or the humiation that follwed, medicaid would purchase me a hospital bed with rails but not just teh rails itself, it would be so very hard to transferr into one of them! i wanted to stay in my own bed, When i got the email from walk on foundation saying they are gonna provide me with rails i cried like a baby, this is truely an awsome foundation! god bless them, when my rails arrive im gonna kiss them! lol! i can now keep my dignity and be safe at night and wake up on my own bed thank you so very very much walk on foundation and joshua for helping me with my very much needed bedrails god bless you all!

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 15, 2012

more

August 15, 2012

I am the caretaker of my disabled mother who has a lot of medical problems including osteoporosis and fibromyalgia making it very difficult for her to get around. I have tried, to no advial, to obtain a power chair for her to improve her quality of life and to increase her mobility. With in a month of contacting the walk on foundation my mother was approved and given a power chair. For the first time in many years she was able to Independably take herself from my home to her's which is across town. It was amazing to see. Thank you SO much for your kindness and generosity!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 5, 2012

more

August 5, 2012

My daughter was 13 months old when Walk On came to our rescue. My daughter required a special high calorie milk that we could not find ANYWHERE nor afford more than a case or 2 of it. Walk On provided enough for 4 months and it helped my daughter grow and thrive while on it. Without Walk On i'm not sure what we could have done.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 19, 2012

more

July 19, 2012

As a single mother of 2 children I was devastated when I was denied prescription coverage for medicine I need on a daily basis. Thank God that the Walk On Foundation was able to help me get my medicine and get me on the road to feeling "normal". I can't thank this organization enough for what it did for me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help file paperwork, make contacts to medical companies, etc.