Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.965525
Write A Review
April 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 27, 2012

WOMAN, Inc supports survivors of domestic violence in spite of gender identity, sexual orientation, immigration status, nationality, etc. They take a holistic approach, offering therapy, support group... more

April 29, 2014

I have been part of WInc. since 2011 and loved every minute of it! The team of volunteers and staff is amazing, hard working, big hearted and very passionate about their anti-violence work. At WInc. This is an incredible agency focused on supporting survivors.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

WOMAN, Inc supports survivors of domestic violence in spite of gender identity, sexual orientation, immigration status, nationality, etc. They take a holistic approach, offering therapy, support groups, crisis intervention, peer counseling, and case management. All their services are offered in English and Spanish (by bilingual/bicultural volunteers and staff). They focus on prevention -- through presentations in the community and trainings, -- crisis intervention -- through their crisis line, Latina Program and Therapy program, -- and the aftermath -- through the group Echando Pa'lante. WOMAN, Inc is always looking for ways to improve their services. It's an excellent non-profit with strong feminist and community values.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2014

more

April 7, 2014

W.O.M.A.N., Inc. is a fabulous organization! It is so obvious that it draws to it big hearted people who care about helping DV survivors. The powerful staff members invest themselves in educating, training, supporting, and organizing & pulling all the DV related resources together. These exceptional efforts benefit other local organizations as well as allow survivors to access information about local resources including: shelters, legal advise, free food and more, all in one place.

I highly recommend W.O.M.A.N., Inc. and its team!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 27, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
May 2, 2013

WOMAN Inc. is one of those organisations that truly has a heart and soul. The staff are one of the most dedicated I've seen. As soon as you start interacting with them, you know it's not just a job. T... more

March 27, 2014

The staff is absolutely amazing and the work they do is so filled with passion and commitment, that it's been a privilege to be associated with WOMAN, Inc.
The other day i pulled up at a gas station no Van Ness and there was this woman with three kids. The sign she held up said the shelters
were full. I bought them some food and drink and asked if they needed other sort of help (besides a bed) and she said she had already called this agency called WOMAN, Inc, and that she knew she had support there. She only needed somewhere to sleep.

It was comforting for her as well as many like her to know that there are organisations out there that care and actually have the capacity to make a difference.

Well done WOMAN, Inc. team!!!
May 2, 2013

WOMAN Inc. is one of those organisations that truly has a heart and soul. The staff are one of the most dedicated I've seen. As soon as you start interacting with them, you know it's not just a job.
Their goal is to make a difference, which they clearly do, and so well too.

I think
it's fantastic that women in domestic violence situations know that they're not alone, and that there is someone they can talk to. Someone who will do something.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

I love the work that the staff at WOMAN, Inc. are doing. They do this with so much passion that it is no wonder that this organisation has proven itself to be a little gem in the otherwise ugly world of domestic violence. I am so proud to be associated with them!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 27, 2014

more

March 27, 2014

Being a volunteer for Woman Inc, I am always so impressed with how down-to-earth staff and other volunteers are and how invested they are in the work that they do. Their sensitivity to the needs of the DV Community and advocacy towards a broader, more open, supportive and cooperative approach to the diversity of people experiencing DV is inspired.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money so they could support more survivors. They have great programs, but need more resources to build their capacity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 27, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 9, 2012

I've been a volunteer for nearly a year now and I must say that it has honestly been the most meaningful volunteer experience I've ever had. They really make the most of the often, tight resources the... more

March 27, 2014

As my time with W.O.M.A.N., Inc. progresses, I truly feel the dedication and heart behind the organization. Everyone involved with W.O.M.A.N., Inc. (staff, volunteers, board, community supporters) have a deep-seated passion to help empower survivors of domestic violence, by not only addressing the immediate issue of emotional, financial, physical, etc. abuse, but also by addressing broader systemic issues, like the still-present homophobia and sexism that exists in our communities and which, in turn, affect major policies which affect us all.

I've been with them for a little over 2 years now as a volunteer and throughout my time, I've always been given clear direction and support on the tasks that I do. With everything that I've done, from speaking with survivors of domestic violence on the 24/7 support line to sharing with community members about who W.O.M.A.N., Inc. is and the work they do to helping to plan fundraising events for them, I've felt really content knowing that all this work serves a greater purpose of ensuring the fair and compassionate treatment of all people, including DV survivors who are so often made to feel unworthy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a volunteer for nearly a year now and I must say that it has honestly been the most meaningful volunteer experience I've ever had. They really make the most of the often, tight resources they have to work with in order to sustain services for survivors of domestic violence. Staff and volunteers are committed to empowering survivors so that they may see their own strengths.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 26, 2014

more

March 26, 2014

WOMAN, Inc. is an amazing organization. The staff's dedication to ending domestic violence is truly inspirational. I am grateful for your work and commitment to supporting survivors of domestic violence. Thank you WOMAN Inc.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 26, 2014

more

March 26, 2014

I worked with WOMAN, Inc. as a pro bono consultant on a recent strategic planning preparation project and was very impressed by the staff and volunteer's commitment to their organization's mission and to the women they serve. I felt the staff was forward facing and looking for creative and innovative ways to address both the delivery of domestic violence services as well as current and emerging challenges facing them as an organization. The staff and volunteers I worked with were passionate about identifying and addressing the needs of currently underserved populations of domestic violence survivors.
March 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

What an amazing organization! Conscious, thoughtful, helpful, non-judgmental.... these are just a few of the words that come to mind when describing W.O.M.A.N., Inc.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

WOMAN Inc provides comprehensive referral and direct services to survivors of domestic violence. Their work is tireless and their competence is at the highest level. The executive director has an extensive background in domestic violence, which really shows in her leadership.
March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

WINC operates San Francisco's domestic violence support line. 24 hours a day, overnight, on holidays, and on the weekends, highly trained advocates are available to serve survivors of domestic violence. Agencies contact WINC when they need technical assistance and can get help with domestic violence situations happening with their clients. Beyond direct services, they advocate for policy and legislation change that will better the lives of survivors. WINC seeks to connect the community with opportunities to end violence, and offer a comprehensive array of volunteer opportunities such as on the support line, events, development and outreach.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help ensure that they receive more funding; they are such a tremendous agency I would love to see more funding for their work!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers