Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
90 Reviews
1234.933335
Write A Review
December 12, 2013

more

December 12, 2013

I recently changed my son's clinic from one very close to home to a much better one that was around 3 hrs away and after our first trip to the new clinic I realized just how expensive it would be to continue taking my son there but we NEEDED to for his health. I asked the walk on foundation for help with gas to get to his next appt because it was so close to his last appt and very near to the holidays and they stepped right up and help me out with the cost of gas to get my P-nut to his much needed appt. As a family of 5 being soley supported by my husband's job we make it but sometimes we need a little extra help and they (the Walk on Foundation) stepped right up and helped us when we needed it most. This is a great group of caring people looking to help others in need. What a blessing they are to so many. Thank you so much for caring about others and helping when it is needed.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 11, 2013

more

December 11, 2013

The most heartfelt thanks goes out to the Walk On Foundation for their generosity and help in our time of need. The Walk On Foundation "walked right on in" and paid an important test my daughter needed which wasn't covered by insurance. It was such a HUGE help in the steps to get our daughter better! I can't even begin to thank organizations such as the Walk On Foundation. THANK YOU!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 20, 2013

more

November 20, 2013

The most gracious thanks goes out to the Walk On Foundation for their generosity and help in our time of need. My youngest son who is 11 years old and has been dealing with multiple disabilities since the day he was born. Most of my pay goes towards medical bills, medical supplies, insurance premiums, and lots of medicine. It has lead us to such a financial hardship that we are struggling to make ends meet on a regular basis due to fact of traveling back and forth to hospital in DC. The Walk On Foundation gave me a check in amount of $300.00 to go towards our trip that we had this month for his medical care, gas and housing. It was such a HUGE help, so that I can continue making trips back and forth from the hospital and housing each time. There are no words that we can't even express in thank organizations such as the Walk On Foundation. WE WILL LIKE TO THANK YOU WITH ALL OUR HEART!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 19, 2013

more

November 19, 2013

I WAS SANTA AT EVENT .https://www.facebook.com/events/429467840479524/-THEY ARE GREAT PEOPLE FIGHTING FOR A GOOD CAUSE . SANTA WILL COME BACK EVERY YEAR HO HO HO

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NO

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

The Walk on Foundation Inc. is a terrific non profit organization that helps those that really need to be helped. They do unique and exciting fund raising events, which my daughter and I take part in whenever we can. And knowing those that run the organization and what they have to overcome on their own they are still willing to do so much for others. I only wish I had more time to help by volunteering.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes to the organizations, but it would be nice if there was more knowledge of the foundation by the public, so that it could grow and help more folks.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 22, 2013

more

September 22, 2013

The most heartfelt thanks goes out to the Walk On Foundation for their generosity and help in our time of need. My husband is 49 and has cystic fibrosis. He is disabled. Most of my pay goes towards medical bills, oxygen bills , insurance premiums and lots of medicine. It has led to such a financial hardship that I have been forced into bankruptcy. The Walk On Foundation "walked right on in" and paid the pharmacy bill in full for me!! It was such a HUGE help and a great relief, as the bill was so great that his medicine was not being released until I made some form of payment, which was not always possible. I can't even begin to thank organizations such as the Walk On Foundation. To be able to put my head on my pillow at night and know there is one less worry is indescribable. THANK YOU WITH ALL MY HEART!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 14, 2013

more

September 14, 2013

Walk On Foundation , Milton Pa. In March of this year {2013} my wife Marlene found out her Breats Cancer had returned. With myself being disabled, and living on a fixed income ,our hope was to find some monetary help to cover our cost .Little did we expect help to come from a organization ,{that until recently was operating from the home of a director}, as tiny as Walk- On Foundation . All the other national groups gave us the runaround but not Jo-Anna or Josh . They made Marlene fill special and sent us not one , but two grants to help cover our travel cost. Marlene's health has inproved and we are looking forward to the future. I just wish that there were more caring , helpful, and understanding groups in this world like Walk -On Foundation

