Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.692315
Write A Review
March 21, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 6, 2013

As a VIM clinic, we rely on the national office to be our resource for clinic related questions. The staff is always extremely helpful and very considerate. We would not function well without them! more

March 21, 2014

The list-serve established for VIM clinics is our go to place to connect with other VIMs to see how they handle the problems commom to all free clinics. It's a great resource for us and we are proud to be a VIM clinic.
August 6, 2013

As a VIM clinic, we rely on the national office to be our resource for clinic related questions. The staff is always extremely helpful and very considerate. We would not function well without them!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 13, 2012

Volunteers in Medicine was right there with us from our beginning to even think about opening a free clinic. They gave us encouragement, support and suggestions every step of the way and have been a ... more

June 25, 2013

The People's City Mission Free Clinic opened it doors in July of 2009, in this short time we have grown to be one of the largest free clinics in the Nation, seeing 16,000 patient visits in 2012 and our growth continues. Volunteers in Medicine was a great help to us when we were in the planning stages of our clinic and they continue to be a valuable resource that we count on daily. I cant say enough about this organization, they were there for us every step of the way and when we hit road blocks they helped us see a way around. Anyone looking to open a free clinic needs to talk with these folks and learn from their experience and take advantage of the resources they have put together to help clinics operate.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I really cant think of anything I would change.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2012

Volunteers in Medicine was right there with us from our beginning to even think about opening a free clinic. They gave us encouragement, support and suggestions every step of the way and have been a valuable resource to us as our clinic grows. We are currently seeing about 15,000 patient visits per year and without Volunteers in Medicine and their many resources, we not be able to do it. Thank you and many Blessings to Volunteers in Medicine, you have definately made my job much easier. Steve Uetrecht, Practice Manager, The People's City Mission Free Medical Clinic, Lincoln, NE

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

August 26, 2012

more

August 26, 2012

As a pioneer in the field of teledermatology (remote diagnosis and treatment of skin disorders) I am pleased to offer my services to the healthcare professionals associated with VIM. The prototype that we established in the Wilkes Barre clinic will hopefully be replicated nationwide providing patients with direct access to dermatologists.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 22, 2012

more

August 22, 2012

I was blessed with being able to retire on the early side but was worried I would miss being active in my beloved profession. Frankly, the fight with 3rd party payors, administrative burdens, and mounting frustrations created what I now recognize as burnout. VIM (Volunteers in Medicine) in Hilton Head Island, SC, my chosen retirement destination fulfilled, all my criteria for a happy retirement and I now realized twelve years later, practicing there on a regular basis was one of my life's best decisions! Such volunteerism became an attractant and an enabler of an early retirement. Charles P. Duvall MD MACP

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

Volunteering as a clinical and triage RN with VIM-Jacksonville is categorized as the most rewarding role within my 34 years of nursing. The patients are appreciative and acknowledge the excellent level of free medical care they receive. The Medical Community in Jacksonville have shown remarkable insight as they make major contributions to this worthy non-profit. This demonstrates their knowledge of the effectiveness of the VIM mission, and the follow through of the daily operations. All volunteers are treated with respect and thankfulness for whatever talents they bring to the Clinic. This opportunity to volunteer at VIM-Jacksonville, is more rewarding to me, than I can possibly give in return.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 14, 2012

more

August 14, 2012

Our county in Washington State has no free medical clinic for the uninsured and under insured. Several providers had met to consider meeting the county needs, so we looked for experience from other free medical clinics. We were pleasantly surprised to find among the resources available was the national office of Volunteers in Medicine (VIM). This group was established in 1994 to provide assistance to start up free medical clinics, the success of which is indicated by the fact that now there are 84 VIM clinics across the US including two in Washington State. I visited one in Port Angeles, Washington that provides care to 1,400 individuals. The VIM national office has many resources with which to help at each stage of development and all free of charge except to pay for travel expenses for one of their advisers to make a site visit.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Telephone discussions, exchange of emails and reception of documents.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

As far as I know, they are the only organization of their kind supplying advice on starting free clinics to the entire United States.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers