Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.941185
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

I have been working at Walden for the last 6 years. Working at Walden has been such a great experience. Walden is a great organization that helps children and families in the foster care system. Walden helps match foster youth to foster and adoptive families, and everyone here is like a family. My experiences here have thought me to care for others and fight for people who are unable to. Walden continues to help the youth that emancipate from the system and helps them become responsible adults in society.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

I joined Walden Family Services in 1996 and it has been a pleasure working with such a great organization. Walden continuously strives to offer the best services and resources to the children and foster parents it serves. The entire organization is committed to providing a loving and stable environment to the children that come through our doors. Walden Family Services is an organization that trully believes that we must do everything we can to better the lives of our children.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

I just celebrated 10 years working at Walden Family Services, and Walden is beyond compare. From it's high ethical standards, to "doing whatever it takes", the many kids who have passed through our doors have been encouraged, mentored, helped and healed. I am incredibly proud of the work we do, and the lives we have changed.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

My wife and I have been foster parents for Walden Family Services for about 3 years now. It all revolves around one thing. . . the kids. These children have been put in difficult circumstances by no fault of their own, yet they must face the challenges that await them. We have helped many kids, both short term and long term. . . but more qualified foster parents are always needed. By becoming foster parents, we become "stepping stones" for these kids while their own parents hopefully get their lives back in order, or until a close family member comes and rescues them. Walden has now added adoption services to their criteria, another option for these precious ones that cannot be reunited with family. My wife and I are currently involved with this program as well. Do I have any regrets? No. My own kids didn't realize how good they had it until they see and hear the stories from some of these foster kids. . . a real eye opener.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

work more closely with foster parents. Develope more than just a business relationship.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

add in pennysaver

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

I have been honored to serve on the Walden Family Services board of directors for the past three years. Walden offers services that are essential to children and youth in need and has changes the lives of countless families for years. I wholeheartedly support the mission of this organization and am proud to serve on their board.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 31, 2012

more

January 31, 2012

I am very honored to recently have been asked to join the Walden Family Services Board of Directors. As an attorney who has the privilege of handling adoptions, I have the opportunity to repeatedly see what an important and fulfilling need adoption provides both children and parents who want to create and or grow their family. As I was in foster care prior to being adopted by my parents, I have a very special place in my heart for the too many children Walden Family Services tirelessly continues to make the world a better place for. The foster parents and families who continue to give above and beyond to children who might otherwise be without a sense of hope, love or family, deserve all of our admiration, gratitude and support. Fortunately for our community, Walden Family Services not only exists but continuously strives to do more to help what some consider an underprivileged population. I do not regard the children Walden serves as underprivileged, but rather children awaiting their opportunity to receive the love they so deserve, while providing the same in return. I look forward to working with Walden in striving to provide lasting and loving relationships for children and families within our community. I encourage everyone to find out how they too can contribute to Walden’s mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 21, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
January 21, 2012

I first joined the Board of Walden Family Services in 1993. Over the past 19 years, I have seen Walden make a significant difference in the lives of thousands of children and families through Walden's amazing foster parents, Walden's dedicated and talented staff and Walden's innovative and effective programs. I am honored to be part of a Board of very dedicated individuals who give generously of their time and money to support Walden and help raise awareness for the agency in the local community. The private funds raised by Walden enable the agency to provide support and services to foster youth and families in critical areas not addressed by government funding. Our Independent Futures program has enable hundreds of foster children to successfully transition into adulthood by providing mentoring, training and financial support to enable them to become productive members of society rather than ending up homeless or in prison like the majority of former foster youth. I mentored a Walden foster child since he was 12 and now he has graduated from a 4 year university, is working for a child services non-profit and has recently joined Walden's board to give back to the organization that provided a path for his life success.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist Walden with Development and Communications tasks such as electronic newsletters, website maintenance, and social media campaigns.Volunteer at our annual fundraiser, Wine D'Vine with set-up, registration, auctions, check-out, etc.