Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
83 Reviews
1234.927715
Write A Review
September 14, 2013

more

September 14, 2013

Walk On Foundation , Milton Pa. In March of this year {2013} my wife Marlene found out her Breats Cancer had returned. With myself being disabled, and living on a fixed income ,our hope was to find some monetary help to cover our cost .Little did we expect help to come from a organization ,{that until recently was operating from the home of a director}, as tiny as Walk- On Foundation . All the other national groups gave us the runaround but not Jo-Anna or Josh . They made Marlene fill special and sent us not one , but two grants to help cover our travel cost. Marlene's health has inproved and we are looking forward to the future. I just wish that there were more caring , helpful, and understanding groups in this world like Walk -On Foundation

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

Walk On Foundation is there to assist with medical needs, a true blessing to some. My husband was diagnosed on Oct 15th 2011 with a stage 2 cancerous brain stem tumor and spent 8 whole months hospitalized enduring 11 total surgeries and relearning to walk and talk again. He was released home to us on May 29th 2012 needing wheel chair assist and having a trach, feeding tube, and ventilator at nights. This past year he has been getting stronger each day and had got great news that a Specialist in Pittsburgh would like to evaluate him to see if there's hope to get him to swallow since he has gone almost two years with nothing by mouth. Walk on helped us achieve this trip and from that they found if my husband turns his head to the Left and start to swallow and hold that swallow for 3 seconds and then swallow that he was able to swallow his saliva. By phone calls over the next few weeks, this Dr has got my husband to chew ice and swallow using that same technique and the Dr also set up appts for my husband to see a specialist in Reading Pa that is alot closer to us than Pittsburgh but still 2.5 hrs from us to further work with my husband to get him to progress more. Our trips are 3 times a week to these appts and Thank God for Walk On to be there to kindly help make this possible. Truely a blessing to us as we hope one day in the near future that my husband, our four boys, and I will be able to sit down together again and enjoy a meal together. So Much thanks to Walk Om!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 19, 2013

more

June 19, 2013

My son Joey is a bright, happy 3 yr old little boy with a fondness for Thomas the Train, Matchbox Cars, and VeggieTales. He was also born into this world with Complex I Mitochondrial disorder, a fairly rare disease where the cells in his body cannot function properly. This disease causes Joey to suffer from extreme fatigue, overall muscle weakness, swallowing and chewing difficulties, and chroic dehydration. It also attacks his 'autonomic' nervous system--the part of our bodies that automatically regulates things without any input on our part. In particular, he has no ability to regulate his own body heat (it's like not having a thermostat). In the winter, his muscles "seize up" and cause him pain if he gets too cold. And in the summer, even in mildly warm weather, his body will just continue to overheat and he is at constant risk of heat stroke. The winter months were fairly easy to navigate--warm thick clothes for outdoor play, turn the heater up and pile on blankets if things get to0 cold inside. But the warmer months offered weeks where Joey would need to be in our home, with the air-conditioning blasting 24/7, unable to go outside or even ride in the car or do errands, as the sun beating down or high humidity would cause him to overheat, even in an air-conditioned car.

Our son's Geneticist recommended a cooling vest for Joey--a life-saving device that, once activated, would constantly keep Joey cool in the summer, enough where he would be able to enjoy the outdoors and be like a "normal kid" for awhile. She even recommended a "cooling blanket," which acts in much of the same way, that can be draped over Joey in car rides and at night, to further help keep him cool. The particular brand and model she recommended were out of our budget, however, and the insurance did not classify them as a form of Medical Equipment that they would reimburse.

A simple Google Search brought up the "Walk on Foundation," and after a quick emaii to their staff, inquiring if our particular need was something they would consider, I received a prompt response to fill out an application, and attach some form of documentation that verifies the disease he had, and they would address it in their next meeting. Within 48 hours I had received an answer that they would be able to help my son with this life-changing equipment. Even when the particular type of vest I asked for was out of stock, and we had to "upgrade" to another style that cost more money, the organization was quick to ask ME if it was ok if they changed the order, before even going about handling the 'red tape' on their end.

My son lives in a world where the odds are stacked against him everyday. It is such a blessing to know that there are organizations out there like the Walk On Foundation that are willing to make his days just alittle bit easier. I am so excited for the vest to arrive--to take my son out to his little swingset, to chase a ball around the yard, to go for walks again in his little red wagon. This organization has changed my sons life, and I will never, ever forget what they have done for me, and for my little Joey.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nadda, nothing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 2, 2013

more

April 2, 2013

I have attended 2 fundraisers for Walk On, so far. I was a vendor at their Christmas Extravaganza and my kids participated in the most recent fashion show. Not only did the fashion show raise money for people in need of help, it made a lot of children happy and gave them an experience they won't soon forget. I have also donated medical equipment and books. I think they do a great service and wish I had more to help them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 30, 2012

more

December 30, 2012

my name is henry j clark i was introdouce to the walk on foundation inc. by humana and i am very please with the services that i have recived from the foundation , helping me with the co-pay of my medicial visit. singed henryjclark@gmail.com

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 28, 2012

more

December 28, 2012

The Walk on Foundation is an amazing nonprofit organization! I would recommend this organization to other people in need of medical items. Thank you Josh Richard, the committee, and all the people that donated to help my daughter Abigail have the gift of a voice(Ipad2 w/App). We are so greatful for this. We will never forget that you all had a big part in helping my baby girl speak and making easier for us to know what she needs. --- Rebecca L. Yost

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

Great to know these people, blessed to know them. Looking forward to working with them again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

This is an awesome organization that looks out for other people. Its about time there is an organization that helps adults as well at kids.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more


1 previous review
August 6, 2012

I have been involved with Walk On for a few years now and could not be more proud to be associated with such a wonderful group of people. I have been involved with many of their fundraisers, both don... more

November 13, 2012

On 11/10/12 I attended a Christmas Extravaganza sponsored by the Walk On Foundation. Let me just say that this group of good hearted men & women put a tremendous amount of work into making sure that all attendees had a wonderful experience, especially the children. This group provides medical services to many needy individuals throughout the year. I am proud to be associated with this group through fundraisers. They are without a doubt a very special group continually doing self-less acts for so many. Keep up the great job Walk On!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 6, 2012

I have been involved with Walk On for a few years now and could not be more proud to be associated with such a wonderful group of people. I have been involved with many of their fundraisers, both donating items for Chinese auctions or raffles as well as just monetary contributions. This group does such a wonderful job providing for those in need that I 'm sure to be a part of this group for years to come. They always keep updates on who they have been able to help. I'm proud to be a small part of Walk On.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

I just recently learned of this organization & I think that what they do is admirable. The things I have read about them is amazing. They deserve more then just praise but a show of appreciation. They are a group of hard working individuals with a great desire to serve those in need. KUDOS to you all!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help file paperwork, make contacts to medical companies, etc.