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

Walk On Foundation is there to assist with medical needs, a true blessing to some. My husband was diagnosed on Oct 15th 2011 with a stage 2 cancerous brain stem tumor and spent 8 whole months hospitalized enduring 11 total surgeries and relearning to walk and talk again. He was released home to us on May 29th 2012 needing wheel chair assist and having a trach, feeding tube, and ventilator at nights. This past year he has been getting stronger each day and had got great news that a Specialist in Pittsburgh would like to evaluate him to see if there's hope to get him to swallow since he has gone almost two years with nothing by mouth. Walk on helped us achieve this trip and from that they found if my husband turns his head to the Left and start to swallow and hold that swallow for 3 seconds and then swallow that he was able to swallow his saliva. By phone calls over the next few weeks, this Dr has got my husband to chew ice and swallow using that same technique and the Dr also set up appts for my husband to see a specialist in Reading Pa that is alot closer to us than Pittsburgh but still 2.5 hrs from us to further work with my husband to get him to progress more. Our trips are 3 times a week to these appts and Thank God for Walk On to be there to kindly help make this possible. Truely a blessing to us as we hope one day in the near future that my husband, our four boys, and I will be able to sit down together again and enjoy a meal together. So Much thanks to Walk Om!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 19, 2013

more

June 19, 2013

My son Joey is a bright, happy 3 yr old little boy with a fondness for Thomas the Train, Matchbox Cars, and VeggieTales. He was also born into this world with Complex I Mitochondrial disorder, a fairly rare disease where the cells in his body cannot function properly. This disease causes Joey to suffer from extreme fatigue, overall muscle weakness, swallowing and chewing difficulties, and chroic dehydration. It also attacks his 'autonomic' nervous system--the part of our bodies that automatically regulates things without any input on our part. In particular, he has no ability to regulate his own body heat (it's like not having a thermostat). In the winter, his muscles "seize up" and cause him pain if he gets too cold. And in the summer, even in mildly warm weather, his body will just continue to overheat and he is at constant risk of heat stroke. The winter months were fairly easy to navigate--warm thick clothes for outdoor play, turn the heater up and pile on blankets if things get to0 cold inside. But the warmer months offered weeks where Joey would need to be in our home, with the air-conditioning blasting 24/7, unable to go outside or even ride in the car or do errands, as the sun beating down or high humidity would cause him to overheat, even in an air-conditioned car.

Our son's Geneticist recommended a cooling vest for Joey--a life-saving device that, once activated, would constantly keep Joey cool in the summer, enough where he would be able to enjoy the outdoors and be like a "normal kid" for awhile. She even recommended a "cooling blanket," which acts in much of the same way, that can be draped over Joey in car rides and at night, to further help keep him cool. The particular brand and model she recommended were out of our budget, however, and the insurance did not classify them as a form of Medical Equipment that they would reimburse.

A simple Google Search brought up the "Walk on Foundation," and after a quick emaii to their staff, inquiring if our particular need was something they would consider, I received a prompt response to fill out an application, and attach some form of documentation that verifies the disease he had, and they would address it in their next meeting. Within 48 hours I had received an answer that they would be able to help my son with this life-changing equipment. Even when the particular type of vest I asked for was out of stock, and we had to "upgrade" to another style that cost more money, the organization was quick to ask ME if it was ok if they changed the order, before even going about handling the 'red tape' on their end.

My son lives in a world where the odds are stacked against him everyday. It is such a blessing to know that there are organizations out there like the Walk On Foundation that are willing to make his days just alittle bit easier. I am so excited for the vest to arrive--to take my son out to his little swingset, to chase a ball around the yard, to go for walks again in his little red wagon. This organization has changed my sons life, and I will never, ever forget what they have done for me, and for my little Joey.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nadda, nothing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 2, 2013

more

April 2, 2013

I have attended 2 fundraisers for Walk On, so far. I was a vendor at their Christmas Extravaganza and my kids participated in the most recent fashion show. Not only did the fashion show raise money for people in need of help, it made a lot of children happy and gave them an experience they won't soon forget. I have also donated medical equipment and books. I think they do a great service and wish I had more to help them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help file paperwork, make contacts to medical companies, etc.