Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

As a founding Board member, I have observed hundreds of families arrive at WIHN with their lives in shambles since July of 1994. After a week or so at WIHN, families become more relaxed and begin to have hope for getting back on their feet. They begin to have confidence that their personalized plan worked out with staff is beginning to work. Lives are impacted in life changing ways. I will illustrate with a story about an experience a volunteer at my church had with a mother and her teenage son. The volunteer was playing basketball in the gym with the son, and became impressed with him and how he conducted himself. The next day, the volunteer had occasion to take the mother to an appointment. The volunteer told the mother that she was doing a wonderful job raising her son, then noticed that a tear was running down the mother's cheek. "Is something wrong." the volunteer asked. "No," the mother responded. "Noone ever told me before that I am a good mother." This is just one example of many that demonstrates how families are positively impacted by WIHN on their journey back to independence.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I have been a volunteer for WIHN since its inception. What grabbed me about WIHN was that it brought families in need directly to churches. Volunteers need merely go to their own local church to help out. WIHN is a local community based organization with hundreds of volunteers annually. I contribute both financially and with my time. I've seen the results WIHN and its volunteers have had on the lives of the families that have been helped. WIHN doesn't just provide temporary housing, WIHN has an aftercare program where they continue to provide guidance and education to families once they have reached independent living. I can't think of a better way my time and money are spent than thru supporting a fantastic organization such as WIHN.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

WIHN is an amazing organization. I've been involved for about a year - I wish I started sooner! The organization is well run and focused on families and ensuring they stay together during a difficult period in their lives. I commend WIHN for the great work they do and all those wonderful people supporting the organization. Keep up the great work and lets end family homelessness....

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I have been volunteering for WIHN for over 20 years. When our church hosts the guests, I serve one of the dinner meals with by husband. The food is provided by our Sunday School class. The experience of serving others less fortunate is a blessing of proportional size. I never walk away feeling anything but gratitude, especially from those whom I serve. I love serving WIHN because it is a local program and I can see immediate results in what God can do through this program, from finding jobs, to finding transitional housing. The Interfaith Hospitality Network is needed so much across the United States and I pray that this program can be initiated in every city. Those less fortunate in Raleigh have a second chance in life in some of the toughest situations and it soothes my heart to know WIHN is there for those in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Imagine what it would be like. One day you are going to work, paying your bills, coming home to your children and enjoying life. The next day you lose your job. Within a short time your savings is gone, and you are out of options. You are evicted or foreclosed on and have no where to go. The word "homeless" typically brings up imagines of chronically homeless people with mental illness or addictions spun out of control, but I learned 7 years ago that my community has hundreds of families with children who have no place to go. As a CPA, I love for things to be efficient. Wake Interfaith Hospitality Network is very efficient - leveraging a network of thousands of volunteers in over 50 faith congregations and facilities that largely go unused during the week to provide a warm, safe place to stay, meals shared with love, and professional case management and practical help. I can't imagine a better organization to get behind in my community!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Amazing organization supported by many Wake County congregations. I was happy to volunteer my time watching children while parents in the program attended budgeting classes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

prepare a bedroom for a family, provide a meal for a family in emergency shelter, help with childcare during LifeSkills classes, clean and stock a transitional housing apartment for a new family, tutor a child Volunteer